Chevron Left
Core Database Concepts(으)로 돌아가기

Core Database Concepts, 애리조나주립대학교

4.0
(83개의 평가)

About this Course

This course introduces the world of database systems. It provides the foundation that will enable learners to master skills in data modeling and information, as well as extract information using existing database management systems. The following main topics are covered: database design/modeling, data storage and indexing, query processing/optimization, transaction management, database security, and data analytics....

최상위 리뷰

대학: AB

Aug 23, 2018

Great course to learn DB concepts. Lectures are well organized and assignments built up difficulty smoothly. At the end of course, student feels familiar with DB/ tables creation and queries.

대학: MS

Apr 05, 2019

The 2 main assignments are very challenging, you will learn a lot. You cannot complete this course without learning basic postgres. Big like, great application

필터링 기준:

26개의 리뷰

대학: David Bodow

May 05, 2019

I was really let down by this first class. The full course sequence is very relevant to my job and planned direction for career growth, so I was quite happy to see the topics on the syllabus.

However, the execution of the course was unfortunately quite poor in several dimensions. The course design was quite sloppy and the assignments were poorly scaffolded. Several lectures seemed to be poorly planned, with the lecturer skipping parts of his slides, not labelling hand drawn graphs, and using non-specific language in several examples that therefore failed to elucidate his points. One of the Week 4 lecture videos is listed as 15 minutes long but was cut off at 4 minutes - this problem was reported something like 6 months ago in the discussion section, but ASU has failed to re-upload the full video - I guess all of the students just get 1/3 of that particular lecture for the indefinite future!

The assignments were not clearly written, and the first assignment had a typo in it that materially changes the answer (note that I took the course fairly long after its release). The automated grading algorithm provides absolutely minimal feedback (only if a question was right or wrong) - my expectation for a good automated grader is that it tests several assertions about each response and gives verbose feedback to the student that help in debugging improper responses. Even if ASU intends for the assignment scoring to be on the opaque side for cheating prevention purposes (perhaps the most charitable view of why the grader is designed this way), the course offers no ungraded exercises for students to learn from with more substantial feedback.

The assignments also were incredibly easy for nearly all of questions, followed by a single question that was orders of magnitude harder. A properly designed problem set instead ought to avoid such difficulty spikes and gradually increase difficulty from question to question.

More subjectively, I felt the first 2 weeks of content was too basic and did not touch topics that would be more useful at this level. What are good patterns for SQL query optimization? What are some common database parameters that can be tuned to achieve desired performance in different contexts? These topics would be very relevant for the databases sequence but are not broached.

I did enjoy the final 2 weeks of content more and the course introduced more ideas in those classes that I was not already familiar with. However, the application of those concepts was limited to simple multiple choice quizzes without any programming assignments. For example, the course describes transaction interleaving and recovery algorithms - it would have been interesting to code such algorithms for a mock database.

All in all, because this is a paid MOOC, I have expectations that the university will provide quality materials and some semblance of ongoing investment in the course's learners. These expectations were not met. I can half-heartedly recommend the course to anyone who needs an absolute beginner (not intermediate) introduction to SQL, but think that more interactive, free resources (e.g. SQLZoo) are already available to meet that need.

대학: Matt Potts

Apr 25, 2019

This course is very difficult to follow. It is clear that the instructor knows the material, but he has a hard time explaining the concepts and details in the videos. When he gets stuck trying to describe something (which is often) he quickly just moves on leaving learners still uninformed. The assignments also seem to assume a solid understanding of SQL and databases which is frustrating because this course is supposed to be core database concepts. For example, they want you to create an SQL script, but that process is never explained well. If you don't already have a good bit of experience with SQL, databases, coding, and other topics of this nature, I do not recommend this course.

대학: Hamzah Abduljalil Sultan Salman Al-Qadasi

Apr 20, 2019

Really, it is very useful course with professional professor. Thank you so much Coursera. Thank you so much Dr.Mohammed. I appreciate all what you did. I will be happy if you recommend some books for students in DBMS.

대학: Mark Daniel Skip Sorenson

Apr 05, 2019

The 2 main assignments are very challenging, you will learn a lot. You cannot complete this course without learning basic postgres. Big like, great application

대학: Aditya Pal

Mar 31, 2019

Great course with good hands-on exercises. Just a little in-depth knowledge should have been provided.

대학: Borys Komarov

Mar 21, 2019

The quizzes could be more difficult, and more programming assignments would be appreciated.

대학: Niall

Mar 19, 2019

Nice introduction to core concepts.

Assignment 2 was a bit frustrating, it built on the result of assignment 2 but the "name" field of the movies table changed to "title" and unless you re-created all tables in your local test environment using the "optional" solution.sql 50% of the test cases fail without any explanation.

대학: Isabella Christina Capilla Navarro

Feb 07, 2019

No assistance and poor explained assignments resulting in tons of time lost looking for tutorials and videos somewhere else, can only make me never recommend it to anyone. Everything I've learned and applied was from somewhere else anyway...

대학: Syed Fahad Hassan

Jan 25, 2019

Really amazing learning experience!!

대학: Stanislav Lozenko

Jan 06, 2019

The assignments are just poor. You can create SQL queries with different SQL JOIN structures which can lead to different order results with the order that is expected to be hardcoded. The grade output says that you fail test case without any kind of explanation which make the whole situation to be a complete disaster.