Chevron Left
Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description(으)로 돌아가기

웨슬리언 대학교의 Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
1,018개의 평가
305개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to the techniques that masters of fiction use to ground a story in a concrete world. From the most realist settings to the most fantastical, writers will learn how to describe the physical world in sharp, sensory detail. We will also learn how to build credibility through research, and to use creative meditation exercises to deepen our own understanding of our story worlds, so that our readers can see all that we imagine....

최상위 리뷰

EG

Jul 02, 2020

Great course, it taught me things that I would have never learned otherwise, in this course you must take your time, don't rush, because if you do you will miss the most important points of the curse.

DP

Jul 18, 2018

This course gave a real depth to the importance of describing your character's environment, as a way of deepening and exciting them. excellent work on imagining your characters in the environment

필터링 기준:

Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description의 298개 리뷰 중 276~298

교육 기관: Karen R

Mar 03, 2018

At times the assignment title or the assignment itself didn't seem to fit the lesson for the week but the lessons were intriguing and got me thinking and writing!

교육 기관: Sandra D

Feb 17, 2019

Good course overall. Assignments are challenging. I think more study material could be added in the course to make it more interesting.

교육 기관: ANGEL Y S V

Aug 27, 2020

Me ayudó mucho a mejorar mis descripciones. Siempre he tenido problemas con eso, así que estoy muy contento con el resultado.

교육 기관: Dawn S

Jun 02, 2016

This is great course for challenging your perceptions of things and encouraging you to try out different perspectives.

교육 기관: Sharon

Apr 03, 2016

I enjoyed learning about how to create a vitamin rich unit of fiction and the importance of specific words.

교육 기관: Abrar A A

Mar 23, 2018

love the professor n her approach to writing... some of the best n practical exercises I did in writing

교육 기관: Ian B

Jul 04, 2017

Great course for getting into the nitty gritty of how your story should feel. Enjoyed it thoroughly.

교육 기관: Lubaba A

Mar 16, 2017

it's amazing course that gave you a new point of view for writing and a very good training

교육 기관: Brigitte P

Nov 14, 2018

The Course is very good. I would like more assignments and tutor's grades

교육 기관: Rima A

Mar 24, 2018

this course is really great. it helps you to think out of the box

교육 기관: Naina S

Jan 24, 2019

Helped marginally, visible change in my writing. I'm very happy.

교육 기관: Paulo S

Jan 08, 2018

It helped me a lot. Has good lesson content

교육 기관: Eternally P

Apr 27, 2020

Awesome course, awesome professors

교육 기관: Perni

Nov 01, 2016

Great knowledge. Time consuming.

교육 기관: Lisa D

Apr 30, 2018

This class was fun and helpful.

교육 기관: Ritupriya G

Apr 20, 2016

Very good course, thanks!

교육 기관: Gunn Y

Jun 17, 2020

One word: Plagiarism. This course was rather inspiring and taught me numerous amounts of skills for my future career. But, the problem was the peer-graded assignments. There were some people who did this course for the certificate and used a skill not taught in this course called: plagiarism. For example, BEHARA SAI SWESHIKA copied off my own assignment, and also plagiarised the instructor's "INSTRUCTIONS'. It was disgusting reading a plagiarised writing piece. Even more, grading my own writing piece that was said that it was written by BEHARA SAI SWESHIKA.

교육 기관: Amanda Y H

Feb 12, 2018

This course was interesting, but I did not find it particularly helpful or insightful. I felt that everything taught about setting and description was very elementary (I say this as a K-3 teacher who has regularly taught the concepts of setting and description) and not that useful for someone looking to take their writing to a more professional level.

교육 기관: Digant K

Apr 12, 2016

If you've not read a single book on writing, this class might be good. Otherwise, don't expect to get much about the ~30 minutes of lecture.

교육 기관: Kaitlyn B

Aug 31, 2019

I didn't actually learn anything. This felt like a waste of time, with largely boring assignments.

교육 기관: Jessica W

Jul 20, 2020

Highway robbery. The Course material is good and the assignments are good exercises but $66 dollars for the quality of feedback you get is robbery. This is the second course I have taken in the specialization. I initially felt the first course was good but since then I have learnt a lot more about what else is out there. On two separate occasions the peer feedback appeared to be written by someone who was new to English. They were confused about the most basic aspects of my assignments while other reviewers were not. On two other occasions the person providing the feedback simply provided one word three times because this is enough to fool the computer system into believing you have provided feedback and allow you to move on in the course. For $66 you can get much much much better value in lots of other places.

교육 기관: Aleena A

Aug 12, 2020

Although Amity Gaige was awesome at teaching and inspiring me to write (she's my reason for the one star), I may as well have watched similar videos on YouTube for free.

The peer-review feedback for this entire specialisation so far has been a waste, and after completing 3 out of 5 of these courses, I have gotten only 1 constructive review - the rest have been one word answers or short lines (one even put full stops for feedback!) from people who seem to just want to get a grade.

For aspiring writers, especially if you're hard up for cash, your money may be better spent elsewhere if you are truly interested in developing your skills. If you're simply looking for a certificate, this course is for you.

교육 기관: jessica

Aug 09, 2016

The peer reviewed assignments are next to useless, as there is no oversight on them. I think there needs to be a basic comprehension assessment done first, before allowing fellow learners the ability to pass/fail students in the course.