Chevron Left
Classical Sociological Theory (으)로 돌아가기

암스테르담 대학교의 Classical Sociological Theory 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
1,308개의 평가
343개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) will offer the participants an introduction into the most important classical sociological readings between the 18th and 20th century. Highly influential social science scholars, such as Karl Marx, Max Weber and Emile Durkheim, will be discussed during 8 sessions. Combined with small tests, based on the video’s and recommended readings, the participants will be encouraged to dive deeply into the complex texts and get familiar with classical sociological concepts that are still very relevant today....

최상위 리뷰

SS

Jan 07, 2019

Simple,neat and interesting way of explaining the content. Didn't get bored. Good refreshment if you already know the stuff and good introduction if you are new to sociology. Professor is really nice.

DT

Oct 29, 2018

This is a course which helps you understand the origin of Sociology. The content of this course includes all the sociologists who played a great role, also the lectures are delivered in a superb way.

필터링 기준:

Classical Sociological Theory 의 334개 리뷰 중 301~325

교육 기관: Mohamed a

Mar 10, 2019

GOOD

교육 기관: Jessie v S

Jun 30, 2019

This was a very nice course! The professor is great: his approach and storytelling makes you excited about the material. However, the time indication of the reading is unrealistically short, which means you spend more time on the reading than expected. Secondly, the questions are re-used throughout the course which makes it less intellectually challenging. Nevertheless, there are just minor remarks. All in all, it is a very interesting course and I would recommend it to anyone who would like to achieve a sound but quick basis of the discipline of classical sociology.

교육 기관: Jennie v d B

May 09, 2018

Good overview of some classic sociological theorists and the professor is very engaging. But it's a very Western-focused course. The course does not includes a single person of color or female-identified sociologist, and all of the sociologists featured are white European men from the 18th to 20th centuries. There are many other sociologists in history from all over the world that could have been featured.

교육 기관: Matthew P

Oct 30, 2016

I really enjoyed this course. I am completely new to the social sciences and I learned a lot. The instructor is a great teacher who explains ideas carefully. His enthusiasm for the subject is infectious and inspiring. The optional answers for the quiz questions are sometimes very close. It was challenging to pass the quizzes. I look forward to the next instalment: Modern Sociological Theory.

교육 기관: Aasupal P

Apr 27, 2019

A fascinating course in which one could learn not only about sociology whereas this course took the matter of concerns from various and similar subjects such as psychology, political science as well. The deadline for the final test could have been extended that will further make it easier for the students who enroll in this course hereafter.

교육 기관: Rou B

Jan 12, 2020

The writings of the classical sociologists mostly were not accessible (i.e - you need to pay for them). Please, pay more attention to this fact in the overview or somewhere else, so the student might know what to do in this situation. Or, at least explain what is the alternative reading actually.

Other than that, a very nice course!

교육 기관: reneryu

May 02, 2016

The content of this course is very good to cover some greatest thinkers in human history. It is important to know them and their thoughts to understand the society and oneself. One thing could be improved is the exercises. They're repeative and fail to inspire me.

교육 기관: Varaprad p

Dec 11, 2017

Good brief course which covers the core of the thought of the thinkers contained therein. Its short length is a limitation but the instructor is very good at reducing it in essence as well as simplifying the more difficult parts without omitting anything. Cheers!

교육 기관: Marcus W

Oct 24, 2015

Great lectures with clear explanations and illustrations. Well chosen readings. Extremely interesting topics. Some of the quiz questions were ambiguous, particularly ones that asked students to pick the quotes that best represent a particular idea.

교육 기관: harley m

Sep 23, 2017

I really enjoyed the style and approach of the lecturer and the breadth of classical sociologists covered in this MOOC. Only criticism is that I would have liked a bit more on their theories and a little less of their lives / context.

교육 기관: Ayushi A

Oct 26, 2019

Crystal clear concepts, good animations. Although, I was hoping for the inclusion of more Thinkers to the course. But, the content and explanations were just outstanding.

교육 기관: Stephen d

Sep 07, 2016

An interesting introduction to sociology given by an enthusiastic and knowledgeable. Why, I even now have a Norbert Elias book on my Amazon wishlist :)

교육 기관: Felipe B

Feb 04, 2016

Very good intro. Being a Engineer with a couple courses of humanties, this was a solid base for further reading. Pay attention to the readings!

교육 기관: Michelle A A R

Nov 05, 2016

The professor discusses with ease every assignment that you'll completely understand from the most basic theory to the very complex ones.

교육 기관: Ben B

Sep 19, 2016

I'd highly recommend this as an introduction to Sociology. Particularly beneficial for those with no previous experience of the subject.

교육 기관: Pablo

Jul 26, 2016

It's a course very completed and it give you a good sight of the classical theories, entering you to the social thinking.

교육 기관: Atimukta M

Nov 25, 2018

The course provides insight of the sociologists that formed the basis of sociology and motivates us to know more.

교육 기관: Tamar M

Apr 20, 2017

i personaly feel its too general, on the surface. i would rther know more on fewer sociologist.

교육 기관: Luka P

Sep 13, 2015

Interesting insight in my favorite subject. A bit simple compared with my college classes

교육 기관: GÜLÇE A

Feb 09, 2020

It was very instructive. But lessons could have been longer and detailed.

교육 기관: Gloria M G R

Jan 23, 2017

The course was great, though the final exam was a little too much.

교육 기관: Joy S

Nov 21, 2018

Thourough grounding in the subject. Tough final test.

교육 기관: Kevin C

Aug 08, 2019

Very compelling, but could be a bit more rigorous.

교육 기관: Jose R N D

Sep 29, 2017

Great course! fully recommended for beginners.

교육 기관: Ana E V C

Jan 28, 2016

A great insight on the classical sociologists