Chevron Left
Creative Writing: The Craft of Character(으)로 돌아가기

웨슬리언 대학교의 Creative Writing: The Craft of Character 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.5
별점
1,329개의 평가
381개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

At the center of a good story are the characters in it. In this course aspiring writers will discover how to build and bring to life complex, vivid and unforgettable characters. We will study the choices a writer makes to bring all characters to life on the page, and we will perform written exercises in order to develop a variety of writing and pre-writing techniques, in order to create a variety of characters. We will learn how to use our own life experiences, and the people we know (and how not to!). We will develop inner (thoughts and feelings) and outer (appearance, habits, behavior) lives for our characters and see how that can lead us to richer and more interesting stories. We will breathe life into our characters and let them surprise us....

최상위 리뷰

SS

Aug 11, 2016

I loved this course! Extremely useful and hands on. The course instructor was really impressive, both informative and empathetic, both arty and to the point. Totally admired her style of instruction.

ND

Aug 08, 2016

Excellent teaching, be aware the meat of this course is in the interviews. If you read and watch them then the assignments are self-explanatory. The discussion boards were however a disappointment.

필터링 기준:

Creative Writing: The Craft of Character의 376개 리뷰 중 301~325

교육 기관: Margot R M

Jun 09, 2016

Liked this course. It helps to make sure character is central to the plot

교육 기관: Ma. C D

Oct 14, 2018

Somtimes the assignment instructions were hard to understand.

교육 기관: Shreyashi K

May 10, 2020

It was an amazing course, helped me hon my writing skills.

교육 기관: Madhu S

Jul 24, 2018

Liked the course. Assignments were not very clear to me.

교육 기관: Norrarat S

Sep 21, 2017

great course ! help me a lot on my fantasy novel writing

교육 기관: Elsa W P

May 31, 2017

I enjoyed the exploration, and the writing exercises.

교육 기관: Naina S

Oct 30, 2018

Great and helpful.

10/10 would recommend

교육 기관: Paulo S

Jan 08, 2018

nice lectures and lesson activities

교육 기관: Adonay O G

May 04, 2020

Very demanding, I'm worn out.

교육 기관: Ritupriya G

Apr 20, 2016

Very insightful .Thanks

교육 기관: Victor F A

Oct 04, 2016

Excellent course!

교육 기관: Tim J

May 26, 2017

Excellent class!

교육 기관: Andrea E M

May 30, 2019

Very helpful :)

교육 기관: judy t

Aug 02, 2019

I would have given this course 5 stars except for the grading. The only reviewers of your work are fellow students. Some of them do a good job telling you what they liked about the writing and some do not just answering "yes or no" to questions asked. It would be nice if a TA or other students actually in the writing courses at Wesleyan read your work. I have learned a lot and I have liked the assignments but that is where the value has stopped. I know there are too many students for the faculty to grade or even read our work but it would be much more valuable if we really knew how we are doing. The discussion board is sporadically attended and really of no value. Feedback is important in writing and this is the part of these courses that is missing.

교육 기관: Catherine B

Aug 10, 2016

The lectures in this class are well done and informative, and they provide a lot of good material. However, the assignment portion needs a lot of work. The instructions weren't clear for anyone taking the class which resulted in incredibly difficult grading. It was hard to even understand the basic ideas of what was required for an assignment.

I think the teacher very much needs to go back and change the wording of the assignments, add more information in the instructions, and also post an example to show what is expected since a lot of the assignments are very strange, like a describing a character without mentioning the character in any way.

교육 기관: Deepak S R

Jul 23, 2020

This would be challenging one for you, since it is mainly on development of characters, dialogues for your fiction. The tutor is good and has deep sense on characterization, though I did feel some difficulty in getting the concrete idea or point encompassed in the lecture plan. Coming to assignments, as a learner, we have to give our strong reviews for our peers, but here most people wanted to get just grades for extra-certificate, it would be completely fine, if all participate seriously as well as attentive. I am going to apply what I extract from it, and yeah, anyway, it helped me. Thanks :0) coursera.

교육 기관: sanika s

May 10, 2019

A very interesting course, provided great insights into the in-depth process of creating character. The assignments were challenging and the peer feedback was very beneficial. I just wish the course focused more on the technicalities involved in character creation. Many of the points raised in each module felt repetitive. More energy and engagement from the main instructor would also have been helpful. Overall a perfectly satisfactory course that really got me writing. Thank you to the instructor and all the guest writers for their time and effort.

교육 기관: Kristin L

Mar 06, 2017

The course information was great and the assignments were very helpful. What lost points for the course was not the content provided by Wesleyan, which was good, but the poor effort on the part of many of the fellow students to really work on constructive critiques. For each assignment I had at least one of the three peer reviews that was useless to me to improve my writing, sometimes more. There should be a way to rate critiques so that students can't move on if they don't do the work of critiquing well.

교육 기관: Gunn Y

Jun 28, 2020

This course was overall 'nice'. Except for the peer review assignment. The instructors excelled in the teaching industry, but there were many other 'peers' that did not support or participate in any of the assignments. There were numerous amounts of plagiarizers, and some people even copied off my assignment. I mean, how not-smart is a person to copy off a person, and let the writer grade his own work? There were also unbelievable reviewers. The 'peers' wrote "NO" on each of the

교육 기관: Chaz G

Jan 25, 2017

As much as I enjoyed completing this course, as I've enjoyed every course in this program, this one feels less organised than the others simply in that the learning material doesn't clearly connect with the writing material and it was difficult to predict what the review criteria might be. I found myself guessing at the meaning of each week's modules before completing my assignments and more often than not I discovered little correlation between the videos and assignments.

교육 기관: Michael H

Aug 16, 2016

Compared to other courses in the creative writing specialization, I felt that this one needs some improvement. The video lectures just didn't have enough meat to them. For example, in other courses in the specialization, there will be links to optional readings or videos, leading to a deeper understanding of the concepts. Some readings, for example, would be welcome to give example of great (or even not so great) characterization.

교육 기관: Elizabeth E

Mar 13, 2017

I did come away with some good books/stories for reading, but would have like them to be included in the course the way it is in the Setting and Description module. I found the videos did not always lead up to the assignment, and I think the assignments could have been more clearly laid out. I still came away learning, but it did not feel very structured. To be fair, character is a sort of amorphous subject to begin with.

교육 기관: Amy M

Apr 28, 2020

While I did gain some expertise from the course I thought the lessons were brief and lacked enough examples. Also, much of the peer feedback I received was unhelpful. Fifty percent of my feedback was, "Good" or "Yes". Without instructor feedback, peer feedback becomes very important. Good/yes were not the answers requested by the feedback questions. Feedback was meant to be a few sentences.

교육 기관: Subash G

Mar 03, 2017

If the week 4 was not there, i would have a 2 or even a 1 for this class.

Until week 4, there was very little connection between what we were watching and what we were asked to write assignments. And the assignments were also confusing and overly restrictive. There didnt seem to be any sense in why we were asked to write those.

교육 기관: Margaret E H

Jul 10, 2020

Some of the assignments are a little odd. They need a revisal by the instructor based on student feedback. I suspect the teacher made this course and moved on to other things without checking back on it's success or failure. The teacher is a really great writer, but her teaching and communication style is pretty abstract.