Chevron Left
Creative Writing: The Craft of Character(으)로 돌아가기

웨슬리언 대학교의 Creative Writing: The Craft of Character 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.5
별점
1,284개의 평가
370개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

At the center of a good story are the characters in it. In this course aspiring writers will discover how to build and bring to life complex, vivid and unforgettable characters. We will study the choices a writer makes to bring all characters to life on the page, and we will perform written exercises in order to develop a variety of writing and pre-writing techniques, in order to create a variety of characters. We will learn how to use our own life experiences, and the people we know (and how not to!). We will develop inner (thoughts and feelings) and outer (appearance, habits, behavior) lives for our characters and see how that can lead us to richer and more interesting stories. We will breathe life into our characters and let them surprise us....

최상위 리뷰

SS

Aug 11, 2016

I loved this course! Extremely useful and hands on. The course instructor was really impressive, both informative and empathetic, both arty and to the point. Totally admired her style of instruction.

ND

Aug 08, 2016

Excellent teaching, be aware the meat of this course is in the interviews. If you read and watch them then the assignments are self-explanatory. The discussion boards were however a disappointment.

필터링 기준:

Creative Writing: The Craft of Character의 365개 리뷰 중 326~350

교육 기관: Riccardo C

Mar 31, 2020

I found the lectures were not providing enough details and practical informations on how to build a credible character. There should be more references to famous novels.

교육 기관: Dominique S

May 14, 2019

The information provided is great, but there's so many "shop talks" aka interviews with other Coursera instructors that it misses out on so many possible true lessons.

교육 기관: Wihann S

May 27, 2020

Some of the assignments are really confusing, with non to little actionable steps to take. This course can be way more streamlined. Enjoyed it nonetheless

교육 기관: Sara A

Mar 18, 2018

The assignments are hard to understand and not well explained. They are also completely irrelevant to the lessons of the week.

교육 기관: Davide P

Sep 26, 2019

Has been a great course but I would have loved more readings and a little bit more formal rules to sketch our own characters.

교육 기관: Laura B

Dec 08, 2018

Good information in the videos. The assignments were difficult and didn't seem related to the material from the lectures.

교육 기관: stanislava o

Sep 23, 2018

I liked a lot of what was said. I wish I had some more concrete advice for building character - if such a thing exists.

교육 기관: Deleted A

Nov 16, 2017

Great material but students grading other student's work becomes a problem if they can prohibit another from passing.

교육 기관: Valarie K

May 12, 2016

Good course, but assignment instructions were difficult to understand at times and no examples were given.

교육 기관: Sanelisiwe E M

Nov 01, 2016

This course is beneficial to all those who struggle with character plot. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

교육 기관: Stephanie L E

May 18, 2017

In the second course, the talks were not as useful for the assignments, particularly in week 2.

교육 기관: Hector M C L

Mar 06, 2018

It is good but I think the lectures are a little disjointed from each other and the exercises.

교육 기관: Digby D

Dec 03, 2017

Adequate intro course. Could gather roughly the same info with a bit of browsing the internet.

교육 기관: Paulene A

May 29, 2017

This course could use some work, but nevertheless I learned a bit more than I already knew.

교육 기관: ABHIRAJ S D

Jul 21, 2018

the assignments were poorly worded which is the opposite of the purpose of assignment

교육 기관: Jorge T

Aug 08, 2016

The excercises on the course are great, but the videos can be a little vague.

교육 기관: maham m

Jun 12, 2020

The course was great but the quality of the student/peer review was abysmal.

교육 기관: Nick T

May 26, 2020

I liked the content, but found the exercises were too complex for a learner.

교육 기관: Jill B

Sep 10, 2016

Excellent lectures. Assignments were a little too "exercisey" for me.

교육 기관: Jeff

Jan 14, 2019

Content is great, but the app is very buggy and difficult to use.

교육 기관: Houda A I

Aug 24, 2018

There parts that were rather confusing in Week 2 (assignment)

교육 기관: Vishal B

Jun 11, 2020

Instructor is not very good

교육 기관: Camille B

Mar 28, 2019

Helpful, but not very much.

교육 기관: Bea K

May 22, 2020

I am taking the specialization course and compared to the other courses, which are detailed and layed out topic by topic with clear examples and assigments referring back to previous lessons, this course seemed very scattered and abstract. The subject topics were often diverted to something else mid-way through the explanation. It made it very difficult to know if I understood the topics. It almost seemed as if the instructor rushed her videos because sge had something better to do and relies on "shop talk" so much to explain creating a character rather than explaning it concisely herself. Since the assigments are peer reviewed, no one can really tell you if you're wrong because we are all learning for the same videos with the same scattered information. I found some of the assigments frustrating because of the lack of explanation throughout the course.

교육 기관: Emily F

Jun 21, 2016

I didn't find this course particularly helpful or useful. I'm not sure why, there was a disconnect somewhere, I think maybe that I didn't receive the help that I feel I still need on the subject of how to create a great, memorable, believable character. Also, some of the assignments were confusing. Nothing really stands out about this course, and it was actually a bit boring and I don't feel I learned anything related to the subject. Everything about this class needs some work: the videos, the instruction/syllabus/content, and the assignments. Sorry, I didn't like it. =(