Chevron Left
Classical Sociological Theory (으)로 돌아가기

암스테르담 대학교의 Classical Sociological Theory 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
별점
2,202개의 평가
625개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) will offer the participants an introduction into the most important classical sociological readings between the 18th and 20th century. Highly influential social science scholars, such as Karl Marx, Max Weber and Emile Durkheim, will be discussed during 8 sessions. Combined with small tests, based on the video’s and recommended readings, the participants will be encouraged to dive deeply into the complex texts and get familiar with classical sociological concepts that are still very relevant today....

최상위 리뷰

SS
2019년 1월 6일

Simple,neat and interesting way of explaining the content. Didn't get bored. Good refreshment if you already know the stuff and good introduction if you are new to sociology. Professor is really nice.

DT
2018년 10월 28일

This is a course which helps you understand the origin of Sociology. The content of this course includes all the sociologists who played a great role, also the lectures are delivered in a superb way.

필터링 기준:

Classical Sociological Theory 의 613개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Leonard D

2019년 6월 12일

Fascinating course that allows students interested in sociology to attain a strong foundation from which to continue their studies. It was wonderful to learn about the classic sociologists and their theories from a gentleman who is so clearly passionate about his field of study and eager to share his expansive knowledge of it with his successive generation(s). Highly recommended to anyone interested in the social sciences.

교육 기관: Paul P

2015년 10월 6일

This course is a very interesting introduction to the Classical Sociological Theory. The main authors and their works are presented in a thematic and progressive way. The pedagogic skills of the teacher, based on his involvement and his enthusiasm, are astonishing. I hope to find nearly the course on 'Modern Sociological Theory' as the sequel of this one. Thank you very much to the team to this great work and best for all!

교육 기관: Shehely A

2020년 9월 4일

It was very very interesting. As Bart van Heerikhuizen were saying he is missing the direct expression from the students or participants in his lecture, sometimes I also felt so during my study time in this course. I was deeply been attached with the different theory given by different sociologist. Sometimes I was wondered that some of the theories relate to our contemporary time, but they expalained it long long ago.

교육 기관: Stephen D

2015년 10월 31일

Excellent overview on the major sociological thinkers from Adam Smith to Norbert Elias. A very good introduction to the subject. Beware though - the professor is an engaging teacher, but his quizzes are tough. You actually have to do some of the recommended readings to answer the questions - there are at least three questions in each quiz based on the writings of the sociologist who is the subject of the test.

교육 기관: Jason S

2017년 1월 31일

This is one of the most fascinating classes that I have ever taken. The material itself is mind-blowing- it covers some of the most influential thinkers of the past few centuries. The professor of this class is what really made it special- he is an excellent teacher, full of great stories and examples. He truly knows both how to keep one's attention and also to deepen one's fascination with sociology. Thank you!

교육 기관: Lidia A P

2019년 4월 22일

An eye-opening course, that inspired me to read these great works and maybe study sociology. Professor Bart van Heerikhuizen makes of this course a truly enjoyable and accessible to everyone (with a good English level) experience - I looked forward to following the "Classical Sociological Theory" course every time I opened my computer. Special thanks for sharing this FREE course with such enthusiasm !

교육 기관: Hussain H

2019년 3월 25일

I am very glad to share my experience with fellows. This course have enabled me to understand the base of sociology what we called the roots of sociology. It is easy to read and write about theories but to understand its philosophical perspective is like a soul to the body of knowledge. Thankyou course era for enabling me to understand the depth of sociological theory.

교육 기관: Evelien B

2020년 5월 7일

I loved the very in depth video's. The teacher was very knowledgeable and put his own experiences with for example Norbert Elias in his talk. The subject matter came to live.

The time for reading the texts is grossly underestimated. 10 minutes is way to short for texts by Durkheim our Weber. My estimation is 1 hour at least for a thorough reading of the texts.

교육 기관: Yechen H

2020년 2월 12일

Great Course to learn Classical Sociological Theory, I took this course as an 'Introduction to Sociology'. The professor did a great job explain classical thinkers' thoughts and ideas. The readings are somewhat a little bit intense. But I feel I have learned a lot of new ideas that reflect on modern Chinese society. Thank you Professor Bart van Heerikhuizen!

교육 기관: Esteban T

2016년 7월 8일

Great course! I am just more curious about all the subjects studied by Sociology! I really look forward to start my undergraduate degree in Sociology in the city of Laredo, Texas! Greetings to everybody, I definitely recommend this course to anyone that has even the slightest interest in knowing about what Sociology is all about, this is the course you need!

교육 기관: Shikhar P

2020년 5월 7일

An amazing course, and recommended for everyone who is even slightly interested in this subject. I started reading the classical texts and i am able to understand them.

Thanks a lot professor, though i might not be able to thank you in person given my lower middle class background in India, i shall forever be indebted to you for making this great course.

교육 기관: J H B v d M

2021년 4월 27일

I did enjoy this course. Clear explanation to the several scientist. I lerned a lot about the classical sociological theory. I hoped to copntinue this course with the modern sociological scientist. I can find this on Coursera, neither on the page of the University of Amsterdam. Thanks to the lecturer for these instructive weeks. Joke van der Meer

교육 기관: Tanya B

2019년 1월 13일

I am nearly 70% through this course. I have developed a great interest in Sociology and also wanted to educate myself as to the ideas of Marx, Durkheim et al, just to broaden my general knowledge. I love the Professor who teaches this course - his passion for the subject is obvious and he makes it both clear and stimulating. Highly recommend.

교육 기관: R. S A

2020년 9월 22일

I HAD LEARNED A ONE PART OF MY AMBITION SKILL.TO BE A BUREAUCRAT IT S A ESSENTIAL COURSE.I SEARCHED MANY PLATFORMS FOR THIS COURSE BUT I DIDNT GET CHANCE TO LEARN THAT COURSE BUT THANKS TO COURSERA HAD GIVEN OPPORTUNITY TO LEARN THE COURSE UNDER THE VERY KNOWLDEGABLE PROFFESOR AND IN THE PRESTIGEOUS INSTITUTION THANK YOU ONCE AGAIN FOR COURSERA

교육 기관: Linda Y

2019년 1월 5일

The program really opened my eyes as my study and practice are within the organization development field. The large system perspectives are very good for me to understand some of the concepts and theories foundations applied in OD. I also admired and enjoyed the professor's way of delivery the speeches and the beautiful language he used.

교육 기관: Emanuela R

2016년 2월 18일

I appreciated this course because I found in it something more than mere information, which one can easily find in Wikipedia, for example. There is love for the subject, relativization, historical contextualization, stimulation of a critical thinking, and an holistic view. All things that are rare in sociology, at least according to me.

교육 기관: Ahmed B

2020년 4월 1일

The best presentation and explanation to the classical sociological theories by Professors Don Weenink and Bart van Heerikhuizen. I recommend this course to each one who needs to know what are the structures of a society and the function among its components. I am looking forward to study the second course about the Modern Sociology.

교육 기관: MUDU M N

2020년 4월 5일

Respected Sir/ Madam, Thank you so much. This course provided me great insights and knowledge which is invaluable. My journey during this course is marvellous and it helped a lot because it is same Sociology I took as an optional subject in my Civil Services Examinations. My humble appreciations to this prestigious platform-COURSERA.

교육 기관: Tahir S

2017년 6월 19일

I, with all my heart, thank the professor and the team of this MOOC. This was a much needed course and I am looking forward to follow up on the next course launched by the professor. All in all, this course revived my interest in sociology proper and renewed my determination to read the works of "the giants" first hand. Thank you!

교육 기관: Pedro R G

2015년 10월 24일

An excellent introductory course to classic sociological theory.

I'll be eagerly awaiting the modern sociological theory course.

It would be very useful a course about the different sociological perspectives (Functionalism, Structuralism, Critical Theory, Symbolic Interactionism, etc.), their difference at methodologies.

Thank you.

교육 기관: Maria N C

2020년 5월 18일

This course was excellent! I enjoyed and loved every chapter of this course. The professor is one of the best professors I've ever had in my life. Amazing explanations, sense of humour, energy and aliveness. He has so much passion about what he's teaching that you end up being fully drawn and wanting to know more of sociology.

교육 기관: Sham N K

2015년 12월 3일

I denotes the course thoroughly. It was a pleasure to listen to the professor. He instilled a sense of joy in understanding the classical sociological theories. I feel happy that I was exposed to the ideas of some of the greatest thinkers of Western Europe. I look forward to the next course on modern sociological theories.

교육 기관: Fred M R

2021년 2월 3일

Although I admit that keeping up with all the readings was challenging, I must say that this course is beautiful. I've learned so much and I can't help but thank instructor Bart van Heerikhuizen for his enlightening lessons and for opening my eyes. I loved this course and all that I was able to learn from it.

교육 기관: David B L

2020년 6월 6일

This course has been really insightful. It gave me a good grounding on Sociology, and how I can apply it in my work in crisis communications. The lectures were very well delivered, and the instructor seemed to really enjoy teaching the subject. I look forward to the next MOOC on Modern Sociological Theory :)

교육 기관: seham

2018년 10월 9일

I'm a freshman Sociology student and I never thought an online course could be beneficial, interesting and enjoyable at the same time like this course was! (I just started week 6). I already made a list of books (90% of them are about Sociology) to buy as the Book Fair in my city is close. Thank you so much.