Chevron Left
Communication in the 21st Century Workplace(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 대학교 어바인 캠퍼스의 Communication in the 21st Century Workplace 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.2
1,114개의 평가
213개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

In today's fast-paced business environment, employees at all levels find themselves being asked to handle more tasks, meet more deadlines, take on more responsibilities, and adapt to more change. Added to these challenges is the constantly shifting diversity of the workplace, where coworkers cope with generational, gender, age and cultural differences. Communication, both verbal and nonverbal, is at the foundation of everything we do and say, and is especially important in the 21st century workplace. The good news is that communication is a learned skill, and can be improved upon with the right training. The focus of this course is to heighten students’ awareness of workplace communication, and add new interpersonal skills, with the end result of becoming a more competent communicator overall. Target areas include: the process and functions of communication, behavioral patterns, perceptions as reality, verbal and nonverbal cues and behaviors, confidence, assertiveness, tact, anger management, criticism and constructive feedback, conflict resolution, team building, leadership, interviewing, and communicating more effectively with technology (email, Skype, texting, etc.). Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Define communication and its role in the workplace 2. Describe benefits of effective communication in the workplace 3. Identify and explain most common audiences and techniques for communicating with each audience 4. Identify and solve common obstacles to effective communication 5. Summarize the 5 Step Technique and explain its usefulness in communicating with your manager 6. Discuss the best approaches and communication techniques for delivering bad news to your manager 7. Describe ways to make positive connections with your staff. 8. Discuss techniques for deciphering the communication styles of executive managers 9. Discuss techniques for identifying the characteristics and drivers of executive managers 10. Discuss techniques for persuading executive management 11. Identify best practices for working successfully with virtual/remote teams 12. Apply proven techniques for effective conference calls and webinars...

최상위 리뷰

NA

Apr 12, 2016

This course is really helpful. I would recommend it to my friend to learn how they can improve their communication skills at workplace and can be a good employee and a great manager.

MM

Feb 01, 2016

The content of the course was good. Lectures were effective. I specially liked the last statement after every lecture "where ever you may be have a great time"

필터링 기준:

Communication in the 21st Century Workplace의 214개 리뷰 중 176~200

교육 기관: Mohamed f r

Sep 18, 2015

the course is not that strong when it comes to communicating with direct reports .

교육 기관: Lin D

Dec 29, 2015

speak speed is little bit too quick, difficult for non-english speaking student

교육 기관: Stefan V

Sep 17, 2015

Ok course. Well tught, but overall I prefer more business related classes.

교육 기관: aman g

Nov 01, 2015

Has good collection of resources for improvement of communication skills

교육 기관: Angela

Aug 22, 2015

Gives just enough info. Great, but I wish it was more detailed.

교육 기관: Kristen H

Sep 07, 2015

materials/lectures are brief and could go deeper.

교육 기관: Hong J

Jan 17, 2016

It is basic course with simple information

교육 기관: Mustafa

Feb 27, 2017

I need access to the quizzes

교육 기관: Yawovi A

Sep 14, 2016

Quite nice course

교육 기관: Finn O

Jul 02, 2019

While the information in the course was extremely helpful, and the examples were solid and very memorable, the quizzes were absolutely atrocious. Many times I selected answers that I had been informed by the course instructor during the course, as a correect answer, and got told it was incorrect, because a "more correct" option was present (despite each option being equally correct!). Rather than being representative of how I understood the coursework, and giving me opportunity to use and challenge that understanding, the quizzes depended too much on knowing what precisely the instructor was thinking -- which reduced passing down to interative guesswork.

The content was worth it, and I have reams of notes. I just can't recommmend this course, because of the quizzes.

교육 기관: Alexander F

Aug 23, 2019

Not as good as the other Coursera courses I've taken. Very uneven presentation (two different instructors, plus guest speakers, with no explanation of why), required reading assignments that linked to articles behind subscription paywalls, and very poorly-worded quizzes made for a frustrating learning experience.

교육 기관: Christian

Jan 11, 2016

I think the teacher was very welcoming, but the content was less than enough to answer the quizzes. In the quizzes, every answer choice was correct and there wasn't any possible way to discern. What the teacher said and complemented with the lectures didn't match with the question answers. So, my score is "2".

교육 기관: Shalynn E

Jun 04, 2019

The course is very basic. It covers topics like maintaining eye contact and aligning verbal and non-verbal communication. The portion about how to communicate with your manager was somewhat helpful. The readings are incredibly outdated and most are no longer relevant. The quizzes focus on memor

교육 기관: Audric C

Oct 16, 2015

I expected much more information in videos. Instead of that, videos are very short and provide only few information and don't allow us to pass the exams at the end of each module. There are some link to websites where you can learn much more and which are not even written by the professor.

교육 기관: Víctor H V V

Feb 24, 2016

The idea of having support with the videos does not work with this course. Also, the exams do not match at all with the information provided. The anwers to the exams are so relative or subjective, and that's a problem for those who does not domain English very well, just like me.

교육 기관: Isabel O

Jan 18, 2018

While the course content was easy to understand and to follow, the quizzes were somehow odd.

I had the feeling they were more designed to make you fail (especially as a non native speaker) than to test if you worked through the course content.

교육 기관: Alojzy G

Feb 03, 2016

A lot of reading material is unavailable (link does not work or it is behind paywall).

I also found the videos lacking. For example, there were 5 important tips and only one was given, before jumping at next topic.

교육 기관: Evane G

Dec 21, 2015

There wasn't a lot of information inside the video and the test's questions hade multiple possible answer.

However, the links to ressources such as HarvardReview or Inc.com were pretty good and usefull.

교육 기관: Sana A

Sep 28, 2015

a nice "entry level" course lacking a forum discussion... was not even able to report some issue with videos and no explanation provided with quizzes results :/

교육 기관: David T B R

Feb 13, 2019

Explanations were too wordy, lecture slides didn't not contain much of the information discussed and the presentation had very little visual reinforcement.

교육 기관: Patrick

Mar 04, 2020

lots of required reading on other websites that want you to create an account and log in. for me it seems to takes away from this sites credibility

교육 기관: Dee S

Aug 26, 2015

The value of this course is the collection of reading materials that can be found in the same place. The lectures don't add much to the course.

교육 기관: Sam E

Aug 30, 2015

The material was well delivered but I found it distracting to go between the video lecture and the additional material.

교육 기관: Vida F

Oct 24, 2016

Cheesy. If you mess up in your delivery, press the little button and start over! Needs some judicious editing.

교육 기관: Haoming H

Jan 12, 2016

Brief, high-level ideas. Could use more specific examples.