Chevron Left
Concurrent Programming in Java(으)로 돌아가기

라이스 대학교의 Concurrent Programming in Java 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.5
별점
582개의 평가
103개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course teaches learners (industry professionals and students) the fundamental concepts of concurrent programming in the context of Java 8. Concurrent programming enables developers to efficiently and correctly mediate the use of shared resources in parallel programs. By the end of this course, you will learn how to use basic concurrency constructs in Java such as threads, locks, critical sections, atomic variables, isolation, actors, optimistic concurrency and concurrent collections, as well as their theoretical foundations (e.g., progress guarantees, deadlock, livelock, starvation, linearizability). Why take this course? • It is important for you to be aware of the theoretical foundations of concurrency to avoid common but subtle programming errors. • Java 8 has modernized many of the concurrency constructs since the early days of threads and locks. • During the course, you will have online access to the instructor and mentors to get individualized answers to your questions posted on the forums. • Each of the four modules in the course includes an assigned mini-project that will provide you with the necessary hands-on experience to use the concepts learned in the course on your own, after the course ends. The desired learning outcomes of this course are as follows: • Concurrency theory: progress guarantees, deadlock, livelock, starvation, linearizability • Use of threads and structured/unstructured locks in Java • Atomic variables and isolation • Optimistic concurrency and concurrent collections in Java (e.g., concurrent queues, concurrent hashmaps) • Actor model in Java Mastery of these concepts will enable you to immediately apply them in the context of concurrent Java programs, and will also help you master other concurrent programming system that you may encounter in the future (e.g., POSIX threads, .NET threads)....

최상위 리뷰

PS
2017년 9월 1일

Great course. With minimal effort you can learn about important concepts and see immediate results regarding the actual speedup you can achieve using concurrent programming.

FC
2020년 2월 8일

Excellent way to refresh what I learned some years ago in Operator System. Also I won a small hands-on experience using locks, isolation and high level concurrency in Java.

필터링 기준:

Concurrent Programming in Java의 102개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Ernest S

2017년 10월 29일

Examples and projects are somewhat "sandbox" grade, without touching real problems of this field. Code and tests quality is poor in my opinion.

I would consider it as a overview of possible approaches, not a course. Assigments could be frustating because outcome is sometimes non-deterministic (I wasted few hours of my time because of this, it turned out that my solution was fine). Sometimes given examples are not following Java documentation in details. They could not work in corner cases. It should not be the case in the course made by professionals.

Compared to the other courses I took authors of this one did not put much effort in preparing good materials and exercises. Course can by challenging by means of standing frustration assigments could give you. And in my opinion not because it is hard to pass them and they are demanding. It is because they are not properly prepared.

I have mixed feeling about specializations. This topic can be hard. And course mentions most of the important topics in non-sequential computer computing essential to making working systems. But it does not give deep insight in many of them.

교육 기관: Emmanuel J F

2019년 1월 20일

Very basic

교육 기관: Wen L

2017년 11월 1일

This is the worst online course I ever had. Especially the programming assignment. You just need to change one line or add one line, which makes this course like a video tutorial. Definitely not for an intermediate level learner.

교육 기관: Saifuddin M

2017년 11월 11일

This was a good course and covered all the topics relevant to the course. I liked the Optimistic Concurrency in week 4 - that was an area I was not exposed to before

교육 기관: Chintan G

2018년 1월 12일

Course was very good. I some how was not in favor of using the custom lib. i would have prefer we learning how to write that code.

교육 기관: Hieu D

2018년 4월 16일

Like previous course, The content is heavy in theory but not much in practical.

교육 기관: Naveen L

2019년 7월 15일

The course is pretty good and lays down the basic theoretical knowledge about concurrency needed to begin developing expertise in this field. The quizzes and projects help you remember and understand the theoretical aspects while at the same time the projects also give you a glimpse of how the learned theory and aspects are applied in a more realistic coding setting rather than pseudo code.

교육 기관: Dazhi W

2020년 8월 9일

Great course overall but the difficulty of the mini-projects is not evenly distributed. Some are extremely easy while others seems to be too hard. Also it would be better to be able to use some libraries other than the RICE PDCP library which does not seem to be used elsewhere. For someone with moderate Java experience, the course could be finished within a week.

교육 기관: Sankalp A

2020년 6월 2일

Dr. Sarkar is a great teacher. The course includes different kinds of implementations of concurrent programming using Java. The Quizzes and the mini_projects were of great help when it comes to the reinforcement and they were selectively chosen for providing the implementation knowledge about the topic as well.

교육 기관: Kumaravel K

2017년 10월 6일

"It takes a genius to make it simple.”

Prof. Sarkar has explained and illustrated some of the complex concurrency and parallelism concepts in very simple terms. Even an experienced concurrency java developer will have something to take away from these classes.

Thank you.

교육 기관: Carlos D M

2018년 2월 19일

Great introduction to concurrent programming concepts. Well-paced. Instructor is clear and personable. The mini-projects feel a little too easy sometimes, but at that point it's up to me to dig deeper and learn more on the topics. I enjoyed this course very much.

교육 기관: Petros S

2017년 9월 2일

Great course. With minimal effort you can learn about important concepts and see immediate results regarding the actual speedup you can achieve using concurrent programming.

교육 기관: Fernando L C

2020년 2월 9일

Excellent way to refresh what I learned some years ago in Operator System. Also I won a small hands-on experience using locks, isolation and high level concurrency in Java.

교육 기관: Prathamesh B

2020년 11월 24일

Amazing course. Especially for those who want to really understand the foundations behind multithreading and concurrency in Java. As always, Professor Sarkar is brilliant!

교육 기관: A M

2020년 5월 30일

Very well structured and presented course! Very useful material with good relevant examples! Thank you, Prof. Sarkar for this Concurrent Programming in Java course!

교육 기관: Anurag A

2020년 2월 2일

Awesome course, it nudges students in right directions, provides them with solid fundamentals and encourages them to deep dive more into topics. Thanks a lot!

교육 기관: Wei Z

2020년 1월 21일

The course is well organized with very clear instructions. It helps me to understand several fundamental concepts about concurrent programming.

교육 기관: Gabrial Z A

2020년 9월 19일

Very good explanation of the concepts of locks, and how important data-structures example HashMap are optimized to improve performance

교육 기관: JB B

2017년 9월 3일

Short and easy to understand multi-threading with locks, object-based isolation, Actors, Atomic values and optimistic concurrency.

교육 기관: Rahul K R

2018년 7월 22일

Hard course, we need more assignments, small chunks. Making assignments for courses like these is not trivial as well.

교육 기관: Marcos P

2019년 11월 10일

Very practical course, it gave me understanding details about concurrency I've never heard before.

Thanks Professor

교육 기관: Kamil S

2017년 12월 23일

Very good course on concurrency that can be applied to many other programming languages as well.

교육 기관: Reynaldo

2020년 10월 25일

Great way to learn about concurrent programming. How it works, and how to use it within Java.

교육 기관: Douglas H

2017년 9월 5일

Great course in the series on Parallel, Concurrent and Distributed Programming in Java.

교육 기관: Prabhakar K S

2019년 8월 11일

one best course to understand the foundation for threads and concurrent programming.