Chevron Left
Computers, Waves, Simulations: A Practical Introduction to Numerical Methods using Python(으)로 돌아가기

뮌헨대학교(LMU)의 Computers, Waves, Simulations: A Practical Introduction to Numerical Methods using Python 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
187개의 평가
73개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Interested in learning how to solve partial differential equations with numerical methods and how to turn them into python codes? This course provides you with a basic introduction how to apply methods like the finite-difference method, the pseudospectral method, the linear and spectral element method to the 1D (or 2D) scalar wave equation. The mathematical derivation of the computational algorithm is accompanied by python codes embedded in Jupyter notebooks. In a unique setup you can see how the mathematical equations are transformed to a computer code and the results visualized. The emphasis is on illustrating the fundamental mathematical ingredients of the various numerical methods (e.g., Taylor series, Fourier series, differentiation, function interpolation, numerical integration) and how they compare. You will be provided with strategies how to ensure your solutions are correct, for example benchmarking with analytical solutions or convergence tests. The mathematical aspects are complemented by a basic introduction to wave physics, discretization, meshes, parallel programming, computing models. The course targets anyone who aims at developing or using numerical methods applied to partial differential equations and is seeking a practical introduction at a basic level. The methodologies discussed are widely used in natural sciences, engineering, as well as economics and other fields....

최상위 리뷰

MF

Nov 27, 2019

A fascinating teaching technique, delivering quality content with a well-thought quizzes system! It' hard to find better courses in the domain of Finite Difference and Spectral Element methods

RM

Jul 12, 2020

This is an excellent course as I have found. The instructor has taught us many important concepts including the detailed codes. I would love to join further courses from Prof. Igel.

필터링 기준:

Computers, Waves, Simulations: A Practical Introduction to Numerical Methods using Python의 72개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: José A H d G

May 25, 2020

A highly recommended course to enter in the basics of numerical simulation. Good explanations, clear Python codes and Prof. Igel always ready to answer the questions. Hope to see the next part (discontinuous Galerkin) soon.

교육 기관: Дмитрий М

May 25, 2019

Very good course as an introduction into methods used in solving wave equation numerically. As for me, there were too little maths, especially in the last weeks. Probably it's right, because not everyone is good at it.

교육 기관: Esteban F G L

Dec 24, 2019

An impressive and compelling lecture. meaningful introduction to different sort of numerical methods that could help to solve different real problems, it is really notewhorthy that is very dynamic and entertaining.

교육 기관: Le L

Jul 08, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. Professor Igel has done an great job putting all this material together. All concepts are very well explained . The python notebooks are well documented and completes.the theory.

Thanks!

교육 기관: Malcolm W

Jun 24, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. Concepts are explained simply and the Jupyter notebooks are a lot of fun to play with. One criticism is the few typos found in the course, but they are quite minor. Thanks!

교육 기관: jorge g

Aug 02, 2020

This is a very useful course that helps to wrap up the knowledge acquired in advanced lectures during the master's program. Professor Igel is a good lecturer who knows how to transmit his knowledge.

교육 기관: Rakesh m

Jul 12, 2020

This is an excellent course as I have found. The instructor has taught us many important concepts including the detailed codes. I would love to join further courses from Prof. Igel.

교육 기관: Yerson H L M

Aug 11, 2020

An excellent course highly recommended, but be careful, its level is quite advanced, it requires knowledge of python, partial differential equations and advanced numerical methods

교육 기관: Junyi L

Mar 29, 2020

I really learned a lot of basic ideas and mathematical knowledge of numerical methods, and realized corresponding algorithms to solve research problems through python.

교육 기관: gkkclouds

Jun 18, 2019

This course teaches me systematically the all kinds of methods to solve the wave-equation of the derivative form. And I want to know the all answers of the tests.

교육 기관: Alan D

Jul 17, 2020

Excellent course for people wishing to learn about different numerical approaches for wave propagation. Python Notebooks really add to the learning experience.

교육 기관: 葉政凱

Dec 22, 2019

This course is a great introduction to numerical methods.

I hope that Dr. Igel will provide more courses on writing effective code for numerical methods.

교육 기관: Thomas P D

Jun 26, 2020

A very practical introduction. The later weeks are very dense, but useful for those starting out with FEM methods and need a good primer.

교육 기관: Yitao H

Apr 09, 2019

This is a great course for intro to numerical course with additional bonus on python code, although a little bit too fast pace.

교육 기관: Revanth S K

May 08, 2020

This course is really great, a great way to get a basic understanding and the differences between all the methods.

교육 기관: Frederico T D

Feb 25, 2019

I already know that I will learn a lot even though I am an undergrad. ( FTD from Colorado School of Mines)

교육 기관: Pradeep B

May 21, 2020

It is a bit complicated but very effectively conveys the maths behind the computational simulations

교육 기관: Vivek K G

Apr 02, 2019

The course was highly enlightening. Go to learn a great deal from the course. Thanks to coursera !!

교육 기관: sreenath

Jun 17, 2020

Amazing and well-structured course. Theory, mathematical explanations, and python are well taught.

교육 기관: Vadim K

May 14, 2020

Very clear exposition of motivation of the numerical methods and of the corresponding mathematics!

교육 기관: Gil A

Aug 27, 2019

Fun, interactive, and well explained. A very good introduction to numerical wave simulations

교육 기관: Soumya S

Dec 26, 2019

The course is very well structured and Dr. Heiner Igel explained the concepts well.

교육 기관: Enkuneh C

Aug 11, 2019

A two thumbs up coarse! I wish it continues!

Thank you Pr. Dr. Heiner Igel

교육 기관: Bhuvneshwari S

May 31, 2020

Great learning of numerical methods and wave simulation using python.