Chevron Left
The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking(으)로 돌아가기

Google의 The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
38,408개의 평가

강좌 소개

This course is designed to provide a full overview of computer networking. We’ll cover everything from the fundamentals of modern networking technologies and protocols to an overview of the cloud to practical applications and network troubleshooting. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to: ● describe computer networks in terms of a five-layer model ● understand all of the standard protocols involved with TCP/IP communications ● grasp powerful network troubleshooting tools and techniques ● learn network services like DNS and DHCP that help make computer networks run ● understand cloud computing, everything as a service, and cloud storage...

최상위 리뷰

TS

2019년 8월 5일

This was a very fun course! I really enjoyed the style and pace of the information given. A lot of technical information was given while the course made it easy to take in and comprehend the material!

WW

2020년 11월 8일

Great overview of the technical aspects of networking that, once again, started from the very "I know nothing basics" and moved to more advanced topics at a rate that this beginner could keep up with.

필터링 기준:

The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking의 8,852개 리뷰 중 126~150

교육 기관: kyle b

2022년 6월 27일

g​ood course but the ipv6 graded assignment never worked so I cancelled my membership

교육 기관: Johnny M

2022년 6월 26일

The IPv6 exam is broken and has been broken for a long time. They will not fix it.

교육 기관: Jeffrey V

2022년 6월 28일

the last test keeps failing me even though I got all the answers correct.

교육 기관: Esti N

2021년 6월 6일

It was highly confusing.

The instructor went way way too fast.

교육 기관: Justin S

2020년 9월 16일

I need to drop this class. How do I do so?

교육 기관: Ali I

2021년 5월 19일

Worst course in the whole program by far

교육 기관: Deleted A

2020년 2월 14일

Coursera itself is a mess in it self

교육 기관: Joshua P

2021년 7월 20일

I did not like this course at all

교육 기관: Deleted A

2020년 2월 21일

a total waste of time and energy

교육 기관: Daniel R B

2022년 6월 24일

This course is broken!

교육 기관: Jonathan

2019년 12월 11일

Obviously not for me.

교육 기관: Paco A

2018년 11월 16일

very very very bad.

교육 기관: Glen W

2018년 3월 25일

Hated every minute.

교육 기관: Elliott H

2021년 5월 26일

B​ORINGGGGGGGGGGGG

교육 기관: Ghazanfar A

2020년 6월 5일

I,m not interested

교육 기관: Travis L B

2020년 9월 22일

NOT LIVE YET?

교육 기관: Brian W

2018년 9월 1일

Beautoful!

교육 기관: shanmugha s

2020년 7월 21일

nothing

교육 기관: Narahari A P

2020년 6월 16일

s

교육 기관: Christine W

2020년 6월 11일

.

교육 기관: Ellen K

2020년 11월 26일

I thought this course was great. Like others, I want to give props to the narrators, whose friendly and upbeat manner definitely helped to make things more palatable!

Even the very best products can be improved upon, so in that spirit, my recommendations would be:

*More hands-on practice - (agree with earlier reviewer on this) - I would add that it would be nice to have that not necessarily in the form of a quiz right off the bat - but in the form of exercises. I did actually try a few of the commands on my computer, but not the same as having the course verify that I had done things correctly. Sort of like learning to drive - the hands-on simulations are useful.

*Maybe a little section every now and then on - "let's take a look at how this works specifically with what you have learned so far" - since several commenters noted that they didn't see the connections. I felt that the course helped me begin to see them, but am not yet at the point where I could design the whole system myself using the concepts - so clearly there is more I need to learn.

*Maybe some occasional reference to key concepts and details to learn for the TIA-Comp or other critical exams. My fear is that they make it so cushy and comfortable that one could neglect to learn important things for the exam. For instance, do people need to memorize each different header and stack level item with correct field order and size etc.? Or is it enough to be able to look that up and to know which one to look up? Would be reassuring to know.

* Not sure whether the transcript was auto-generated, but there is room for improvement in the grammar and even in misquoting what the narrator actually said at times. I made some corrections for myself, but did not fix everything. I would be willing to share that with Google or Coursera if they wanted a partially corrected starting point. Would also be willing to share with other students, if Coursera/Google were to give permission. Either way, for those who are transcript-oriented, there is room for improvement on that feature.

*There is probably something I am forgetting to add here, but I am sure other reviewers will cover it.

Overall - I I think they have done a fantastic job of introducing this topic, which broad enough to be the subject of university degrees, in just a couple short easy classes. It seems very natural that there would still be gaps in our abilities at this stage - we are not even halfway through, and the entire class of 5 courses is still only described as an introductory level certificate.

This comment is weirdly centering rather than left formatting as I write. Hope it comes out looking normal.

Anyway, thanks so much, and looking forward to the rest!

교육 기관: Vivian W

2020년 5월 1일

This was definitely much more in-depth than the first course of the Google IT Support cert series, and had a lot of great information and I definitely came out of it more knowledgeable of certain terms and concepts that are important to networking and to building a strong foundation.

If improvements to the course were to be implemented, I would suggest adding more visuals to better understand some of the concepts like subnetting, datagram encapsulation steps/routing in relation to the 5-layer model (at which layer X happens etc) .

In particular, I had a very difficult time understanding binary - converting decimal to binary and vice versa, which I think is important to understanding CIDR notation and applying it to then understand how to do well on one of the assessments. After rewatching the videos, I ended up having to use some outside resources to get it, which I understand is part of the learning process in general in this field, but I also think those outside resources could be included as they were more clear and concise.

I also struggled with the Wireless Channel activity - while I understood the importance of trying to configure channels with as little interference as possible, it wasn't explained how to do so in as fast and efficient manner as possible. I also think this course could benefit from adding in more practical applications/real-life scenarios, like explaining and providing examples of when to use ping vs traceroute vs nslookup, examples of common problems or things to look for in the output to help resolve the problem.

Lastly, I felt that the Mock Interview video was extremely helpful and useful so kudos for including that!

Overall a great course, and thank you for providing this resource to people like me with no traditional background or academic foundation for this type of field.

교육 기관: Lisa K

2020년 6월 29일

I was surprised to see so many negative reviews of this class, so that's why I'm writing this positive one. In my opinion, the course is excellent, and so are the instructors. Even their jokes are ok. I did watch each video at least twice, and I took lots of notes and reviewed them. The text of the instructor's talk was below each video, so it was easy to cut and paste pertinent talking points, or to shorten them. I think it would be difficult to learn the material only by watching the videos. I also read the Supplemental Materials, and sometimes watched YouTube videos on the topic (especially for Subnetting and masking). I am pretty much of a beginner, except that 14-15 years ago I took some Networking classes at a local community college, so I had some prior knowledge of the topic (but no actual hands on experience).

I agree with the criticisms of the Subnetting quiz. I misinterpreted the instructions (even though I read others' comments about them before I took the test). I finally figured it out. The test was hard even once I understood the instructions, but that's b/c I had a very hard time understanding subnetting & masking.

It would be helpful to have more hands-on quizzes, but I'm not sure how that can be accomplished in a class in this format: online and at-your-own-pace. I think the next course includes command line instructions and practice, and this may help us all to get hands-on practice on our own computers, using some of the tools we've learned.

교육 기관: Mary C

2021년 3월 10일

I appreciated Victor Escobedo's enthusiasm and wit. He covered A LOT of material in this course and made it interesting which in turn kept me motivated.

I enjoyed learning about the fundamentals and details of the TCP/IP 5 layer model. We delved into Networking Services and how DNS is used to control and maintain web addresses and the specific protocol used to keep the internet secure. We learned about Domain Name registration. I have a better understanding of the essentials of DHCP and using NAT and Port Forwarding as a solution to the lack of IPv4 addresses. The importance of Virtual Private Networks as a means of keeping networks secure. The history of broadband and the establishment of DSL and the basics of WAN protocol. I have a grasp on the use of Wireless Technology and networking, including the implementation and use of Ad-hoc, Wireless LANS, and mesh networks and how to troubleshoot connectivity issues with options like Ping, Traceroute, Netcat and nslookup. I have a deeper understanding of how cloud services work and the various types of services available. Lastly, the future of IP addressing and workarounds of using current IPv4 servers until the global system is ready to launch IPv6. Lastly, I’m impressed with the mind-blowing 18+ Quintillion addresses that IPv6 has to offer. The technology behind our internet infrastructure is fascinating! I would love to meet and someday work with the brilliant engineers at the heart of this technology.

교육 기관: Geraldine T

2020년 9월 9일

1 Overview

I absolutely enjoyed this course! Some of the networking puns made me smile. :) The instructor explained the key concepts using simple English and simple ideas. I found this very helpful as it gave me a big picture overview of the networking device or technology and made me understand its purpose in the grand scheme of things. The graphics were great too and helps tremedously for visual learners!

2 Depth

While I cannot troubleshoot network issues after taking this course, I definitely can see these concepts coming alive in daily live with a clearer understanding about the phones, computers, cars, routers, etc. around me. It was the just the right level of depth for someone like me who only has a basic understanding of how computers work. I dont think I would be able to cover as much breadth in networking concepts in the same period of time if I were to self-explore on wiki, watch youtube, or read man pages. This is certainly well-curated content and has given me a direction on what topics I could further read about. This is definitely a beginner's course and the focus is on exposure rather than mastery. Would love to see an intermediate course under this same instructor!

3 Area for improvement

Include hands on assignment like in Course 1