Chevron Left
Comparing Genes, Proteins, and Genomes (Bioinformatics III)(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 샌디에고 대학교의 Comparing Genes, Proteins, and Genomes (Bioinformatics III) 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
118개의 평가
22개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Once we have sequenced genomes in the previous course, we would like to compare them to determine how species have evolved and what makes them different. In the first half of the course, we will compare two short biological sequences, such as genes (i.e., short sequences of DNA) or proteins. We will encounter a powerful algorithmic tool called dynamic programming that will help us determine the number of mutations that have separated the two genes/proteins. In the second half of the course, we will "zoom out" to compare entire genomes, where we see large scale mutations called genome rearrangements, seismic events that have heaved around large blocks of DNA over millions of years of evolution. Looking at the human and mouse genomes, we will ask ourselves: just as earthquakes are much more likely to occur along fault lines, are there locations in our genome that are "fragile" and more susceptible to be broken as part of genome rearrangements? We will see how combinatorial algorithms will help us answer this question. Finally, you will learn how to apply popular bioinformatics software tools to solve problems in sequence alignment, including BLAST....

최상위 리뷰

AH
2016년 8월 18일

A very well taught course that gives you the ins and outs of sequence comparision and introduces chromosme rearrangement analysis in a succint manner. This was

TF
2016년 12월 24일

Take your time, this course is harder than the others. Very worth it though, learned a lot and it was a lot of fun!

필터링 기준:

Comparing Genes, Proteins, and Genomes (Bioinformatics III)의 22개 리뷰 중 1~22

교육 기관: Ricardo S

2016년 11월 10일

One of the most difficult courses so far, but working hard you made it.

교육 기관: ZIHAN X

2019년 4월 9일

Some content in Stepik might be erroneous...

교육 기관: Christiane A

2017년 8월 6일

for me this was a very intresting courde where I learined a lot about the research behind genetics especially how difficult it is to interprete the experiemntal data. I also like the mathematical background in graph theory.

Not being a boilogist I miss some extra inforamtion about the biological relevance and would like more pratical exemples before doing the final challenge which I found rather diffucult: only after reviewing my peers I really startd to onderstand the challenge.

What I also miss is the community building aspect. Therre is a forum on every page but the comment are usually very old (3 of more years) so you can't expect to have a dialogue anymore. Problems reported years ago are sill open. I also woud like to know how many learners are currently following this course.

교육 기관: Daniel D

2019년 10월 24일

It's simply astounding to see how clearly the authors managed to explain the concepts presented in the course (and in the entire series, for that matter). I always had a hunch that this was an excellent course, but only after reading other bioinformatics materials did it become clear to me how much effort the authors put into making this course the best that it can be.

My only criticism is that the peer reviewed final challenge doesn't work very well because there are not that many participants to do the peer reviews. It took me about 1 week to finish the course, including al programming challenges, and it's been 6 weeks since I am waiting to get my work graded. A better option would be to use an auto-grader.

교육 기관: Robert K

2017년 10월 19일

This was intensive, time-consuming, thought-provoking ... pleasure! I really enjoyed it, it took me more time than the schedule proposed, but it was worth it. I liked exploring things on my own, and tampering with the code/algorithms. This part of the course now assumes that you can think intelligently and will do so. Although this is a course in bioinformatics I often found myself laying on the bed with a piece of paper drawing graphs in order to fully grasp what I need to do so my code would be more efficient.

Excellent work! I'll start the next part now.

교육 기관: Ayaan H

2016년 8월 19일

A very well taught course that gives you the ins and outs of sequence comparision and introduces chromosme rearrangement analysis in a succint manner. This was

교육 기관: Tobi F

2016년 12월 25일

Take your time, this course is harder than the others. Very worth it though, learned a lot and it was a lot of fun!

교육 기관: Hercules P N

2017년 6월 22일

I have taken courses I, II and III. They were consistently excellent. I plan to go for the next one.

교육 기관: Tuan N

2021년 8월 21일

Overall it is a nice course. I especially like the way pairwise alignment is explained.

교육 기관: Paolo B

2017년 11월 30일

This course was harder than the previous one, I am happy to have made it to the end!

교육 기관: Yasmine E H

2020년 7월 26일

Interesting course but I wish that it took less time to give me my certificate.

교육 기관: Zack X

2019년 7월 21일

In depth and comprehensive coverage of the topics in genetic data analysis.

교육 기관: Yulan W

2016년 10월 2일

this course is easy understandable and interesting for the beginners!

교육 기관: Simon O

2018년 5월 24일

One of the most challenging courses that I have done.

교육 기관: Luis F R C

2017년 11월 13일

Very challenging but excellent walk through

교육 기관: Weidong X

2016년 9월 17일

a very good course!

교육 기관: Mohamed T

2018년 6월 19일

Excellent course

교육 기관: chenhyde628

2016년 12월 13일

Good coursera.

교육 기관: ­박준형 / 학 / 컴

2018년 9월 12일

Good class

교육 기관: José M P F

2016년 8월 9일

Muy bueno.

교육 기관: Yudi,Tian

2019년 5월 19일

I think I will need some pseudocode in stepik interactive material to complete the code challenge. some part still too confused to me

교육 기관: Linbo Z

2017년 7월 10일

I think Week 4 and 5 should be explained more. Pseudo-code can be more detailed.