Chevron Left
Concurrent Programming in Java(으)로 돌아가기

라이스 대학교의 Concurrent Programming in Java 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.5
347개의 평가
49개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course teaches learners (industry professionals and students) the fundamental concepts of concurrent programming in the context of Java 8. Concurrent programming enables developers to efficiently and correctly mediate the use of shared resources in parallel programs. By the end of this course, you will learn how to use basic concurrency constructs in Java such as threads, locks, critical sections, atomic variables, isolation, actors, optimistic concurrency and concurrent collections, as well as their theoretical foundations (e.g., progress guarantees, deadlock, livelock, starvation, linearizability). Why take this course? • It is important for you to be aware of the theoretical foundations of concurrency to avoid common but subtle programming errors. • Java 8 has modernized many of the concurrency constructs since the early days of threads and locks. • During the course, you will have online access to the instructor and mentors to get individualized answers to your questions posted on the forums. • Each of the four modules in the course includes an assigned mini-project that will provide you with the necessary hands-on experience to use the concepts learned in the course on your own, after the course ends. The desired learning outcomes of this course are as follows: • Concurrency theory: progress guarantees, deadlock, livelock, starvation, linearizability • Use of threads and structured/unstructured locks in Java • Atomic variables and isolation • Optimistic concurrency and concurrent collections in Java (e.g., concurrent queues, concurrent hashmaps) • Actor model in Java Mastery of these concepts will enable you to immediately apply them in the context of concurrent Java programs, and will also help you master other concurrent programming system that you may encounter in the future (e.g., POSIX threads, .NET threads)....

최상위 리뷰

PS

Sep 02, 2017

Great course. With minimal effort you can learn about important concepts and see immediate results regarding the actual speedup you can achieve using concurrent programming.

SM

Nov 12, 2017

This was a good course and covered all the topics relevant to the course. I liked the Optimistic Concurrency in week 4 - that was an area I was not exposed to before

필터링 기준:

Concurrent Programming in Java의 51개 리뷰 중 1~25

대학: Emmanuel J F

Jan 20, 2019

Very basic

대학: Ernest S

Oct 29, 2017

Examples and projects are somewhat "sandbox" grade, without touching real problems of this field. Code and tests quality is poor in my opinion.

I would consider it as a overview of possible approaches, not a course. Assigments could be frustating because outcome is sometimes non-deterministic (I wasted few hours of my time because of this, it turned out that my solution was fine). Sometimes given examples are not following Java documentation in details. They could not work in corner cases. It should not be the case in the course made by professionals.

Compared to the other courses I took authors of this one did not put much effort in preparing good materials and exercises. Course can by challenging by means of standing frustration assigments could give you. And in my opinion not because it is hard to pass them and they are demanding. It is because they are not properly prepared.

I have mixed feeling about specializations. This topic can be hard. And course mentions most of the important topics in non-sequential computer computing essential to making working systems. But it does not give deep insight in many of them.

대학: Marcos N F

Jun 13, 2019

It is great but some homework had bugs

대학: Přemysl C

Jun 09, 2019

I wasted a lot of time because of the poor quality of test evaluation (autograder). Resubmit of the same code often means different results in autograder.

On the other hand, the course shows basic concepts of concurrent programming and opens themes for further studies.

대학: Mahesh B G

May 31, 2019

I enjoyed doing this course more than the Parallel Programming in Java

대학: Robinson S

May 19, 2019

The course is very good, teaching in simple way several complex questions.

대학: vini g

Apr 12, 2019

Better than Parallel Programming

I would prefer more assignments.

대학: Raghav A

Mar 29, 2019

Excellent Course

대학: Leonid S

Mar 15, 2019

Excellent! Great thanks to professor Vivek Sarkar

대학: Zeeshan A

Mar 05, 2019

Excellent course , well explained and organised.

대학: Partha B

Feb 14, 2019

Good

대학: Luciano F

Jan 28, 2019

Lo consiglio a tutti, Vorrei soltanto che gli argomenti fossero affrontati più approfonditamente dal punto di vista teorico

대학: Guillermo D

Jan 03, 2019

Excelent course, just some mixups with the concurrent API used in the assignment for Week3

대학: Sudharaka P

Nov 19, 2018

Great course to understand the fundamentals of concurrent programming!

대학: Jad C

Oct 09, 2018

Great course, it focuses on the basics and let you master them

대학: Мухин С А

Sep 25, 2018

Хорошо

대학: Benjamin G J

Aug 10, 2018

Much stronger in mini-projects than the first course.

대학: Travis W

Jul 30, 2018

A lot of my time has been wasted due to a very poor explanation of actors. All it takes is "Actors have their own threads and that is how they are concurrent.

대학: Rahul K R

Jul 22, 2018

Hard course, we need more assignments, small chunks. Making assignments for courses like these is not trivial as well.

대학: Josefine L

Jul 09, 2018

Very good, but I'd like more practical examples and walk-troughs. If you don't get it the in the only example or the demo, then you're left on your own to Google for more examples and a deeper understanding.

대학: Antonio J M G

May 13, 2018

Only thing I missed are more optional exercises, otherwise a great course.

대학: Samuele M

May 06, 2018

Good course, with relevant basics of concurrency, even if I expected deeper and detailed contents.

대학: Hieu D

Apr 16, 2018

Like previous course, The content is heavy in theory but not much in practical.

대학: Xiao X

Mar 15, 2018

The feedback will be similar to the first course, parallel programming in java, such that the course contents are good. The lecturer can explain the theory very well. But the homework is just repeating of the demo video. I hope we can have the opportunity to practice the actual thread creation, joining, etc. instead of using the API call.

대학: Mahesh C

Feb 24, 2018

very nice content and throughly articulated the difficult topic