Chevron Left
Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot(으)로 돌아가기

웨슬리언 대학교의 Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
4,318개의 평가

강좌 소개

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to perhaps the most elemental and often the most challenging element of story: plot. We will learn what keeps it moving, how it manipulates our feelings, expectations, and desires. We will examine the choices storytellers make to snag our imaginations, drag them into a fictional world, and keep them there. We will learn how to outline and structure a plot, discuss narrative arc, pacing and reversals and reveal the inevitable surprise: connecting the beginning, middle and end....

최상위 리뷰

LB

2018년 11월 15일

Great information about plot and scene structure. The information about revision was entirely new to me - thank you! The exercises were good and difficult in a good way that helped me hone my writing.

DA

2016년 11월 30일

Great course to take as the first step in the sequence of the "Creative Writing" certification. Exercises are fun, professor provides useful methodology, load is manageable for someone with a day job.

필터링 기준:

Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot의 1,459개 리뷰 중 126~150

교육 기관: Kushal S

2016년 6월 8일

I was not sure about this course at first, but I am so glad that I enrolled. Brando gives specific tips and ideas about how to write a story. He has made me realize that creative writing is not just about lofty ideas; writing can be improved and polished through approaching a story logically and methodically.

One of the best designed courses I have ever taken on Coursera. Thank you Brando!

교육 기관: Kathleen K

2022년 4월 17일

I​ learned a lot about writing from this class. I took notes so that I can use what I learned in the future. I took the class to guage what my ability to sit down an actually write and this class confirmed my interest and that I will continue writing. I enjoyed the assignments and am going to take the next class in the specialization. Thank you Brando for the great video classes.

교육 기관: Lori B C

2017년 1월 19일

This course was excellent. Brando is an incredible teacher, passionate, engaging and knowledgable. I learned a tremendous amount about plotting it out from this class - in fact, one of the benefits I got is that some level of intimidation I had about building a plot was alleviated. The lectures, materials and exercises were all so useful and absolutely thought provoking. Thanks!

교육 기관: Angela B

2020년 10월 9일

Really useful. At first, I thought it wasn't necessary to take a course because that would make you write like someone else and somehow lose your style. Far from it; at least this course doesn't try to change your style, but just offers guidelines you can really benefit from. I noticed a real improvement in my writing only by following the recommendations while keeping my essence.

교육 기관: Bhimrao G

2020년 6월 18일

I had great learning experience in this Creative Writing course. Acquired specific skills on story writing with emphasis on plot, scene, and the steps in creating an impressive story. Learnt the importance of Freytag's Pyramid and ABDCE model in creative writing. Assignment submission and peer feedback helped me improve my story writing competence. Excellent faculty. Great course.

교육 기관: Ricardo P

2019년 6월 17일

Well presented lectures by Brando Skyhorse and useful assignments with prompts to make you exercise the writing concepts laid out throughout the course. This is the first time that I have done a Coursera course and I am pleasantly surprised with the results. Thank you Brando, and thank you Coursera for allowing me to improve my creating writing skills from the comfort of my home.

교육 기관: Ville H

2021년 3월 17일

Very precise and instructive. Even if some parts of it may feel too simplistic and/or American (not every country has the same standards for storytelling and writing), the way the theory and the assignments are integrated are highly useful. Besides: it's good to start with the basics! I loved the challenges of writing under tight constraints, and evaluating other people's work.

교육 기관: Kalin Z S

2020년 6월 10일

Very useful course. Initially, I thought that lecture-wise it was very brief but actually it is very nicely condensed to the essentials that you need to write engaging stories and content. I have written 4 stories as part of each week assignments and have noticed an improvement in my writing and the feedback from other learners was quite good and constructive for the most part.

교육 기관: Joe M

2018년 12월 8일

Very well put together course. Gave me great insight on plot but especially editing and revision. I was pretty directionless when it came to revising my own work and the last week of this course was a excellent eye-opener. I have a way better idea how and what I should be changing instead of just re-writing everything a bunch of times. Looking forward to the next course!

교육 기관: Elliana H

2021년 5월 2일

This course helped me so, SO, much! I am able to finish short stories that would have taken me years to complete. I highly recommend taking this course if your struggling trying to finish a story and having all the necessary components organized and distinguished. The assignments are intensive but are really, really helpful in helping you focus on the goal that's set.

교육 기관: A M o S د ص

2020년 6월 7일

I really enjoyed every moment of this course. What I have learned during this four weeks is extremely valuable and I hope that it will be benefecial for me in the near future. I would like to thank Mr Brando for his efforts, Wesleyan University who gave me this priceless experience, and all the other students with whom I exchanged reviews and opinions. THANK YOU ALL !

교육 기관: Nicolas S D

2020년 5월 28일

Realmente un curso muy interesante y dinámico. El tutor desarrolla muy bien los temas y el contenido es realmente provechoso. Las tareas son acorde al desarrollo de las lecciones y van generando un acumulado que permite reconocer el avance del estudiante en su escritura. Es un curso muy bien estructurado y el tutor está a la altura del mismo. Muy agradecido, saludos.

교육 기관: Muhammad Z

2020년 5월 14일

It was an amazing course. I was almost zero in creative writing when I started this course, and, now, I got the last assignment reviewed by my colleagues, and they were surprised and loved it.

Sir Brando Skyhorse made things look so easy.

Another surprising fact, I joined this course by mistake, but, now, I am thinking of taking the next courses in this specialization.

교육 기관: Mikey T

2021년 2월 18일

I've taken numerous Creative Writing courses over the years- in Community College, in a university. I can honestly say that Wesleyan University's Creative Writing Specialization benefitted me more than any other. Brando Skyhorse is a rock-solid novelist, prolific editor, and a great teacher of all the most important parts of Plot. This course is highly recommended.

교육 기관: Akanshya A

2020년 9월 8일

The Course taught me things that I feel like I wouldn't have to know if not for the course. It taught me the right way of doing things that I love. It helped me understand the concept of the plot in a story better and how I can make mine interesting. I recommend it to everyone who is confused about how to start. This course is all the guidance you need. Thank You.

교육 기관: Federico B S

2018년 5월 30일

I liked this course a lot. It helped me get a better sense of the formal structure of narrative and what each part of a story is supposed to achieve. The exercises are great. The constraints the instructor set for them make them useful tools for grasping the concepts he explained during each module. Make sure you stick to the instructions and just try to have fun.

교육 기관: Karsen

2019년 10월 29일

Lots of practical advice to consider for beginning writers. I did not value the editing parts as much as the other parts, especially since this is the first course in the specialization, but the analysis of plot construction was useful. I liked how Brando used Harry Potter as an example of structure because I know that series well (and probably most people do).

교육 기관: Beth

2016년 6월 20일

I audited this course so I was locked out of submitting assignments; however, I would recommend this course to any creative writing beginner (like myself). The course was well organized and concise and the concepts were clear. It was easy to apply the concept to the assignments and I was surprised at what I was able to write as a result of auditing this course.

교육 기관: David F

2018년 9월 8일

Very informative and helpful introduction to scene construction. I now enjoy watching TV and reading stories which involve the ABDCE structure and I ask myself questions based on the 21-point revision process. It adds a whole new dimension for enjoying stories which makes this course worthwhile even if you have no intention of ever writing anything yourself.

교육 기관: Rain v S

2020년 8월 29일

This course was really well put together! I'm a content editing intern at a small indie publisher, so I wasn't sure how much I'd really learn- turns out a lot! Taking this course has already improved my editing and my ability to communicate with authors, as well as giving me more opportunities to flex my reviewing skills for my peers. Wonderful, thank you!

교육 기관: Rachel N

2020년 9월 7일

This course taught me the basics of crafting, and I learned that my story needs more revision than I wanted to admit before. The instructor is awesome, and I look forward to hearing more from him. His lessons were structured and based on his journey to be an author, which improved the positive vibe of the whole course, making it easier and more enjoyable.

교육 기관: Mihaela G

2020년 5월 7일

As a beginner to creative writing, the structure and the interviews the Professor used in this course helped me a lot with understanding. I could see myself improving my writing from one assignment to another. Also I became very aware of the writing structure when I am reading books written by well-known authors, which is a great way to learn further.

교육 기관: lawrence w

2022년 8월 11일

Just by taking this one course I realize that I didnt know to construct a story properly. I found the assignments challenging and exciting and enjoyable. I enjoyed hearing the discussion from the authors in the course and I even enjoyed reading the other learners stories it was like sampling new cuisine I would not have had the opportunity to try.

교육 기관: Farzeen R

2021년 2월 4일

Loved this course! Prof Skyhorse explains everything so vividly. Learned many things regarding plot. Structure of story, what a scene should have in a story etc. I would want my peers to leave more detailed reviews on the assignments though. Writing 'well written' only does not help the writer. Try giving an advice or praise their work in someway.

교육 기관: Rayyan F

2021년 5월 19일

The videos are short and to the point. I especially appreciate the "example" videos. The assignments were challenging and enjoyable. I did not face any problems with reviews, so I don't know what happens to the schedule if you fail an assignment, so I have no feedback regarding the whole online experience. Thank you for the opportunity to learn.