Chevron Left
Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description(으)로 돌아가기

웨슬리언 대학교의 Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
1,252개의 평가
403개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to the techniques that masters of fiction use to ground a story in a concrete world. From the most realist settings to the most fantastical, writers will learn how to describe the physical world in sharp, sensory detail. We will also learn how to build credibility through research, and to use creative meditation exercises to deepen our own understanding of our story worlds, so that our readers can see all that we imagine....

최상위 리뷰

EG

2020년 7월 1일

Great course, it taught me things that I would have never learned otherwise, in this course you must take your time, don't rush, because if you do you will miss the most important points of the curse.

AM

2021년 1월 19일

This was such a wonderful course. I got to learn a lot about strange lands, imaginative description etc. Generally how to set my world and describe it in a convincing manner. I totally recommend it.

필터링 기준:

Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description의 402개 리뷰 중 376~400

교육 기관: Rima A

2018년 3월 24일

this course is really great. it helps you to think out of the box

교육 기관: Sumit S

2019년 1월 24일

Helped marginally, visible change in my writing. I'm very happy.

교육 기관: Spehner

2021년 6월 8일

c​omments on essays were not developped, great content anyway

교육 기관: Thangella S

2020년 11월 9일

The course was good and Amity Ma'am is a good teacher

교육 기관: Paulo S

2018년 1월 8일

It helped me a lot. Has good lesson content

교육 기관: Eternally P

2020년 4월 27일

Awesome course, awesome professors

교육 기관: Perni

2016년 11월 1일

Great knowledge. Time consuming.

교육 기관: Lisa D

2018년 4월 30일

This class was fun and helpful.

교육 기관: Ritupriya G

2016년 4월 20일

Very good course, thanks!

교육 기관: Wendy C

2021년 5월 20일

Too many guest authors.

교육 기관: Diana G

2020년 11월 23일

very useful and fun

교육 기관: Editha S

2022년 1월 23일

I greatly enjoy the lectures, readings and doing assignments however the feedback system is appalling. It seems that a very large number of "students" are NOT doing the assignments or the reviews. They type a single letter or number and click the submit button. They use the same system for reviews and then they all approve each other's non-submissions. I'm a retired university professor and have always spent time and effort in teaching and guiding students. This feedback system is, with rare exceptions not working, It is a good way for the course to gain popularity and money but you might as well auction your certificates to the highest bidders and devise another method of giving feedback to your serious students. By my estimate only about one third of those taking the course are actually doing the very interesting and well planned assignments.

교육 기관: Joseph S

2022년 6월 10일

The course itself is good. The writing assignments are fun and you are given the opportunity to really express yourself though detail and description. However, the peer grading system is ridiculous. I would estimate that 80% of the feedback I received on my writing assignments from my "peers" consisted of the following comments: "Yes" or "-" or "lkwffkw" The majority of the reviewers provided no critique or feedback of any kind on my writing. How is a learner supposed to improve their craft if the reviewers are too lazy to provide meaningful feedback? This is true of every module of this specialization and I believe it's a major flaw. If you are looking to improve your writing skills, don't count on any help or guidance with these courses.

교육 기관: Gunn Y

2020년 6월 17일

One word: Plagiarism. This course was rather inspiring and taught me numerous amounts of skills for my future career. But, the problem was the peer-graded assignments. There were some people who did this course for the certificate and used a skill not taught in this course called: plagiarism. For example, BEHARA SAI SWESHIKA copied off my own assignment, and also plagiarised the instructor's "INSTRUCTIONS'. It was disgusting reading a plagiarised writing piece. Even more, grading my own writing piece that was said that it was written by BEHARA SAI SWESHIKA.

교육 기관: Anne M

2021년 1월 26일

I got a lot out of the videos and exercises but other course features are not useful... no one participates in discussions and there are no teachers present. Don’t expect to get proper peer reviews. Most students do perfunctory reviews of a word or two just to pass through the automated system. Also, this is NOT an instructor led course... it’s just videos and exercises. It looks like there are supposed to be monitors but I didn’t see any evidence of participation from them. With that said, if you are a self-directed learner you’ll learn.

교육 기관: Shay S

2020년 11월 4일

Honestly I know many of us are frustrated with the poor reviews. Week to week I get at least one good reviewer that actually understands the assignment and provide great feedback, so I’m happy for that.

You have to just focus on working on your craft and not be so consumed with the feedback because due to coursera not managing the feedback it will always be lacking in that area.

Coursera should group writers week to week so that we can communicate back and forth. That would help with the managing of poor reviews.

교육 기관: Amanda Y H

2018년 2월 12일

This course was interesting, but I did not find it particularly helpful or insightful. I felt that everything taught about setting and description was very elementary (I say this as a K-3 teacher who has regularly taught the concepts of setting and description) and not that useful for someone looking to take their writing to a more professional level.

교육 기관: Donna M B

2021년 11월 15일

I​ appreciate the effectiveness of the videos in the teaching of this class. I was especially challenged by the assignment to write 350 words about an elapsed time of 10 seconds. It was my greatest learning in this segment of the series.

H​owever, there is a serious lack of worthiness in the peer reviews.

교육 기관: Syam M

2021년 2월 24일

I would have appreciated direct instructions instead of referring to some books and some time off. You don't get the full benefit of having an instructor when it is taught that way which would work at post-graduate level courses. This being an introductory course I would prefer more hands on instruction.

교육 기관: Pamala B

2021년 5월 22일

Loved the course! However, the peer reviews are a farce. Most of the reviews I received were not reviews at all but someone going through the criteria and entering 'yes' or '1' in each grading criteria just to satisfy the requirement. No actual reviewing being done at all. Very disappointing.

교육 기관: Digant K

2016년 4월 11일

If you've not read a single book on writing, this class might be good. Otherwise, don't expect to get much about the ~30 minutes of lecture.

교육 기관: Kaitlyn B

2019년 8월 31일

I didn't actually learn anything. This felt like a waste of time, with largely boring assignments.

교육 기관: Lisa C

2020년 12월 10일

Disclosure: I opted out of the course after the first week. This would be a great class for someone who's not familiar with creative writing or hasn't done this type of writing regularly. As someone who's been writing for a long time I didn't find it particularly helpful. One of the reading assignments, The Odour of Chrysanthemums, was no longer available to read. Also I'm not a fan of peer reviewed grading which seems to be inherent in many of the courses on Coursera.

교육 기관: Jessica W

2020년 7월 20일

Highway robbery. The Course material is good and the assignments are good exercises but $66 dollars for the quality of feedback you get is robbery. This is the second course I have taken in the specialization. I initially felt the first course was good but since then I have learnt a lot more about what else is out there. On two separate occasions the peer feedback appeared to be written by someone who was new to English. They were confused about the most basic aspects of my assignments while other reviewers were not. On two other occasions the person providing the feedback simply provided one word three times because this is enough to fool the computer system into believing you have provided feedback and allow you to move on in the course. For $66 you can get much much much better value in lots of other places.

교육 기관: Aleena A

2020년 8월 12일

Although Amity Gaige was awesome at teaching and inspiring me to write (she's my reason for the one star), I may as well have watched similar videos on YouTube for free.

The peer-review feedback for this entire specialisation so far has been a waste, and after completing 3 out of 5 of these courses, I have gotten only 1 constructive review - the rest have been one word answers or short lines (one even put full stops for feedback!) from people who seem to just want to get a grade.

For aspiring writers, especially if you're hard up for cash, your money may be better spent elsewhere if you are truly interested in developing your skills. If you're simply looking for a certificate, this course is for you.