Chevron Left
Communication in the 21st Century Workplace(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 대학교 어바인 캠퍼스의 Communication in the 21st Century Workplace 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.2
별점
1,332개의 평가
260개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

In today's fast-paced business environment, employees at all levels find themselves being asked to handle more tasks, meet more deadlines, take on more responsibilities, and adapt to more change. Added to these challenges is the constantly shifting diversity of the workplace, where coworkers cope with generational, gender, age and cultural differences. Communication, both verbal and nonverbal, is at the foundation of everything we do and say, and is especially important in the 21st century workplace. The good news is that communication is a learned skill, and can be improved upon with the right training. The focus of this course is to heighten students’ awareness of workplace communication, and add new interpersonal skills, with the end result of becoming a more competent communicator overall. Target areas include: the process and functions of communication, behavioral patterns, perceptions as reality, verbal and nonverbal cues and behaviors, confidence, assertiveness, tact, anger management, criticism and constructive feedback, conflict resolution, team building, leadership, interviewing, and communicating more effectively with technology (email, Skype, texting, etc.). Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Define communication and its role in the workplace 2. Describe benefits of effective communication in the workplace 3. Identify and explain most common audiences and techniques for communicating with each audience 4. Identify and solve common obstacles to effective communication 5. Summarize the 5 Step Technique and explain its usefulness in communicating with your manager 6. Discuss the best approaches and communication techniques for delivering bad news to your manager 7. Describe ways to make positive connections with your staff. 8. Discuss techniques for deciphering the communication styles of executive managers 9. Discuss techniques for identifying the characteristics and drivers of executive managers 10. Discuss techniques for persuading executive management 11. Identify best practices for working successfully with virtual/remote teams 12. Apply proven techniques for effective conference calls and webinars...

최상위 리뷰

UK

Apr 27, 2020

The content of the course was good. Lectures were effective which iincluded joint discussions. . I especially liked the last statement after every lecture "where ever you maybe have a great time"

NA

Apr 12, 2016

This course is really helpful. I would recommend it to my friend to learn how they can improve their communication skills at workplace and can be a good employee and a great manager.

필터링 기준:

Communication in the 21st Century Workplace의 261개 리뷰 중 201~225

교육 기관: Mahmudul H

Jun 26, 2018

thanks

교육 기관: RV

Apr 18, 2020

good

교육 기관: Dr.Alaa Z

Jan 31, 2016

good

교육 기관: Fuad H

Aug 12, 2017

test questions is somehow not realistic and are not logical. there are multiple answers which may be true, but the test maker decided that only one answer is correct, why? because that is his/her own persuation. for example in my organization my manager can contact me by using social media, and that is normal. in the test questions, that was not correct answer. why? who decided that? and beside of that, other test questions were so illogical and many of answers could be the right answer. but it was not. I have tried days of repass this test, nevertheless I usually pass other tests from the first attempt. test must have ONE realistic and logical correct answer, and other options / answers must be non-realistic. but in your tests 90% of answers are realistic, they can be correct. thanks

교육 기관: Yazan E C

Oct 26, 2015

The teacher of this course talks toooo fast ! I`m for example a french educated student, so I prefer to take courses with a teacher who talks in a comprehensive way in which I can understand everything he says in order to proceed in my work and then to benefit everything in this course.

Concerning the quiz, in the all of the quiz there is questions not related to what already said from the teacher or in the articles required to read. I red the articles coupes of time but in a specific questions, the answers, it seems, that we should answer from our own memory because badly it`s not mentioned in any article or in the video of the teacher.

Thanks

교육 기관: Robin V

Nov 14, 2015

A good introduction to Workplace Communication.

The resources supplied were extremely helpful.

I didn't pay so much attention to the slides that came with this - in fact, I'm not even sure how relevant they are looking back.

I had expected the overview videos to be an insight to the resource content, but it wasn't quite compiled that way.

The tests could have been longer, and perhaps could have contained obvious solutions - in some instances the solutions provided were all applicable, leaving the student to select the best option. In other instances the options available weren't even discussed in the content, confusing the student.

교육 기관: Rasheeq A

May 27, 2020

Has Good Information but that comes across haphazardly and need elaboration. Multiple Teachers can create confusions. Except for one, all lecture slides in this course has little to no information.

The next bit is my personal opinion. Patricia Bravo comes across unnatural for her fake-ish smile. Margaret Meloni was generally good, but she needs to look directly at the camera when giving lecture (not up or down). The Interviewees look uncomfortable and anxious while giving memorised answers.

I took this as part of "Career Success Specialization". Other courses were very good and informative. I hope they would improve this course

교육 기관: Hasan K U

Feb 06, 2019

Actually this course is a "key to success" for most of the new generation work environments however the presentation of the course seemed a bit too shallow when you compare the amount of "required readings" they suggest before weekly quiz. I had very hard time passing any quiz just by listening and taking notes during course videos. Nearly every question asked in the quiz is from extra readings and I believe these readings somehow should be infused into the course videos. There's a reason we're taking online courses and if it's all about reading them in the internet then there's no need for video courses.

교육 기관: Mateusz L

Sep 30, 2018

Tests are not clear when it comes to answers. The answers are based strictly on the reading material and examples provided therein. Not on actual knowledge gained. Many questions were closer to "what example did the text provide" referring to a specific sentence in the text. In addition some of the links to required reading are no longer working or the article is behind a login window. Moreover some lecures seemed more like book advertisments.

교육 기관: Margaret F

Sep 12, 2016

While the course materials themselves were very useful, the quizzes didn't feel like an effective test of the material and consisted of very few questions, which didn't leave room for error (especially problematic because some questions were subjective).

교육 기관: Rafael S D

Aug 18, 2016

Kinda disappointed that in a course about Communication, Margaret can be such a "so-so" communicator herself. Except that, the course is good and offers some cool tips on how to deal with that new ways of communication that we must deal of.

교육 기관: Kuan S

Jun 21, 2019

Contents are not very organized and not in-depth. For example, many readings in "communicate with manager" section are general communication tips. Also, some outside readings requires membership of the websites.

교육 기관: Stan H

Jul 20, 2017

This course is a basic intro to communicating in the workplace. While the class contains some good advice to help old-school organizations move into the world of virtual offices, it doesn't offer much that

교육 기관: James B

May 07, 2016

The extra/outside content provided is great. As others have stated, but clearly not adjusted, some of the quiz questions aren't clear items covered in the material (which is frustrating).

교육 기관: Sharyn L K

Oct 08, 2015

Less required reading and more targeted lectures would make it great. It often seemed that the questions in the quiz weren't properly covered in the material provided.

교육 기관: Nguyen M C

Jan 14, 2016

I think that , this course need to add more keys critical important point in each lesson by keywords on Videos. And examples how to use these skill on nature life

교육 기관: Mohamad K

Jan 04, 2018

Interesting course, rich of information ans examples. I suggest that the required reading material be transformed into videos.

교육 기관: Mahdi F R

May 09, 2020

It is too general, and other instructors and recommended articles help this course to be more usable

교육 기관: Rene P R

Sep 06, 2016

I like the course content but the presenter needs to have a more friendly way to present it.

교육 기관: Nguyen D S

May 29, 2019

Study materials are not really useful because of links to many other sites and courses

교육 기관: William P

Sep 07, 2015

It's a bit hard to answer the quiz since the presentation is not speaking about the qu

교육 기관: Stephen R

Dec 16, 2016

It wasn't challenging but more irrelevant to what I'd guess is a lot of "workplaces"

교육 기관: Mohamed f r

Sep 18, 2015

the course is not that strong when it comes to communicating with direct reports .

교육 기관: Lin D

Dec 29, 2015

speak speed is little bit too quick, difficult for non-english speaking student

교육 기관: Stefan V

Sep 17, 2015

Ok course. Well tught, but overall I prefer more business related classes.