Chevron Left
Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description(으)로 돌아가기

웨슬리언 대학교의 Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
1,070개의 평가
326개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to the techniques that masters of fiction use to ground a story in a concrete world. From the most realist settings to the most fantastical, writers will learn how to describe the physical world in sharp, sensory detail. We will also learn how to build credibility through research, and to use creative meditation exercises to deepen our own understanding of our story worlds, so that our readers can see all that we imagine....

최상위 리뷰

EG
2020년 7월 1일

Great course, it taught me things that I would have never learned otherwise, in this course you must take your time, don't rush, because if you do you will miss the most important points of the curse.

DP
2018년 7월 17일

This course gave a real depth to the importance of describing your character's environment, as a way of deepening and exciting them. excellent work on imagining your characters in the environment

필터링 기준:

Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description의 321개 리뷰 중 301~321

교육 기관: Abrar A A

2018년 3월 23일

love the professor n her approach to writing... some of the best n practical exercises I did in writing

교육 기관: Ian B

2017년 7월 4일

Great course for getting into the nitty gritty of how your story should feel. Enjoyed it thoroughly.

교육 기관: Lubaba A

2017년 3월 16일

it's amazing course that gave you a new point of view for writing and a very good training

교육 기관: Bridgit

2018년 11월 14일

The Course is very good. I would like more assignments and tutor's grades

교육 기관: Rima A

2018년 3월 24일

this course is really great. it helps you to think out of the box

교육 기관: Sumit S

2019년 1월 24일

Helped marginally, visible change in my writing. I'm very happy.

교육 기관: Thangella S

2020년 11월 8일

The course was good and Amity Ma'am is a good teacher

교육 기관: Paulo S

2018년 1월 8일

It helped me a lot. Has good lesson content

교육 기관: Eternally P

2020년 4월 27일

Awesome course, awesome professors

교육 기관: Perni

2016년 11월 1일

Great knowledge. Time consuming.

교육 기관: Lisa D

2018년 4월 30일

This class was fun and helpful.

교육 기관: Ritupriya G

2016년 4월 20일

Very good course, thanks!

교육 기관: Diana G

2020년 11월 23일

very useful and fun

교육 기관: Gunn Y

2020년 6월 17일

One word: Plagiarism. This course was rather inspiring and taught me numerous amounts of skills for my future career. But, the problem was the peer-graded assignments. There were some people who did this course for the certificate and used a skill not taught in this course called: plagiarism. For example, BEHARA SAI SWESHIKA copied off my own assignment, and also plagiarised the instructor's "INSTRUCTIONS'. It was disgusting reading a plagiarised writing piece. Even more, grading my own writing piece that was said that it was written by BEHARA SAI SWESHIKA.

교육 기관: Shay S

2020년 11월 4일

Honestly I know many of us are frustrated with the poor reviews. Week to week I get at least one good reviewer that actually understands the assignment and provide great feedback, so I’m happy for that.

You have to just focus on working on your craft and not be so consumed with the feedback because due to coursera not managing the feedback it will always be lacking in that area.

Coursera should group writers week to week so that we can communicate back and forth. That would help with the managing of poor reviews.

교육 기관: Amanda Y H

2018년 2월 12일

This course was interesting, but I did not find it particularly helpful or insightful. I felt that everything taught about setting and description was very elementary (I say this as a K-3 teacher who has regularly taught the concepts of setting and description) and not that useful for someone looking to take their writing to a more professional level.

교육 기관: Digant K

2016년 4월 11일

If you've not read a single book on writing, this class might be good. Otherwise, don't expect to get much about the ~30 minutes of lecture.

교육 기관: Kaitlyn B

2019년 8월 31일

I didn't actually learn anything. This felt like a waste of time, with largely boring assignments.

교육 기관: Jessica W

2020년 7월 20일

Highway robbery. The Course material is good and the assignments are good exercises but $66 dollars for the quality of feedback you get is robbery. This is the second course I have taken in the specialization. I initially felt the first course was good but since then I have learnt a lot more about what else is out there. On two separate occasions the peer feedback appeared to be written by someone who was new to English. They were confused about the most basic aspects of my assignments while other reviewers were not. On two other occasions the person providing the feedback simply provided one word three times because this is enough to fool the computer system into believing you have provided feedback and allow you to move on in the course. For $66 you can get much much much better value in lots of other places.

교육 기관: Aleena A

2020년 8월 12일

Although Amity Gaige was awesome at teaching and inspiring me to write (she's my reason for the one star), I may as well have watched similar videos on YouTube for free.

The peer-review feedback for this entire specialisation so far has been a waste, and after completing 3 out of 5 of these courses, I have gotten only 1 constructive review - the rest have been one word answers or short lines (one even put full stops for feedback!) from people who seem to just want to get a grade.

For aspiring writers, especially if you're hard up for cash, your money may be better spent elsewhere if you are truly interested in developing your skills. If you're simply looking for a certificate, this course is for you.

교육 기관: jessica

2016년 8월 9일

The peer reviewed assignments are next to useless, as there is no oversight on them. I think there needs to be a basic comprehension assessment done first, before allowing fellow learners the ability to pass/fail students in the course.