Chevron Left
Classical Sociological Theory (으)로 돌아가기

암스테르담 대학교의 Classical Sociological Theory 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
1,309개의 평가
343개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) will offer the participants an introduction into the most important classical sociological readings between the 18th and 20th century. Highly influential social science scholars, such as Karl Marx, Max Weber and Emile Durkheim, will be discussed during 8 sessions. Combined with small tests, based on the video’s and recommended readings, the participants will be encouraged to dive deeply into the complex texts and get familiar with classical sociological concepts that are still very relevant today....

최상위 리뷰

SS

Jan 07, 2019

Simple,neat and interesting way of explaining the content. Didn't get bored. Good refreshment if you already know the stuff and good introduction if you are new to sociology. Professor is really nice.

DT

Oct 29, 2018

This is a course which helps you understand the origin of Sociology. The content of this course includes all the sociologists who played a great role, also the lectures are delivered in a superb way.

필터링 기준:

Classical Sociological Theory 의 334개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: kathryn

Oct 18, 2015

Great course. Not only is the topic interesting and the lectures informative and clear, but the lecturer is thoroughly engaged, obviously loves the subject and his enthusiasm is infectious. Really well put together by the team at University of Amsterdam. I found the readings interesting and the regular tests were challenging. I feel like this stretched my brain, in a good way. Can we follow on course about the modern greats of sociology? Please?!

교육 기관: Leonard D

Jun 12, 2019

Fascinating course that allows students interested in sociology to attain a strong foundation from which to continue their studies. It was wonderful to learn about the classic sociologists and their theories from a gentleman who is so clearly passionate about his field of study and eager to share his expansive knowledge of it with his successive generation(s). Highly recommended to anyone interested in the social sciences.

교육 기관: Paul P

Oct 06, 2015

This course is a very interesting introduction to the Classical Sociological Theory. The main authors and their works are presented in a thematic and progressive way. The pedagogic skills of the teacher, based on his involvement and his enthusiasm, are astonishing. I hope to find nearly the course on 'Modern Sociological Theory' as the sequel of this one. Thank you very much to the team to this great work and best for all!

교육 기관: Stephen D

Oct 31, 2015

Excellent overview on the major sociological thinkers from Adam Smith to Norbert Elias. A very good introduction to the subject. Beware though - the professor is an engaging teacher, but his quizzes are tough. You actually have to do some of the recommended readings to answer the questions - there are at least three questions in each quiz based on the writings of the sociologist who is the subject of the test.

교육 기관: Jason S

Jan 31, 2017

This is one of the most fascinating classes that I have ever taken. The material itself is mind-blowing- it covers some of the most influential thinkers of the past few centuries. The professor of this class is what really made it special- he is an excellent teacher, full of great stories and examples. He truly knows both how to keep one's attention and also to deepen one's fascination with sociology. Thank you!

교육 기관: Lidia A P

Apr 22, 2019

An eye-opening course, that inspired me to read these great works and maybe study sociology. Professor Bart van Heerikhuizen makes of this course a truly enjoyable and accessible to everyone (with a good English level) experience - I looked forward to following the "Classical Sociological Theory" course every time I opened my computer. Special thanks for sharing this FREE course with such enthusiasm !

교육 기관: Hussain H

Mar 26, 2019

I am very glad to share my experience with fellows. This course have enabled me to understand the base of sociology what we called the roots of sociology. It is easy to read and write about theories but to understand its philosophical perspective is like a soul to the body of knowledge. Thankyou course era for enabling me to understand the depth of sociological theory.

교육 기관: Yechen H

Feb 12, 2020

Great Course to learn Classical Sociological Theory, I took this course as an 'Introduction to Sociology'. The professor did a great job explain classical thinkers' thoughts and ideas. The readings are somewhat a little bit intense. But I feel I have learned a lot of new ideas that reflect on modern Chinese society. Thank you Professor Bart van Heerikhuizen!

교육 기관: Esteban T

Jul 09, 2016

Great course! I am just more curious about all the subjects studied by Sociology! I really look forward to start my undergraduate degree in Sociology in the city of Laredo, Texas! Greetings to everybody, I definitely recommend this course to anyone that has even the slightest interest in knowing about what Sociology is all about, this is the course you need!

교육 기관: Tanya B

Jan 13, 2019

I am nearly 70% through this course. I have developed a great interest in Sociology and also wanted to educate myself as to the ideas of Marx, Durkheim et al, just to broaden my general knowledge. I love the Professor who teaches this course - his passion for the subject is obvious and he makes it both clear and stimulating. Highly recommend.

교육 기관: Linda Y

Jan 05, 2019

The program really opened my eyes as my study and practice are within the organization development field. The large system perspectives are very good for me to understand some of the concepts and theories foundations applied in OD. I also admired and enjoyed the professor's way of delivery the speeches and the beautiful language he used.

교육 기관: Emanuela R

Feb 18, 2016

I appreciated this course because I found in it something more than mere information, which one can easily find in Wikipedia, for example. There is love for the subject, relativization, historical contextualization, stimulation of a critical thinking, and an holistic view. All things that are rare in sociology, at least according to me.

교육 기관: MUDU M N

Jan 06, 2020

Respected Sir/ Madam, Thank you so much. This course provided me great insights and knowledge which is invaluable. My journey during this course is marvellous and it helped a lot because it is same Sociology I took as an optional subject in my Civil Services Examinations. My humble appreciations to this prestigious platform-COURSERA.

교육 기관: Tahir S

Jun 19, 2017

I, with all my heart, thank the professor and the team of this MOOC. This was a much needed course and I am looking forward to follow up on the next course launched by the professor. All in all, this course revived my interest in sociology proper and renewed my determination to read the works of "the giants" first hand. Thank you!

교육 기관: Pedro R G

Oct 24, 2015

An excellent introductory course to classic sociological theory.

I'll be eagerly awaiting the modern sociological theory course.

It would be very useful a course about the different sociological perspectives (Functionalism, Structuralism, Critical Theory, Symbolic Interactionism, etc.), their difference at methodologies.

Thank you.

교육 기관: Sham N K

Dec 03, 2015

I denotes the course thoroughly. It was a pleasure to listen to the professor. He instilled a sense of joy in understanding the classical sociological theories. I feel happy that I was exposed to the ideas of some of the greatest thinkers of Western Europe. I look forward to the next course on modern sociological theories.

교육 기관: seham

Oct 09, 2018

I'm a freshman Sociology student and I never thought an online course could be beneficial, interesting and enjoyable at the same time like this course was! (I just started week 6). I already made a list of books (90% of them are about Sociology) to buy as the Book Fair in my city is close. Thank you so much.

교육 기관: Yashwanth D

Sep 03, 2019

This course has very little content. But the content is structured so well that it is worth to finish of such course than binge through a lot of sources on the internet. Prof.Bart van Heerikhuizen is one of the best professors I have come across. Even though it is an online class, I never felt so.

교육 기관: Rodrigo d S O

Oct 06, 2015

Professor Bart is a really good teacher. Take this course and you will see. I have studied sociology at University of São Paulo, the biggest and the "best" university of Latin America (according to international ranking), since 2009. However, during all this time I never found a Professor like him.

교육 기관: Ricardo J O

Aug 17, 2015

Great course. Fresh and competent view of classic sociology. Weekly content is well balanced and the readings are very insightful. This course offers valuable insights about the sociology foundations that are still important today for evaluating social interaction. Thumbs up for a quality MOOC!

교육 기관: Aditya N

Nov 24, 2018

Thank you Sir,I am a science graduate but as I am preparing for the Indian Civil Services exam I have opted for sociology as an optional subject and Marx,Weber and Durkheim are part of my syllabus. I want to thank you clearing my concepts. If I clear the exam I will not forget to thank you.

교육 기관: Kristo P

Sep 07, 2018

Un curso muy interesante para empezar en la tarea de introducirse en el estudio de la sociología. Bien explicado y con buen material bibliográfico.

This is a very interesting course to start in te work of enter in the study of sociology. Well explained and with good bibliographic material.

교육 기관: Karthigeyan

Aug 02, 2017

This course helped me give some perspective about the early societies. The course also made me realize how the early sociologists' work are still relevant. Thanks for offering this course. Professor was a pleasure to hear. His way of lecturing is what made this course such a fun to learn.

교육 기관: RAGHAV S

Dec 21, 2018

This is an amazing course. Absolutely brilliant. The professor teaches in a such an engaging way, beautifully explaining the classical theories, it's pure genius. Mr. Bart Van Heerikhuizen should really consider making more such courses. Thank you professor for such an amazing course.

교육 기관: Agnes H

Feb 02, 2018

It was great to listen to such a talented professor. Not only was it interesting but also, I really liked how he added anecdotes, he admitted that some of the topics can be sensitive for some of the students and this is what makes a real professor, not just pure knowledge.