Chevron Left
Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot(으)로 돌아가기

웨슬리언 대학교의 Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
4,318개의 평가

강좌 소개

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to perhaps the most elemental and often the most challenging element of story: plot. We will learn what keeps it moving, how it manipulates our feelings, expectations, and desires. We will examine the choices storytellers make to snag our imaginations, drag them into a fictional world, and keep them there. We will learn how to outline and structure a plot, discuss narrative arc, pacing and reversals and reveal the inevitable surprise: connecting the beginning, middle and end....

최상위 리뷰

DA

2016년 11월 30일

Great course to take as the first step in the sequence of the "Creative Writing" certification. Exercises are fun, professor provides useful methodology, load is manageable for someone with a day job.

SD

2020년 7월 13일

It seems easy at the start; give it a week or two and you will be very surprised -- with yourself and your reaction to the feedback.

The instructions are easy to follow, the insights are priceless.

필터링 기준:

Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot의 1,459개 리뷰 중 1426~1450

교육 기관: Justin S

2020년 9월 9일

the grading system could improve star selection process such as grammar; clarity; congruency; originality; captivation may broaden the critque of the story

교육 기관: katherine l

2018년 4월 2일

Materials were engaging. Some assignment direction was a little vague. Some professional interaction or review would help to supplement the peer review.

교육 기관: Youssef A

2020년 6월 10일

What's most beneficial about this course are the assignments rather than the videos. I do wish though we got some feedback from the instructor himself.

교육 기관: S. J W

2016년 2월 27일

Someone needs to review/proofread the final part and assignment. Many students were/are confused about the final assignment. Revise the video too.

교육 기관: Paul C

2018년 10월 28일

Too many interviews without delving into the core of the subject. There were some good tips but left feeling disappointed.

교육 기관: Jesica M E D B

2016년 8월 22일

The course is nice and informative. Unfortunately one can not do any of the pear rated assignments or pear reviews.

교육 기관: Fatema R

2021년 12월 25일

Very basic overview of plot, great for giving amateur writers a push in developing their stories.

교육 기관: Nima Y Z

2020년 11월 8일

The course was very practical and I learned very useful content and tips.

교육 기관: Mariana C

2020년 3월 28일

Good morning. How can I unenroll? It is not what I expected. Thank you.

교육 기관: priya v

2016년 12월 21일

it would have been great if the final assignment had been grade

교육 기관: ahmed i

2017년 1월 17일

it seems good and hopefully will be valuable in my context

교육 기관: Digant K

2016년 3월 27일

So overly simple with a lack of details in the steps.

교육 기관: Michael K H

2021년 5월 26일

Very very good assignments. Peer grading was poor.

교육 기관: Zamzam A

2020년 3월 19일

I feel we need professional assignment reviews.

교육 기관: Mohammed A

2016년 8월 18일

Nice, informative, but basic and short.

교육 기관: David K

2021년 8월 12일

I didn't get any feedback

교육 기관: Juliana C

2021년 2월 17일

The course is interesting, but the videos are not enough. The instructor is charismatic and friendly. I received very poor feedback from peers ('yes/no/good' answers without any useful information). I did get some useful feedback. And on the last assignment, the program algorithm doesn't match a reviewer which could force you to pay another month, just to get the last review and the certificate. The course is worth the $50, but the review/feedback system is terrible. I will not proceed with the remaining 4 courses (which would mean spending an additional $200). This is very sad, as I was excited about taking writing classes online. Maybe they can limit the number of participants and add a few TAs/mentors to give more valuable feedback.

교육 기관: Joe F

2022년 1월 27일

While the content of the course itself is potentially helpful, I found the feedback from peers abysmal. I invested in thoughtfully reviewing the work of others and got back blather as feedback; nothing actionable. And peer feedback is the main reason I would pay for a subscription! I could get comparable or better content from a book, blog, or free online videos.

After viewing comments on the "Community," where concerns go unanswered by Coursera staff, I realized poor feedback is something of a norm now. It's too bad. This platform had potential.

I'm going to cancel before the 7-day trial ends. Simply not worth my time or money.

교육 기관: Nikole H

2022년 6월 3일

I felt like the instructional videos offered a pretty general introduction to the concepts, and didn't feel sufficiently prepared to complete the different assignments. The "What's Up, Doc?" assignment felt like it was the one with the clearest instructions and structure, so expectations were clear. For the others, it was very challenging to understand what we were supposed to write. I think it would be helpful to provide more examples (like in the "What's Up, Doc?" assignment) to provide clearer instructions for students.

교육 기관: Neha J

2021년 7월 28일

I​t was a well paced course. Though for people who are reviewing the stories, i find that i wasnt very helpful when it come to evaluating the story and i felt those who rated my stories were not very critcal. they probably didnt know how to be. I feel for a course like this there should be an instructor evaluating the assignments. otherwise this course isnt very useful!

교육 기관: Veronica K

2021년 7월 19일

The videos are useful, but the peer-graded system of assignments is not. I don't think that the feedback from people with the same (or worse) writing skills is in any way helpful. I've had to review very poorly written pieces, and I don't think that being reviewed by their authors in return can enhance my writing skills.

교육 기관: Sofía G M

2020년 8월 6일

I feel like, even though it is a course about PLOT, they should give you suggestions and advice when it comes to developing other parts of your story (characters, for example). Also, I think there should be multiple SHORTER activities for us to practice more instead of just one HUGE assignment at the end of each lesson

교육 기관: Jennifer G

2020년 8월 16일

The pre-recorded lessons were good, but the assignments were unhelpful, as the peer critique process is highly flawed. Students need opportunities for professional critiques and face-to-face encounters with a cohort or associate professor...someone with some credentials or skin in the game.

교육 기관: Paulo S

2016년 3월 29일

I hope the instructions were cleary and not too vague that it was open to many interpretation. An example would have helped and the rubrics/criteria for grading should have been shown beforehand so students would be guided what points they would consider when making their piece.