Chevron Left
Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics(으)로 돌아가기

케이프타운대학교의 Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
1,343개의 평가
379개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

If you’ve ever skipped over`the results section of a medical paper because terms like “confidence interval” or “p-value” go over your head, then you’re in the right place. You may be a clinical practitioner reading research articles to keep up-to-date with developments in your field or a medical student wondering how to approach your own research. Greater confidence in understanding statistical analysis and the results can benefit both working professionals and those undertaking research themselves. If you are simply interested in properly understanding the published literature or if you are embarking on conducting your own research, this course is your first step. It offers an easy entry into interpreting common statistical concepts without getting into nitty-gritty mathematical formulae. To be able to interpret and understand these concepts is the best way to start your journey into the world of clinical literature. That’s where this course comes in - so let’s get started! The course is free to enroll and take. You will be offered the option of purchasing a certificate of completion which you become eligible for, if you successfully complete the course requirements. This can be an excellent way of staying motivated! Financial Aid is also available....

최상위 리뷰

AM

Dec 16, 2018

Klopper MD is a great teacher. There are other courses from another top universities about this topic, but I think this is my favourite. This the shortest in duration and most comprehensive among all.

LK

Jul 29, 2017

Great course!! it is gonna provide you a good foundation in clinical studies if you want to start your career in clinical research! Clear explanation and comprehensive case study! highly recommended!

필터링 기준:

Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics의 374개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: domenica s

May 27, 2018

I'm very new at this theme, this course has being the perfect beginning. If you don't have a mathematical background and you don't understand when the funny S appear, this is the course for you!

교육 기관: Abbaas A

Jul 27, 2019

A great introduction to understanding research and a great platform to springboard keen clinicians into performing their own research. Will take what I've learnt and apply it to my own research!

교육 기관: Juan B A

Mar 02, 2019

I managed to understand very important concepts of statistics used in the writing of articles, my understanding in the reading of scientific texts has improved a lot

교육 기관: Andres M

Dec 16, 2018

Klopper MD is a great teacher. There are other courses from another top universities about this topic, but I think this is my favourite. This the shortest in duration and most comprehensive among all.

교육 기관: Lee Y K

Jul 29, 2017

Great course!! it is gonna provide you a good foundation in clinical studies if you want to start your career in clinical research! Clear explanation and comprehensive case study! highly recommended!

교육 기관: Mohammed Z

Dec 26, 2018

Finally, I have an intuitive understanding of clinical research!

I completed 2 online courses in clinical research and statistics before this course but I did not get much benefits. But “Understanding Clinical Research” is the best. It is an excellent course for beginners who are interested in clinical research and medical statistics but do not know where to start from. Finally, I have the knowledge and trust to start my own research. This course introduced my to the different study types, types of data, the concept of many complicated statistical terms as P value, confidence interval and a lot of statistical methods and tests. On a scale from 1 to 5 when 5 is strongly agree, I would choose 5 to highly recommend this course for my friends. This scale is an ordinal categorical data type by the way :)

Thank you for this amazing course.

교육 기관: Beatriz

May 22, 2018

Very clear and direct to the point explanations on how to design a trial, hypothesis contrast and the use of different statistical tests depending on the variables (numerical parametric and non parametric and for categorical variables) and their interpretation. The course also included several "warnings" for the correct interpretation of the study results (for instance, the importance of publishing the raw data of the trials, to set the study hypothesis and statistics from the very beginning and before data collection and analysis, to interpret the PPV considering the prevalence in the sample before extrapolating the result to the population…)

교육 기관: Venkataragavan

Sep 28, 2019

I am a Masters student in Molecular Biology. Though this course uses examples from Clinical Research ( and probably best that it did!), I was able to get a what-does-a statistical-term-actually-mean understanding of the myriad tests that I find in the literature. That makes a whole lot of difference in how I view the Data Analysis section of a paper from now on! I have learnt to understand the pros and cons of each test and what exactly to look for.The course has achieved what it intended to achieve. Not to teach the maths of a stat test but to explore the understanding behind why a particular test was used as opposed to another test!

교육 기관: Rodrigo G M

Oct 14, 2019

Un excelente curso de inicio a la metodologia de la investigacion, donde necesitas pocas horas efectivas y la retencion es excelente una vez que inicias diariamente o por un periodo constante de tiempo, el esfuerzo es minimo y el entendimiento, reitero, es excelente, no va mas alla ni tiene la profundidad de un curso avanzado, sin embargo, estudiantes de medicina o recien iniciados en ciencias de la investigacion son bienvenidos en un curso de excelente talla, para los mas avanzados, les ayudara para quitar algunas dudas que hayan tenido desde la facultad. nunca es tarde para revisar este rapido, divertido, y util curso.

교육 기관: Philip G

Oct 16, 2016

I found this course to be excellent. The material is high-yield in every regard, giving the right balance of big-picture understanding coupled with enough detail to flesh out the experience and the understanding. The professor was very direct and clear in his explanations; I consider the course to be extremely well taught. There were a few areas where the explanation could have been slightly more illustrative or detailed, but nobody is perfect. Overall this is a very valuable course and a worthwhile use of time for any medical practitioner who has to interact in any way with the world of research.

교육 기관: Ahmed E

Nov 20, 2016

Great course, really grabs the core of research without bothering the student with statistical equations.

I highly recommend the course for all healthcare professions regardless whether they are interested or not in clinical research, because we are now at an era of publications, and everyone of us will be confronted by a piece of research that he will need to understand and at least be able to assess the quality of what in hand.

I would like also to thank the mentors especially Dr. Juan, for the great effort and the simplified course they had given, it was really motivating to continue to the end.

교육 기관: Massimiliano B

Jul 25, 2019

Perfect course four clinicians that want better understand the logic under a clinical study and the use of statistic in standard data analysis. I will suggest this course to all clinical researcher that need a basic but complete understanding of statistics applied to daily clinical problems.It will help you better understand papers (an allow you to read them more critically) and better chose between different approaches, designing a clinical trial or doing statistic for it. This course is explained in a simply way and the supports are very well prepared.

교육 기관: Aravindan V

Feb 15, 2016

Superb Course!! A beautifully structured introduction to the statistics needed to understand clinical research. Please be warned that this is not a course devised to learn statistics or how to conduct clinical research. It is exactly what the title suggests, an overview of statistics used in clinical research and how to understand them. Dr.Juan Klopper is a great teacher and his videos are succinct and filled with nuggets of key concepts. I would strongly suggest this course for a deeper understanding of clinical statistics.

교육 기관: Noha A G

Jan 01, 2019

This is one of the most interesting courses on biomedical statistics. The course was explained in a beautiful way, very simple and easy. Examples were related to the daily medical field and clinical research. Professor Juan H Klopper is an amazing mentor. I loved everything about this course. Really understanding what is behind statistics without going through the hassle of mathematics that every researcher obviously hates ! I highly recommend this course for everyone who is involved in clinical research.

교육 기관: Malaz A

Oct 31, 2019

a very beneficial course for medical researchers, it helped me get familiar with variable concepts of statistics without smothering me with mathematical jargon and mind fuzzing equations, it was simple easy to grasp and health profession-oriented. in this course, you'll have a better understanding of the statistical tools, figure out the right way to use them in analyzing data and getting reliable results. it also offers an explanation of how to interpret the results in a sophisticated way.

교육 기관: Seethamraju S M K

Aug 15, 2018

i found this course very intuitive in leveraging the basic understanding of statistics and why a particular statistic is applied in clinical. The course is unique providing practical exposure in understanding the topics like fetching article in pubmed, p-value, need of central limit theorem, hypothesis testing, ANOVA, sensitivity and specificity analysis used by the authors. I am pretty sure i applied this course practically to my student in class and results are encouraging.

교육 기관: Frans U D

Dec 18, 2018

This is one of the best Online Course I have ever joined fully until completion.I absolutely recommend this course to my friends and anyone else in the area of Public Health, Medicine even Veterinary Medicine.There is so much to learn for so little time but Dr Juan is absolutely amazing in his way of handling this course that made it look simple and he has truly made it so much easier to comprehend. So much better than learning from Statistical textbooks

교육 기관: Antimo M C

Dec 15, 2017

A thoughtful organization of theoretical knowledge in reasoned lessons that are masterfully performed by an excellent teacher who leads you through the study of Statistics from a very initial understanding of it until its practical implementation. And the icing on the cake... this knowledge is put into practice also making students compare each other while actually let them grow by increasing their awareness towards themselves and the topic.

교육 기관: Sohaib A

Feb 14, 2020

Dr. Juan Klopper provided concise information in an engaging manner that enabled me to finally understand clinical research. I appreciate his gentle teaching style, and the overall self-pacing system of this program. Keep on doing the good work, sir. This is one course that I would definitely recommend to my peers, so that they also may develop the same understanding of this crucial subject as Dr. Klopper enabled me to. Thank you.

교육 기관: Anna K

Nov 04, 2019

The course is very helpful to those who work in clinical trials but do not have a mathematical background. I am a former biology student, we had a course in biostatistics. Many subjects were similar, but we were never given examples from clinical trials. It was great to have this refresher course and deepen my knowledge in clinical statistics. I am very grateful to the creators of this course. Thank you!

교육 기관: Coby S

Apr 25, 2017

The course has addressed all the fundamentals and has given me direction and the information I required as a person that is not in the medical field, making it easy for further research. Some additional numerical examples in the keynotes would have added great value. The use of actual journal articles added a practical twist to the theory and applications of statistics. I am proud te be South Afriv

교육 기관: Sean K

Mar 01, 2019

I very much enjoyed Dr Kloppers course. He manages to teach a wide range of statistical theory within a clinical framework – which is where the value added was as far as I am concerned as I am not a clinician, but I do need to know my way around reports and assessments etc. Further, if the course leaves you wanting more (and it should) look at Dr Klopper’s YouTube page – the content is superb.

교육 기관: Mohammed B

Nov 05, 2018

This is a great course for workers in the medical field and health sciences, it assumes no prior knowledge in statistics and proceeds with step by step intuitive explanation of concepts with virtually no math. It has great optional practical videos on how to search for papers online and how to do statistical tests using spreadsheets software. It is quite through in scope, recommend it strongly.

교육 기관: Priscila d S N

Aug 06, 2019

The course highlights the most important concepts on statistics for students beginning in Health research, helping us interpret the data in published papers. We also learn to decide which tests to choose when analyzing our data. As a bonus, we end up curious about how to calculate the statistics - and I've heard when a class gives you more questions than answers, so it's reached its goals.

교육 기관: Owais A K

Apr 07, 2018

A wonderfully constructed, practically oriented course! The instruction is lucid, the flow of topics logical and the quizzes helpful for showcasing real-world application of the concepts taught. Would HIGHLY recommend it to all those interested in understanding the logic behind statistical analyses and tests. Thank you for a wonderful course experience Dr. Juan and the entire team!