Chevron Left
Communication in the 21st Century Workplace(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 대학교 어바인 캠퍼스의 Communication in the 21st Century Workplace 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.2
별점
1,475개의 평가
304개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

In today's fast-paced business environment, employees at all levels find themselves being asked to handle more tasks, meet more deadlines, take on more responsibilities, and adapt to more change. Added to these challenges is the constantly shifting diversity of the workplace, where coworkers cope with generational, gender, age and cultural differences. Communication, both verbal and nonverbal, is at the foundation of everything we do and say, and is especially important in the 21st century workplace. The good news is that communication is a learned skill, and can be improved upon with the right training. The focus of this course is to heighten students’ awareness of workplace communication, and add new interpersonal skills, with the end result of becoming a more competent communicator overall. Target areas include: the process and functions of communication, behavioral patterns, perceptions as reality, verbal and nonverbal cues and behaviors, confidence, assertiveness, tact, anger management, criticism and constructive feedback, conflict resolution, team building, leadership, interviewing, and communicating more effectively with technology (email, Skype, texting, etc.). Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Define communication and its role in the workplace 2. Describe benefits of effective communication in the workplace 3. Identify and explain most common audiences and techniques for communicating with each audience 4. Identify and solve common obstacles to effective communication 5. Summarize the 5 Step Technique and explain its usefulness in communicating with your manager 6. Discuss the best approaches and communication techniques for delivering bad news to your manager 7. Describe ways to make positive connections with your staff. 8. Discuss techniques for deciphering the communication styles of executive managers 9. Discuss techniques for identifying the characteristics and drivers of executive managers 10. Discuss techniques for persuading executive management 11. Identify best practices for working successfully with virtual/remote teams 12. Apply proven techniques for effective conference calls and webinars...

최상위 리뷰

UK

Apr 27, 2020

The content of the course was good. Lectures were effective which iincluded joint discussions. . I especially liked the last statement after every lecture "where ever you maybe have a great time"

NA

Apr 12, 2016

This course is really helpful. I would recommend it to my friend to learn how they can improve their communication skills at workplace and can be a good employee and a great manager.

필터링 기준:

Communication in the 21st Century Workplace의 302개 리뷰 중 226~250

교육 기관: Gilles R B

Aug 18, 2015

Interesting course

교육 기관: Indranil M

Nov 30, 2018

Very imformative.

교육 기관: Cedric E N

Dec 17, 2019

very infomative

교육 기관: AMAL D

Oct 26, 2015

It was GOOD !!!

교육 기관: SHIVENDRA S

Apr 26, 2020

It really help

교육 기관: Anil K M

May 09, 2020

Thank you!!!

교육 기관: Dr.C.M.SHEELA R

Jun 24, 2020

good course

교육 기관: Dr P R

Jun 24, 2020

good course

교육 기관: Tanzima K

Mar 29, 2018

very good.

교육 기관: Mahmudul H

Jun 26, 2018

thanks

교육 기관: RV

Apr 18, 2020

good

교육 기관: Dr.Alaa Z

Jan 31, 2016

good

교육 기관: Fuad H

Aug 12, 2017

test questions is somehow not realistic and are not logical. there are multiple answers which may be true, but the test maker decided that only one answer is correct, why? because that is his/her own persuation. for example in my organization my manager can contact me by using social media, and that is normal. in the test questions, that was not correct answer. why? who decided that? and beside of that, other test questions were so illogical and many of answers could be the right answer. but it was not. I have tried days of repass this test, nevertheless I usually pass other tests from the first attempt. test must have ONE realistic and logical correct answer, and other options / answers must be non-realistic. but in your tests 90% of answers are realistic, they can be correct. thanks

교육 기관: Yazan E C

Oct 26, 2015

The teacher of this course talks toooo fast ! I`m for example a french educated student, so I prefer to take courses with a teacher who talks in a comprehensive way in which I can understand everything he says in order to proceed in my work and then to benefit everything in this course.

Concerning the quiz, in the all of the quiz there is questions not related to what already said from the teacher or in the articles required to read. I red the articles coupes of time but in a specific questions, the answers, it seems, that we should answer from our own memory because badly it`s not mentioned in any article or in the video of the teacher.

Thanks

교육 기관: Robin V

Nov 14, 2015

A good introduction to Workplace Communication.

The resources supplied were extremely helpful.

I didn't pay so much attention to the slides that came with this - in fact, I'm not even sure how relevant they are looking back.

I had expected the overview videos to be an insight to the resource content, but it wasn't quite compiled that way.

The tests could have been longer, and perhaps could have contained obvious solutions - in some instances the solutions provided were all applicable, leaving the student to select the best option. In other instances the options available weren't even discussed in the content, confusing the student.

교육 기관: Rasheeq A

May 27, 2020

Has Good Information but that comes across haphazardly and need elaboration. Multiple Teachers can create confusions. Except for one, all lecture slides in this course has little to no information.

The next bit is my personal opinion. Patricia Bravo comes across unnatural for her fake-ish smile. Margaret Meloni was generally good, but she needs to look directly at the camera when giving lecture (not up or down). The Interviewees look uncomfortable and anxious while giving memorised answers.

I took this as part of "Career Success Specialization". Other courses were very good and informative. I hope they would improve this course

교육 기관: Hasan K U

Feb 06, 2019

Actually this course is a "key to success" for most of the new generation work environments however the presentation of the course seemed a bit too shallow when you compare the amount of "required readings" they suggest before weekly quiz. I had very hard time passing any quiz just by listening and taking notes during course videos. Nearly every question asked in the quiz is from extra readings and I believe these readings somehow should be infused into the course videos. There's a reason we're taking online courses and if it's all about reading them in the internet then there's no need for video courses.

교육 기관: Heidi C

Jun 12, 2020

Simple course structure, easy to follow. I like the main instructor. She has a personal and friendly style. I like that the course includes advice from experts from different organizations. Interesting analysis on DiSC too.

I was just very frustrated about multiple broken links, blocked content and some outdated materials. These resources need to be improved. Going through the resources and fixing links do not take that long. Presenting outdated content doesn't look professional either.

교육 기관: Hayley K

Jun 06, 2020

Course was a little less indepth than usual for Irvine... and short... and one of the speakers lacked verbal communication skills; she was awkward and it distracted me. None the less, some great information that really helped me grasp a better understanding of how to grab the attention, and to communicate with, busy managers and directors. Also to manage conflicts better. Thanks, Coursera and UCI 👏 I went ahead and got the book recommendation Listen Up!

교육 기관: Mateusz L

Sep 30, 2018

Tests are not clear when it comes to answers. The answers are based strictly on the reading material and examples provided therein. Not on actual knowledge gained. Many questions were closer to "what example did the text provide" referring to a specific sentence in the text. In addition some of the links to required reading are no longer working or the article is behind a login window. Moreover some lecures seemed more like book advertisments.

교육 기관: Alexander W R

Jun 26, 2020

I feel this class would have been more effective if ALL the necessary information was given in the modules, with the required readings offering support, rather than the other way around.

Many of the readings required a subscription, so I didn't have access to them. One of the links to an article led to an error message.

I think this class is appropriate for people with little to no experience with video conferencing platforms.

교육 기관: Margaret F

Sep 12, 2016

While the course materials themselves were very useful, the quizzes didn't feel like an effective test of the material and consisted of very few questions, which didn't leave room for error (especially problematic because some questions were subjective).

교육 기관: Rafael S D

Aug 18, 2016

Kinda disappointed that in a course about Communication, Margaret can be such a "so-so" communicator herself. Except that, the course is good and offers some cool tips on how to deal with that new ways of communication that we must deal of.

교육 기관: Jennifer H

Jun 21, 2020

Some of the Content were good. But I was expecting to learn more about how I can improve my communication style instead of being bombarded with examples. Also, most videos were hard to hear. Volume and Clarity is an issue.

교육 기관: Kuan S

Jun 21, 2019

Contents are not very organized and not in-depth. For example, many readings in "communicate with manager" section are general communication tips. Also, some outside readings requires membership of the websites.