Chevron Left
Coexistence in Medieval Spain: Jews, Christians, and Muslims(으)로 돌아가기

콜로라도 대학교의 Coexistence in Medieval Spain: Jews, Christians, and Muslims 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.5
별점
108개의 평가
41개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course explores Jewish, Christian, and Muslim intercultural relations in Iberia from the Visigothic era (6th century CE) until the creation of Queen Isabel I and King Ferdinand II Catholic Spain (late 15th century). We evaluate the many identities of the peninsula known as Christian Hispania, Jewish Sefarad, and Islamic al-Andalus. We trace the origins and trajectory of conflict between these communities (the Muslim conquest of Spain, Christian Reconquista, prohibitions blocking intermixing of peoples, and expulsions). We aim to understand conflicts within communities as well, such as the tensions between Christian Arian Visigoths and native Catholic Iberians or the fundamentalist North African Almohad Dynasty that rejected the Spanish Umayyad Caliphate’s preference for religious tolerance. We delve into an appreciation of collaboration and coexistence among these communities. We explore the unique role of the Jewish community who Muslims and Christians depended upon as political and cultural intermediaries as well as their intellectual collaborators. We find the history of how peoples attempted to create and manage viable diverse communities. As we study this history, the Honors Track will employ an investigative process (“The Historian’s Craft”) that involves viewing, reading, analyzing, and reflecting on events, peoples, places, and artifacts....

최상위 리뷰

TR

2020년 8월 5일

Awesome! I am going to revisit this class readings and keep learning. Amazing videos! Abundance of knowledge shared! Above and beyond of what I thought this class could be! Thank you so much!!!

GO

2021년 7월 12일

Excellent. If you are interested in History, and if you are Latin American it can give you a sense of identity an give you understanding of many aspects of our current day to day life.

필터링 기준:

Coexistence in Medieval Spain: Jews, Christians, and Muslims의 42개 리뷰 중 26~42

교육 기관: M. C

2020년 3월 30일

Very interesting, and informative. I thank the Professor for a wonderful class.

교육 기관: Kathy L

2021년 9월 26일

Fascinating. Clearly and logically presented. An exceptional course.

교육 기관: Najmussaman P

2020년 8월 25일

Broadly learned the history of Spain with some visual information.

교육 기관: Carlos R S

2021년 2월 9일

Excelente curso introductorio a la España medieval.

교육 기관: Jose M E R

2019년 8월 9일

I am so enjoying this. Fun and interesting.

교육 기관: Ramon L S R

2019년 11월 8일

Fantastic! Very Interesting

교육 기관: Alfonso C V

2018년 1월 21일

Great course!

교육 기관: mansi g

2018년 12월 21일

its easy

교육 기관: Ahmet

2020년 7월 15일

perfect

교육 기관: Catherine L

2022년 1월 21일

It was an excellent course and I learned a lot. I liked the quality of the readings. I was not convinced by the editing of the videos, unless they were interviews. The transcripts (in English) are okay, meaning that there are a lot of mistakes, that could have been easily corrected, but overall it was okay.

My real "turn off" is that the forum is dead. No input from other students or from the professor. It is really a shame.

But, as I said, the content is excellent, top quality.

교육 기관: jeffrey m

2021년 6월 8일

I​ learned a lot on a subject that I knew nothing about. The multiple teachers were interesting and kept my interest. The speed of the presentation of the translations (subtitles) was too quick though. I often had a difficult time keeping up with the lecture and had to repeat the video on numerous occasions. The information was extensive and the multiple learning options more than plentiful. I enjoyed the course.

교육 기관: Carolyn S

2020년 11월 16일

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and gained a wealth of knowledge on the coexistence of medieval Spain - Jewish, Muslim and Christian way of life, environment and religion. The difficulty I did encounter was trying to keep up with the sub-titles while watching the videos. I highly recommend this course to anyone who is interested in history.

교육 기관: Marianne H

2018년 5월 22일

Fascinating material beautifully presented. On an irrelevant point, the instructor's voice is lovely - it sounds more like a guided meditation than a lecture! :-)

교육 기관: Joy S

2018년 2월 28일

Has a lot of stuff to see and do: quite a few options.

교육 기관: Michael F

2020년 12월 1일

interesting topic, but not a lot of substance. I understand the angle taken of trying to have a non biased approach, but the quizzes were essentially passable by finding the answer that implied christians were always the villains of the story.

교육 기관: Zhuravleva J

2019년 8월 24일

Too much information not connected to the theme of the course.

교육 기관: Elaine H

2022년 2월 18일

​information was there but class was poorly organized, the readings went on random tangents, overall really disapointing