Chevron Left
Introduction to Key Constitutional Concepts and Supreme Court Cases(으)로 돌아가기

펜실베이니아 대학교의 Introduction to Key Constitutional Concepts and Supreme Court Cases 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
553개의 평가
140개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course offers an introduction to the U.S. Constitution and landmark Supreme Court cases interpreting it. It explores the Constitution’s origins, its amendment over the years, and methods of constitutional interpretation. Topics include the nature and structure of the federal government, the powers of the federal government, and individual rights....

최상위 리뷰

SJ

Jul 22, 2017

Professor does a great job and in explaining the complexities. He does not take any partisan stand and does a great job and giving prominence to all sides of the argument. Enjoyed the course throughly

DG

Dec 11, 2016

This is a great introductory or refresher course. Everything is put forth in an easy-to-understand concept. It was beneficial to me to compare key cases and how society affected them. Thank you.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Key Constitutional Concepts and Supreme Court Cases의 134개 리뷰 중 101~125

교육 기관: SHARMILA H S

Mar 09, 2019

Very informative, and useful

교육 기관: Nguyen H B

Dec 26, 2017

Very comprehensive course.

교육 기관: Vaibhav S

Mar 31, 2020

very informative course

교육 기관: Латыпов Е В

Aug 17, 2019

A very nice lector!

교육 기관: Richard H

Apr 09, 2018

One of my favorite.

교육 기관: motaz i

Nov 07, 2016

thanks teacher ! :)

교육 기관: Erich Y

Apr 08, 2017

Splendid Excellent

교육 기관: Ahmer J K

Oct 18, 2016

Excellent course!

교육 기관: Athina S

Jun 17, 2016

Excellent course!

교육 기관: MAURO F D S

Feb 04, 2018

Excelente curso

교육 기관: Siyao L

Apr 29, 2017

amazing course!

교육 기관: Amanda H

May 14, 2016

amazing course

교육 기관: CORINA S

Apr 19, 2017

Enjoyed it

교육 기관: Lukasz J B

May 29, 2016

Excellent!

교육 기관: Jhonatan A T B

Nov 07, 2019

Great!!!!

교육 기관: Md. Z R

Sep 01, 2017

Best One

교육 기관: Berat T

Sep 06, 2017

EXCE

교육 기관: Hunter S

Sep 25, 2017

YES

교육 기관: Natalie E

Feb 06, 2017

G

교육 기관: Timothy K

Mar 07, 2020

I think overall this a great course for those looking for a refresher of the foundations of the constitution and bill of rights or those looking for a comprehensive introduction. Personally, I took this course so I could reinforce things I have studied before. As for the pros, I really liked how the course went through each amendment and contextualized it through case examples. There were some cases that I had not previously heard about. For instance, the cases that prompted the exclusionary rule of the fourth amendment. Moreover, the professor did an excellent job at presenting both sides of constitutional arguments which conflict Supreme Court justices. For the most part, the professor was very straight-forward in his explanations although there were times where he seemed to go off on a tangent. In particular, Week 4's lecture on campaign finance didn't really go into detail about the issue but rather just seemed to ramble. So that brings me to my cons. I thought the professor's demeanor was a bit too contrived so I think it would have been great if maybe he had another person (perhaps a student?) who he was interacting with to make it more of a natural presentation. In addition, one of the major downsides were the supplementary tasks or lack thereof. Most of the course was passive learning in which you are just watching lecture after lecture. I would have given the course a 5-star rating had there been sequential discussions with content-related prompts. I have seen these in other courses and I find them a great way to reinforce concepts and see how other people perceived the content. While there were quizzes, I didn't find the quizzes useful in retaining key concepts. They were overly specific more about facts than concept comprehension. It would have been better if questions were posed as hypothetical situations and the quiz-taker had to decide which amendments or clauses this relates to. I think this might be a better way to gauge whether students comprehended the concepts rather than the specific content. Overall, however, it was a course that was both a comprehensive and concise overview of the constitution as it relates to the Supreme Court. I definitely feel like my knowledge on this has been expanded. I now see the 14th amendment as one of the most significant and contentious amendments. I thank the professor for taking his time to make this course as I think it can help both people new to US politics and people with preexisting knowledge of US politics. The last lecture on health care was particularly insightful! I didn't even think how it interstate commerce could be invoked to justify the individual mandate. Good stuff.

교육 기관: William R H

Oct 12, 2019

Good course. Even though I would have liked to see more up to date material, this course taught me some things about our Constitution that I wasn't aware of. I enjoyed answering some of the discussion questions but was extremely disappointed that I did not receive any responses when I posed a question to the professor. But again, overall, it was interesting and set up appropriately to learn. Thank you.

교육 기관: Kevin A C

Aug 15, 2016

The course is well done, and informative however I would disagree with the instructors assertion that originalists and living law philosophers have no real argument it's just a misunderstanding. It sounds like doublethink from 1984 the book by George Orwell. To argue that we are changing the application of something without changing its meaning! Other than not he's pretty good.

교육 기관: Melanie R

May 01, 2017

It was really easy to listen and read each course. But I felt that some information was inaccurate. In order to get a passing on a test ,I had to pick the answer I know you wanted me to. But that answer was incorrect. My boyfriend said it was propaganda. ...but I rated it 4 stars ,because of ease of information.

교육 기관: Miura R

Jul 11, 2018

The videos can seem kind of awkward, so I followed along with the transcript at the bottom. Overall, very helpful! I used this course to prepare for a Constitutional Law class that I begin this fall!

교육 기관: Nichole S

Jul 04, 2016

Could have more analytical and interactive elements. I'm not a fan of quiz based assessment. Otherwise, the information is presented well.