Chevron Left
Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description(으)로 돌아가기

웨슬리언 대학교의 Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
1,250개의 평가
403개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to the techniques that masters of fiction use to ground a story in a concrete world. From the most realist settings to the most fantastical, writers will learn how to describe the physical world in sharp, sensory detail. We will also learn how to build credibility through research, and to use creative meditation exercises to deepen our own understanding of our story worlds, so that our readers can see all that we imagine....

최상위 리뷰

EG

2020년 7월 1일

Great course, it taught me things that I would have never learned otherwise, in this course you must take your time, don't rush, because if you do you will miss the most important points of the curse.

AM

2021년 1월 19일

This was such a wonderful course. I got to learn a lot about strange lands, imaginative description etc. Generally how to set my world and describe it in a convincing manner. I totally recommend it.

필터링 기준:

Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description의 402개 리뷰 중 326~350

교육 기관: AMIR R A

2019년 3월 28일

very helpful

교육 기관: Carlos L H

2019년 11월 6일

EXCEPTIONEL

교육 기관: Trần P N C

2021년 5월 22일

I love it!

교육 기관: Marlene W

2020년 10월 25일

Fantastic!

교육 기관: Iris R

2016년 6월 28일

Thank you.

교육 기관: SAJAL B

2020년 11월 21일

very good

교육 기관: Ana C O G

2018년 5월 30일

Loved it!

교육 기관: Rachel M

2017년 8월 7일

excellent

교육 기관: Patricia R

2017년 5월 16일

Very good

교육 기관: Deleted A

2021년 5월 22일

good

교육 기관: Larry S

2021년 6월 28일

A+

교육 기관: Joseph F

2021년 8월 2일

Overall, this course was very informative. It challenges you to write outside of your comfort zone. The assignment criteria force you to revise your writing in order to meet the criteria. Like any online course, this is designed for the individual to learn from the supplemental materials suggested by the instructors. With over 40,000 people taking the courses, there is no way that you can expect any one-on-one feedback, so it's up to the individual! One major criticism is that since this is a 'peer' review process, there is no criteria for your 'peers' to provide meaningful feedback! The major criteria for reviewing others' work is that you be considerate! Unfortunately, if you are a serious writer-to-be, this doesn't cut it! If you are paying for these courses, you need to take into consideration the pound of salt you're going to need! You take these courses to learn on your own and not be spoon-fed to become a writer; your own research capabilities will be well honed if you want to get true value from them.

교육 기관: Janie A

2020년 8월 1일

I am really enjoying the Creative Writing course, having completed 4 sections, which has helped me tremendously in developing my awareness and writing technique and skills. Now, when I'm reading a book or watching a movie/series, I find myself analyzing the character development, plot structure, etc.

My only criticism of this course is the lack of adherence to instructions by peers when reviewing the work of others. Too often, they simply reply to the review questions with one-word answers. This should somehow be monitored by the course administrators, and they should not receive credit for completing the 3 mandatory reviews in order to proceed with the course, since we as learners rely on constructive feedback.

교육 기관: Drea H

2020년 10월 21일

I really liked the contents and assignments of the course. It helped me improve my writing. Nevertheless, I think the way peer review is applied in this course needs to be reconsidered. Some people don't seem to take this very seriously or would need more examples of what helpful critiquing is supposed to look like. Unfortunately, this means one doesn't learn much from peer's feedback as quite a few people write just “good” instead of giving real feedback. It's not okay to be able to get a certificate if people don't really do the work that is necessary getting it. Also, it's quite a bummer if you have invested time to write a detailed feedback for someone and get “good” back.

교육 기관: Sophie S

2018년 8월 6일

I didn't love the videos in this course very much – they just weren't very helpful. They had some interesting thoughts, but for the most part they felt repetitive and for someone who hasn't written much creative writing.

However, I really liked the assignments and peer editing. This course challenged me to think about descriptions I wouldn't have otherwise, and made me think more about how the heart of a story is really in the description and setting. I got a lot more out of challenging myself with the assignments and getting surprising feedback than watching the videos.

교육 기관: Casey

2016년 3월 17일

I joined late, much too late to participate in many of the assignments with my busy schedule, but I took notes and read all the required reading. From this course I will take into my writing new, helpful skills. My favorite lesson was setting and description where I learned that the environment should not be described frivolously, but through the emotions and opinions of the character(s) who observe them. Thank you very much for your lessons, Amity Gaige, I'm now not as terrible as I was when I first started.

교육 기관: Adam M

2020년 7월 3일

This was a great course and Amity did a lot to make it as engaging as possible. It stands above most of the other courses in this specialisation due to the fact that there's actually required reading. For some reason 2 of the other courses didn't have this requirement, which seems little absurd to me. It would have been a 5 star review if not for the pitiful peer review system, which plagues every course in this specialisation.

교육 기관: Sasha M

2016년 8월 2일

The course was inspiring and made me focus on the small details in the environments I create. I think that the professor leans too hard on the quotes and the work of other authors as a core part of the curriculum. It would have been useful to have a breakdown in charts or a checklist to help push our descriptions along. Having said that, the professor seems to care a great deal for her students and that came through clearly.

교육 기관: Cornelia “

2019년 4월 10일

I liked this course and I learned much. The reason I gave 4 stars is that often it is not clearly explained what exactly was requested in an assignment. I saw that its not only me but many other students had a problem to find out the exact assignment. This problem has obviously existed for the last 3 years and was never corrected. I encourage the students to find their answers - at least partly - in the discussion forums.

교육 기관: Harsha v r G V S

2016년 12월 2일

Ms. Gaige very thoughtfully made it really practical rather than theoretical by bringing in examples of various writings from the past writers, adding in some videos as well for the learners to see it exactly for what something is, while making the points about what should you put into your writing and what you shouldn't. Would have liked a short goodbye video from her at the end though!!

교육 기관: Melissa C

2016년 3월 12일

Excellent course that both informs and inspires. There is a good deal of content as well as advice. The student writer is encouraged to explore and be unafraid. The only draw back is that the online classroom does not allow the auditing students to post and get feedback on their assignments and it must be done externally to fully get the benefit of our fellow students.

교육 기관: Sherma W C

2017년 4월 12일

The course, The Craft of Setting and Description, allows students to delve into the skills needed for polished creative writing. Amity Gaige was a great instructor who provided exercises and lectures that stretched my imagination. I really enjoyed this course.

교육 기관: Piyush M

2020년 7월 10일

The exercised were the most fun and challenging part of the course and I learnt a lot but the feedback was a constant issue throughout. A few students do not really review but rush through it. Please get that fixed, the exercises deserve a good response.

교육 기관: Nyema J

2018년 8월 10일

Until now I was hasty, wanting to tell the story - Now I want to show the story through character and setting. I realise the reader is disinterested unless they can walk in the shoes of my characters seeing the landscape as I see it.

교육 기관: Michael H

2016년 8월 16일

I thought this course was very well done. The video lectures were very interesting, and the links to additional readings and videos was very welcome. Definitely one of the strongest segments of the creative writing specializations.