Chevron Left
Communication in the 21st Century Workplace(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 대학교 어바인 캠퍼스의 Communication in the 21st Century Workplace 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.2
별점
1,497개의 평가
309개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

In today's fast-paced business environment, employees at all levels find themselves being asked to handle more tasks, meet more deadlines, take on more responsibilities, and adapt to more change. Added to these challenges is the constantly shifting diversity of the workplace, where coworkers cope with generational, gender, age and cultural differences. Communication, both verbal and nonverbal, is at the foundation of everything we do and say, and is especially important in the 21st century workplace. The good news is that communication is a learned skill, and can be improved upon with the right training. The focus of this course is to heighten students’ awareness of workplace communication, and add new interpersonal skills, with the end result of becoming a more competent communicator overall. Target areas include: the process and functions of communication, behavioral patterns, perceptions as reality, verbal and nonverbal cues and behaviors, confidence, assertiveness, tact, anger management, criticism and constructive feedback, conflict resolution, team building, leadership, interviewing, and communicating more effectively with technology (email, Skype, texting, etc.). Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Define communication and its role in the workplace 2. Describe benefits of effective communication in the workplace 3. Identify and explain most common audiences and techniques for communicating with each audience 4. Identify and solve common obstacles to effective communication 5. Summarize the 5 Step Technique and explain its usefulness in communicating with your manager 6. Discuss the best approaches and communication techniques for delivering bad news to your manager 7. Describe ways to make positive connections with your staff. 8. Discuss techniques for deciphering the communication styles of executive managers 9. Discuss techniques for identifying the characteristics and drivers of executive managers 10. Discuss techniques for persuading executive management 11. Identify best practices for working successfully with virtual/remote teams 12. Apply proven techniques for effective conference calls and webinars...

최상위 리뷰

UK

Apr 27, 2020

The content of the course was good. Lectures were effective which iincluded joint discussions. . I especially liked the last statement after every lecture "where ever you maybe have a great time"

NA

Apr 12, 2016

This course is really helpful. I would recommend it to my friend to learn how they can improve their communication skills at workplace and can be a good employee and a great manager.

필터링 기준:

Communication in the 21st Century Workplace의 310개 리뷰 중 251~275

교육 기관: Heidi C

Jun 12, 2020

Simple course structure, easy to follow. I like the main instructor. She has a personal and friendly style. I like that the course includes advice from experts from different organizations. Interesting analysis on DiSC too.

I was just very frustrated about multiple broken links, blocked content and some outdated materials. These resources need to be improved. Going through the resources and fixing links do not take that long. Presenting outdated content doesn't look professional either.

교육 기관: Hayley K

Jun 06, 2020

Course was a little less indepth than usual for Irvine... and short... and one of the speakers lacked verbal communication skills; she was awkward and it distracted me. None the less, some great information that really helped me grasp a better understanding of how to grab the attention, and to communicate with, busy managers and directors. Also to manage conflicts better. Thanks, Coursera and UCI 👏 I went ahead and got the book recommendation Listen Up!

교육 기관: Mateusz L

Sep 30, 2018

Tests are not clear when it comes to answers. The answers are based strictly on the reading material and examples provided therein. Not on actual knowledge gained. Many questions were closer to "what example did the text provide" referring to a specific sentence in the text. In addition some of the links to required reading are no longer working or the article is behind a login window. Moreover some lecures seemed more like book advertisments.

교육 기관: Alexander W R

Jun 26, 2020

I feel this class would have been more effective if ALL the necessary information was given in the modules, with the required readings offering support, rather than the other way around.

Many of the readings required a subscription, so I didn't have access to them. One of the links to an article led to an error message.

I think this class is appropriate for people with little to no experience with video conferencing platforms.

교육 기관: Margaret F

Sep 12, 2016

While the course materials themselves were very useful, the quizzes didn't feel like an effective test of the material and consisted of very few questions, which didn't leave room for error (especially problematic because some questions were subjective).

교육 기관: Rafael S D

Aug 18, 2016

Kinda disappointed that in a course about Communication, Margaret can be such a "so-so" communicator herself. Except that, the course is good and offers some cool tips on how to deal with that new ways of communication that we must deal of.

교육 기관: Jennifer H

Jun 21, 2020

Some of the Content were good. But I was expecting to learn more about how I can improve my communication style instead of being bombarded with examples. Also, most videos were hard to hear. Volume and Clarity is an issue.

교육 기관: Kuan S

Jun 21, 2019

Contents are not very organized and not in-depth. For example, many readings in "communicate with manager" section are general communication tips. Also, some outside readings requires membership of the websites.

교육 기관: Stan H

Jul 20, 2017

This course is a basic intro to communicating in the workplace. While the class contains some good advice to help old-school organizations move into the world of virtual offices, it doesn't offer much that

교육 기관: James B

May 07, 2016

The extra/outside content provided is great. As others have stated, but clearly not adjusted, some of the quiz questions aren't clear items covered in the material (which is frustrating).

교육 기관: Sharyn L K

Oct 08, 2015

Less required reading and more targeted lectures would make it great. It often seemed that the questions in the quiz weren't properly covered in the material provided.

교육 기관: Nguyen M C

Jan 14, 2016

I think that , this course need to add more keys critical important point in each lesson by keywords on Videos. And examples how to use these skill on nature life

교육 기관: Mohamad K

Jan 04, 2018

Interesting course, rich of information ans examples. I suggest that the required reading material be transformed into videos.

교육 기관: Mahdi F R

May 09, 2020

It is too general, and other instructors and recommended articles help this course to be more usable

교육 기관: Rene P R

Sep 06, 2016

I like the course content but the presenter needs to have a more friendly way to present it.

교육 기관: Nguyen D S

May 29, 2019

Study materials are not really useful because of links to many other sites and courses

교육 기관: William P

Sep 07, 2015

It's a bit hard to answer the quiz since the presentation is not speaking about the qu

교육 기관: Stephen R

Dec 16, 2016

It wasn't challenging but more irrelevant to what I'd guess is a lot of "workplaces"

교육 기관: Mohamed f r

Sep 18, 2015

the course is not that strong when it comes to communicating with direct reports .

교육 기관: Lin D

Dec 29, 2015

speak speed is little bit too quick, difficult for non-english speaking student

교육 기관: Stefan V

Sep 17, 2015

Ok course. Well tught, but overall I prefer more business related classes.

교육 기관: aman g

Nov 01, 2015

Has good collection of resources for improvement of communication skills

교육 기관: Angela

Aug 22, 2015

Gives just enough info. Great, but I wish it was more detailed.

교육 기관: Md S H

May 28, 2020

This course is a must do for corporate lifestyles.

교육 기관: Kristen H

Sep 07, 2015

materials/lectures are brief and could go deeper.