Chevron Left
Community Change in Public Health(으)로 돌아가기

존스홉킨스대학교의 Community Change in Public Health 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
113개의 평가
29개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

In bringing about behavior change in public health, we often focus on the individual mother, student, or farmer. We should not forget the community structure and norms constrain for encouraging individual health behaviors. This course examines the community context of the changes needed to promote the public’s health. We begin by examining the various definitions of ‘community’ and the processes by which we ‘diagnose’ or seek to understand the structure and characteristics of different types of communities. An appreciation of community similarities and differences is necessary lest we fall into the trap of designing one-size-fits-all interventions. We need to recognize that no matter that outsiders may view a community as poor or neglected, we can find strengths and capacities for improvement in each community. Identifying community capacities and resources is the first step in facilitating community change. Different practical and philosophical approaches to change and therefore, examined. Specific to the change process is our recognition of the need for communities to participate in the design, implementation and evaluation of any intervention. We examine the concept of participation in an effort to see how different levels of involvement may affect sustainability of community change efforts. Finally a case study of a community participatory approach to onchocerciasis control in Africa is presented. Community Directed Intervention has subsequently been successfully applied to providing other essential primary health care services by and in the community, such as insecticide treated bednets, malaria treatment, vitamin A distribution, deworming medicines, and pneumonia and diarrhea case management....

최상위 리뷰

AA

Feb 21, 2017

It was a very insightful course as it showed us how community change is effected in developing countries. The case studies were practical and showed the change that occurs in reality, not just theory

MH

Feb 12, 2019

Very informative and give me the chance to have a new perspective regarding the essential role of community participation in improving and sustaining the health care system.

필터링 기준:

Community Change in Public Health의 29개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: prashant s

Feb 27, 2019

good

교육 기관: Mohammed S M H

Feb 12, 2019

Very informative and give me the chance to have a new perspective regarding the essential role of community participation in improving and sustaining the health care system.

교육 기관: Ronei D d C

Apr 03, 2019

muito bom!

교육 기관: Maung M K

Sep 26, 2018

The theories were well delivered along with example cases and the best part is the assignment and peer review which can help the course the taker to learn much more ideas from peer as well as getting feedback from them. If you are interested in making changes for the better future, I believe this one is for you. The assignments may be challenging but worth taking.

교육 기관: JAMES B A

Oct 08, 2018

Very nice course. Many thanks to the team who put the course together and the lecturers too

교육 기관: Msema B

Oct 13, 2016

the course was informative to me

교육 기관: adetoyeke a

Feb 21, 2017

It was a very insightful course as it showed us how community change is effected in developing countries. The case studies were practical and showed the change that occurs in reality, not just theory

교육 기관: Wong W Y

Sep 09, 2016

A very good course if one is interested to practise public health in the future ;-)

교육 기관: Shirley

Nov 04, 2017

Great course worth recommending to others. I am a community development advocate. i have gained much insight from this course which leaves me more than motivated to keep working with communities for communities. it was never a mistake enrolling for this course. great thanks course instructor.

교육 기관: Scherine C

Feb 27, 2018

You will likely find this course to be very useful and that it requires a lot of effort on your part to show that you've in fact gained knowledge & the right understanding. It encompasses video lectures, extensive reading material, MCQs, scenario reviews, essays, and a gateway to sharing/discussing content with other students & mentors which should enhance your experience. I highly recommend it.

교육 기관: Morah G

Dec 07, 2016

Great Course with in-depth lectures

교육 기관: Sara P

Oct 17, 2016

The course is extremely comprehensive in regards to coverage of the subject matter and the professor employs a certain mixture of academic as well as practical knowledge, which is second to none. The material is quite approachable for a range of students who may have little or extensive experience with public health/community change models of healthcare.

교육 기관: Monika M

Dec 26, 2016

An excellent learning program..a great opportunity to gain knowledge..

교육 기관: Moumini N

Nov 23, 2017

This is MUST take course for any public health professional no matter your leadership position

교육 기관: Yurii Z

May 12, 2019

)

교육 기관: Tommys J G G

Jun 11, 2019

This course is excellent! It provides information on the different measures which can be used to improve healthcare systems, also provides real life examples on the subject and the teachers are awesome people!

교육 기관: Yasmin S

Jun 30, 2019

Good course, but apparently not enough students to complete the peer review in a timely manner.

교육 기관: Ayobami O

Jul 04, 2019

The course is very relevant to my responsibilities. Highly educative and interesting course

교육 기관: Denita B U

Jul 23, 2019

Great course, very applicable for me. The materials provided theories as well as real-life practice. The case study assignments also allow students to think critically and integrate theories and knowledge from each lectures.

교육 기관: Shruti S

Dec 08, 2016

It was a very informative course that helped me understand the principles behind community work. The use of case studies to explain concepts was what helped me the most.

교육 기관: Eunice A

Aug 28, 2016

This course is ideal for anyone interested in community-oriented public health. It's worth the time and effort.

교육 기관: Audra B

Oct 08, 2016

LOVE the topic/content. I would like more small assignments to solidify defining terms and ideas before applying the course ideas to case study samples. I would take more courses in this topic and similar topics!

교육 기관: Nader A

Dec 22, 2017

It was Amazing!

교육 기관: Aurore V

Oct 13, 2016

Very useful course for those who work in the field and want to better structure their public health activities. Plan for more time than what is written if you really want to benefit from the case study homeworks, especially if you're a non-native (even good level) English speaker, but this should not stop you from taking the course: the topic is very well addressed and the examples tremendously relevant, not to say inspiring J!

교육 기관: Suzan O

Mar 21, 2017

It is a very useful insight into community change in public health and a must for every one who want to ensure sustainability is integrated into his intervention