Chevron Left
Computational Social Science Methods(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 대학교 데이비스 캠퍼스의 Computational Social Science Methods 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
249개의 평가
64개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course gives you an overview of the current opportunities and the omnipresent reach of computational social science. The results are all around us, every day, reaching from the services provided by the world’s most valuable companies, over the hidden influence of governmental agencies, to the power of social and political movements. All of them study human behavior in order to shape it. In short, all of them do social science by computational means. In this course we answer three questions: I. Why Computational Social Science (CSS) now? II. What does CSS cover? III. What are examples of CSS? In this last part, we take a bird’s-eye view on four main applications of CSS. First, Prof. Blumenstock from UC Berkeley discusses how we can gain insights by studying the massive digital footprint left behind today’s social interactions, especially to foster international development. Second, Prof. Shelton from UC Riverside introduces us to the world of machine learning, including the basic concepts behind this current driver of much of today's computational landscape. Prof. Fowler, from UC San Diego introduces us to the power of social networks, and finally, Prof. Smaldino, from UC Merced, explains how computer simulation help us to untangle some of the mysteries of social emergence....

최상위 리뷰

AA
2021년 3월 22일

This introduction course of CSS Methods is nicely structured. Prof. Hilbert and the others are great presentations. I enjoyed the course and will definitely continue to the next course.

DA
2020년 7월 6일

Excellent course and the instructor(s) make it even more engaging. I love Martin Hilbert and his explanations, examples. I enjoyed course 1 alot and continuing course 2 at the moment.

필터링 기준:

Computational Social Science Methods의 66개 리뷰 중 51~66

교육 기관: Mona A A

2020년 8월 1일

good

교육 기관: Ben B

2020년 11월 10일

The specialization offers a great first overview of the field of computational social sciences. You will work with simple (and messy) tools which offer you the opportunity to get your hands dirty quickly. Most likely, you will not use these very tools later in your own research because they are just to limited and simple. Prof Hilbert is an entertaining lecturer and all the guest lectureres (or collaborators) in the specialization offer interesting insights. Be warned that the peer-review process might take a while (a couple of days). There are other learners but it seems that this course (and all courses of the specialization) are not that crowded.

교육 기관: Tianyi M

2021년 11월 20일

Provides some information, but too scattered to make me feel like I have a comprehensive understanding of what's going on on CSS. For example, it frequently uses case studies and examples, but didn't highlight how those examples generalize to other researches and what the differences and commonalities between those examples and other researches are. It just shows that this is still not a systemized discipline I guess.

교육 기관: QUINIOU V

2020년 8월 9일

Very insightful introduction to computational social science methods. I understand that modelling is not an easy stuff, and we have to very careful when manipulating them, or deduce and propose things. It is very fascinating to learn all the discoveries from Pr Fowler.

교육 기관: Michael K

2021년 7월 7일

g​ood starting point, motivating and broad + some nice hands on example. really good

교육 기관: G.W

2020년 6월 13일

Good and comprehensive overview of computational social sciences

교육 기관: Abhyudaya A

2020년 5월 14일

Great course

교육 기관: SADIQ T

2021년 8월 22일

g​ood

교육 기관: Kevin S

2021년 6월 28일

Nice overview with a few flaws in presentation and especially in the lack of hands-on activities.

교육 기관: ROBERT W C

2020년 4월 17일

Great content! Quiz questions need to be reconsidered, and more projects would be useful

교육 기관: Bonny A

2021년 9월 12일

I’m so confused by all the glowing reviews of this course. Am I taking a different course than everyone else? Perhaps my style of learning differs from most, but I’ve found this course ridiculous at times (with multiple in-video quiz answers revolving around silliness like, “Wait, I wasn’t paying attention….!!!!” And full of grammatical and spelling errors, I’m assuming to mimic text speak. Casual doesn’t even begin to describe the teaching style. It’s hard to follow the instructor as he goes off on tangents that have nothing to do with the course. There’s a lot of repetition for things that don’t require it (like what we’re going to cover). If you’ve got epilepsy or can’t handle lots of flashing, don’t watch the videos - there’s a lot of it, unnecessarily, from stock images. I repeatedly felt like I was in a science world presentation for youth with lots of smoke bombs and “ooohs” but it all covered up the actual knowledge. I can’t imagine this course would ever be taught at university… and if it was, I’d ask for a refund. I ended up reading the transcripts of every video and ignored 90% of it. Much of it was nonsensical. I understand the main instructor has English as a second language, which I love, but the phraseology left much to be desired. I’m older than the instructor, but I felt like I was back in high school with the “cool teacher” who just wanted to be liked, and did anything to keep students engaged with a topic that isn’t particularly engaging. The difference here is that anyone taking this course chose to; we all need measurable skills to take away from a course and specialization like this. Smoke and mirrors, off topic and meandering 18-minute videos don’t cut it.

교육 기관: Juan S A D

2021년 6월 14일

Many of the general introductory videos were repetitive and did not provide new or useful information. There were many suppositions about the theory of knowledge and even labor theory. Martin Hilbert should revise his theoretical foundations.

교육 기관: Belle B

2020년 10월 18일

I wish that there would be safer ways to practice the webscraping assignment haha perhaps an existing dataset?

교육 기관: Jianlei Z

2021년 8월 27일

be care with the lier at opening, he use the false data to show his purpose. and There are a few in planted advertisement. the video is sponsored by business, but not explicit show the sponsors.

교육 기관: luisa d

2020년 6월 13일

I ALREADY WROTE TO SUSPEND THIS COURSE FOR A WHILE BECAUSE I AM TOO BUSY. WHY ARE YOU ASKING ME THE PAYMENT ???

교육 기관: Naveen A

2021년 8월 2일

why it is nit showing the unsubscription option