Chevron Left
Communication in the 21st Century Workplace(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 대학교 어바인 캠퍼스의 Communication in the 21st Century Workplace 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.3
별점
1,806개의 평가
357개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

In today's fast-paced business environment, employees at all levels find themselves being asked to handle more tasks, meet more deadlines, take on more responsibilities, and adapt to more change. Added to these challenges is the constantly shifting diversity of the workplace, where coworkers cope with generational, gender, age and cultural differences. Communication, both verbal and nonverbal, is at the foundation of everything we do and say, and is especially important in the 21st century workplace. The good news is that communication is a learned skill, and can be improved upon with the right training. The focus of this course is to heighten students’ awareness of workplace communication, and add new interpersonal skills, with the end result of becoming a more competent communicator overall. Target areas include: the process and functions of communication, behavioral patterns, perceptions as reality, verbal and nonverbal cues and behaviors, confidence, assertiveness, tact, anger management, criticism and constructive feedback, conflict resolution, team building, leadership, interviewing, and communicating more effectively with technology (email, Skype, texting, etc.). Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Define communication and its role in the workplace 2. Describe benefits of effective communication in the workplace 3. Identify and explain most common audiences and techniques for communicating with each audience 4. Identify and solve common obstacles to effective communication 5. Summarize the 5 Step Technique and explain its usefulness in communicating with your manager 6. Discuss the best approaches and communication techniques for delivering bad news to your manager 7. Describe ways to make positive connections with your staff. 8. Discuss techniques for deciphering the communication styles of executive managers 9. Discuss techniques for identifying the characteristics and drivers of executive managers 10. Discuss techniques for persuading executive management 11. Identify best practices for working successfully with virtual/remote teams 12. Apply proven techniques for effective conference calls and webinars...

최상위 리뷰

UK

Apr 27, 2020

The content of the course was good. Lectures were effective which iincluded joint discussions. . I especially liked the last statement after every lecture "where ever you maybe have a great time"

NA

Apr 12, 2016

This course is really helpful. I would recommend it to my friend to learn how they can improve their communication skills at workplace and can be a good employee and a great manager.

필터링 기준:

Communication in the 21st Century Workplace의 356개 리뷰 중 201~225

교육 기관: Pont P C

May 23, 2020

-

교육 기관: Moein k

Apr 10, 2020

i

교육 기관: Adnan A A

Dec 02, 2018

^

교육 기관: Sonia S

Aug 13, 2018

v

교육 기관: Shreya K

Jul 25, 2019

The course is very useful to get the complex question of "How do I talk to ---- in my work place in different situations?" answered. The instructors are great!

All in all this is a very useful course and I would definitely recommend that anyone who is relatively new to working (less than 3 years experience) should take it to learn the right way to communicate.

I took a star off only because a lot of the readings for the first and second week were not accessible because the website asked for payment. And some of the quiz questions could have been structured better.

교육 기관: Dalton S

Mar 29, 2019

Very nice skills to have and I am happy to have gone through it as, what may seem like an obvious subject, few people understand and actually use the skills. This could definitely get you more of an edge if you are looking to advance in your career. Rated 4 of 5 stars due to the fact that it is more of a surface level course then something to really dive into in itself. Otherwise, really great.

교육 기관: K R K

Jun 19, 2020

Although the course is very well paced and covered most of the aspects of communication, but I feel some important aspects of communication are missing. Yet the style of Prof.Patricia Bravo is very attractive and engaging.

교육 기관: Monica A

Nov 18, 2019

The course is very beneficial to help improving the career especially facing the virtual communication era which is more and more utilized. This course provide a lot tips and trick for many types of communication.

교육 기관: Bassam D

Dec 07, 2015

Good tools, approaches, and guidance on communication with different people within an organization. The only drawback of this course is that it relies a lot on additional readings rather than lectures slides.

교육 기관: Danny G

Oct 14, 2015

I think this course did a nice job of breaking things down into manageable pieces. The required readings were very helpful, but there was one link that was unclear what I was supposed to read on the link

교육 기관: Gulzar A S

May 29, 2020

Good one to let you lead & adopt a practical approach to engage in virtual communication, avoiding common communication errors & lead strategically by building relationship with teams.

교육 기관: Sameeran J

Dec 21, 2015

More interviews were few real-life scenarios are discussed will be useful. Patricia is one of the most expressive tutors on Coursera and her energy & enthusiasm is infectious.

교육 기관: Katelyn T

May 03, 2016

I enjoyed this course. I used it for personal development. It gave great tools and information to think about as a middle manager and how to properly communicate with

교육 기관: Deleted A

Mar 06, 2019

The study material is great and the extra reading material very useful, in general a great course. In my opinion some of the answers in the quiz tests are debatable.

교육 기관: Octavian C

Oct 10, 2015

Good course. It will help both managers as well as direct reports to find a common interface for better communication, and more efficient business relationships.

교육 기관: Govind S

Feb 07, 2016

Useful course for middle and senior managers. Helps with different perspectives and practical tips to be more effective at this. Highly recommended. Thanks!

교육 기관: Nikii M

Feb 28, 2019

Great course with relevant concepts. Would have given 5 stars, but there were some sites i could not access without paying extra for a subscription.

교육 기관: Armando V

Mar 18, 2017

Quizzes are extremely subjective and hard to pass. Couldn't find direct relation between content and questions. Cultural barriers might be to blame.

교육 기관: Mariangela C C

Sep 10, 2018

The overall information was great, however Melani, one of the instructors videos was not engaging, it seemed so staged and read all the way.

교육 기관: Nehal A A H

Oct 20, 2017

I find that course very beneficial, especially in highlighting the shortcomings I had with communication and showing how to deal with them.

교육 기관: Mike D

Oct 25, 2016

Overall a good class but the required reading links could use some help as they didn't always seem to cover the videos of that section.

교육 기관: Thiago F

Jul 27, 2020

nice resources available, lectures are good too, tho tests are really specific and ambiguous, not measuring course understanding well

교육 기관: Patty W

Aug 19, 2015

Sound information. Would have liked more verbal communication regarding communication styles. Maybe some role playing scenarios.

교육 기관: Jinghao C

Sep 08, 2015

Great lectures, the only problem is I could not find the entrance of forum. I want to discuss some topics with other learners.

교육 기관: Christine L

Aug 26, 2015

A lot of reading, but the course is pretty thorough. The quizzes are mostly just regurgitating information from the readings.