Chevron Left
Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose(으)로 돌아가기

프린스턴 대학교의 Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
263개의 평가
75개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The basis for education in the last millennium was “reading, writing, and arithmetic;” now it is reading, writing, and computing. Learning to program is an essential part of the education of every student, not just in the sciences and engineering, but in the arts, social sciences, and humanities, as well. Beyond direct applications, it is the first step in understanding the nature of computer science’s undeniable impact on the modern world. This course covers the first half of our book Computer Science: An Interdisciplinary Approach (the second half is covered in our Coursera course Computer Science: Algorithms, Theory, and Machines). Our intent is to teach programming to those who need or want to learn it, in a scientific context. We begin by introducing basic programming elements such as variables, conditionals, loops, arrays, and I/O. Next, we turn to functions, introducing key concepts such as recursion, modular programming, and code reuse. Then, we present a modern introduction to object-oriented programming. We use the Java programming language and teach basic skills for computational problem solving that are applicable in many modern computing environments. Proficiency in Java is a goal, but we focus on fundamental concepts in programming, not Java per se. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

최상위 리뷰

VS

May 14, 2019

Beautiful course. I am a software developer with 10+ years of experience in programming and have never realized depth of actual MATH behind all that I do. Thank you Robert Sedgewick, you are the BEST.

BB

Mar 13, 2019

Excellent course, inface the best I found on any MOOC platform for a complete beginner to Java. Loved it. Would appreciate more coding assignments though. Only week 1 & 2 have those.

필터링 기준:

Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose의 75개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Gilad B

Jul 03, 2019

Good course on the whole. Quizzes and assignments often assume knowledge that has not yet been introduced or made clear. Checkers for assignments often require more than is officially stated (such as no "magic numbers", which are not mentioned anywhere in the course materials or assignment directions, and API's that are not specified for given questions). As such, I needed an iterative process of uploading an assignment, seeing why it failed, reverse engineering what the requirements are, and then fixing and uploading again.

교육 기관: Vasile D

Feb 19, 2020

Course states "Beginner Level".

Video tutorials are indeed for beginners.

Assignments have nothing in common with the word "beginner".

You must do an assignment that is 1000 times harder than what you learned from the video tutorials and the other lecture supplements.

More than that you have limitations to doing the assignments (you can't use array in this one... conditionals and loops in that one... etc)

The video tutorial teaches you a basic fundamental that a tyre is round and that you put it on your car.

But for you to pass the assignments you must build a runflat tyre that goes 1000 km/h for an infinite ammount of time and do that without using your arms or legs...

교육 기관: Andrew S

Mar 04, 2020

First lecture was ok , but from 2nd lecture forward you encounter only algorithmic assignments. I do understand that algorithms are part of programming but not when the video tutorials just teach you basic language fundamentals. I see this course useful for people that have been programming for a few years not someone that is learning to program.

교육 기관: Adriana N

Apr 06, 2020

Not beginner friendly

교육 기관: Julie C

Sep 15, 2019

I was a total and utter programming newbie (a smidge of self-taught Python, and that's it). I cannot BELIEVE what I can do now in Java. This course takes a LOT OF PATIENCE and tons, I mean TONS of perseverance. Google and Stack Overflow will be your new best friends as you try to piece together what to do at times. But it's amazing what you learn if you stick with it. Interesting topics, and good lectures, helpful readings, and the programs you write are really challenging and cool. I can't wait to take the second one!

교육 기관: Glen F

Aug 16, 2019

Excellent course, Thank you Drs Sedgwick and Wayne.

That said, this is not a beginners course: the assignments are not easy, but they teach you a great deal; there is very little 'hand-holding' and you can expect to spend a good bit of time on Wikipedia in order to understand what you are trying to do before you get to writing any code. That is when you learn what the word 'Purpose' means in the title - many subject area are covered in the practice code assignments i.e. real world examples. Also, it is easy to get to a (frustrating) place where your programs work on everything but the auto-grader(A-G), and A-G feedback is sparse. Be sure to look at the exercises in the online book as there are many program examples/solutions that teach you a lot of programming techniques often useful in completing the practice programming assignments.

교육 기관: Vinod S

May 14, 2019

Beautiful course. I am a software developer with 10+ years of experience in programming and have never realized depth of actual MATH behind all that I do. Thank you Robert Sedgewick, you are the BEST.

교육 기관: Bhavik B

Mar 13, 2019

Excellent course, inface the best I found on any MOOC platform for a complete beginner to Java. Loved it. Would appreciate more coding assignments though. Only week 1 & 2 have those.

교육 기관: Lompar M

Sep 22, 2019

I liked this course very much. Good materials and perfect lecturers. Good structured and well explained material and interesting exercises ranging from very beginner to challenging.

교육 기관: 许楷

Mar 06, 2019

适合学习,适合初学入门

교육 기관: Kirill I N

Apr 12, 2020

I've taken this course with intention to be able to do graded exercises on further Algorithms I and Algorithms II. I have experience with Python, but thought that this would be great additional enrichment.

Little did I know that this course would give me more than I bargained for, even some insight into algorithm complexity. Graded exercises, while not exactly too hard, did provide me with some challenge and made me want to solve them, and experience with Java will definitely prove me useful in the future even beyond the scope of these courses. Ah, did I also mention that ALL THIS COMES FOR FREE? On the platform where you often can't even do quizzes without buying the entire course?

To sum up, definitely looking forward to all the next courses in the series. This must be one of the best courses I've ever had on this platform.

교육 기관: Saleh H

Jun 05, 2019

Great course with emphasizing on computational thinking.

교육 기관: William G

May 07, 2020

This course is incredibly rewarding, intellectually as well as practically. Teaching algorithms and explaining how they relate to the pharmacy industry or to physics is very enriching.

If you aim to get 100 pct. in all programming exercises you should expect to go way past the eight hours recommended for most assignments. At least this was true in my case. At one stretch I used an entire week to get through the assignments. Having a master's from a competitive economics programme in mathematical finance I can easily say that this course was up there with respect to a proper challenge. I am happy to have problems which, like these, are not trivial nor immediately solvable.

The autograding of the assignments is unbelievably well made. I learnt a lot from type checking to style checking, and although I don't yet feel fluent in Java, at least I now have a much deeper appreciation for compiled languages. I would recommend this to any first timer in Java like myself.

I bought the book for this course. That was not necessary for anything but curiousity.

교육 기관: Xiangxin J

May 21, 2020

I am a high school senior preparing major in CS in college, I have watched a lot of java instructions, including Duke-solve problem with programs, which I also highly recommend. Although this course called itself a "course for beginners", it is not easy at all and I don't think beginners can finish those graded programmings!!! (Even though I've learned a lot in java, I still encounter problems in this course.) However, if you want to take challenging courses, this one is perfect, not only because of the lecture but also those "challenging" but interesting coding tests.

교육 기관: Andrii K

Jul 01, 2020

Information of the course is enough to get very basic knowledge about Java programming language. Good starting point for further studying. May be not very simple for absolute beginners (but not impossible).

교육 기관: Sayed K

Jun 07, 2019

I appreciate your work and your services. Your classes are very valuable for whom new in the world of IT is. Thank you very much dear professor!

교육 기관: Hussain

Feb 28, 2019

A very simple down to earth explanation on how to program from a very reputable university

교육 기관: Aditya h

May 17, 2019

Great refresher for JAva.

교육 기관: Binliu Z

Jan 28, 2020

1.Easily for Java beginner like me.

2. Much of math problems, try to develop mathematical models, using the computer to address math problems is funny.

3. Creative exercises are just like interview questions, also need more assignments or projects.

4. The very helpful FAQ of assignment from that I've learned many more things.

5. The auto-grader of assignment is very useful, including check style and test. Using reversing engineering to meet the demand and get grade 100 became one of my goals.

교육 기관: Preston N

Jun 04, 2019

Good over all, but the quizzes can be a little annoying.

교육 기관: Shuyuan D

Jun 14, 2019

Good recap course for an experienced programmer

교육 기관: Xiaoyu Z

Nov 02, 2019

This course is much more than fantastic! Professor Robert is one of the best teachers. I am so lucky to have a chance to learn those great materials.

For me, the meaning of completing this course is way beyond the course itself. I am a CS graduate more than 15 years ago, and I've done some computer engineering work for a while. Then I took a different path other than software engineer, because at some point my interest is on other things. What I did after software engineering are financial analysis, business analysis and data analysis. Nowadays, I am doing data analytics as my daily work. But as time passed by, I found programming is way fun than I thought before, and that's my real passion. So I decided to come back to software engineering field. But it's difficult, very very difficult, for companies accepting me as software engineer again. I don't know whether taking those CS courses and refreshing my knowledge will lead to the place where I want to be. But again, that's my interest and real passion. I just love programming.

I really really want to thank Professor Robert for his fantastic courses (his other courses are also great), which built up my confidence and gave me challenges and fun!

교육 기관: Nick P

Sep 22, 2019

This course was incredibly helpful. I've taught myself Python over the years for data analysis purposes, but I never had a solid understanding of computer science principles like you learn in this course. Learning Java along the way was a nice bonus, and it was helpful to compare and understand differences across different languages. The projects were of an appropriate difficulty, and I would strongly recommend completing them so that you can practice what you learn.

교육 기관: Nathanael Y

Jan 20, 2020

This is the 2nd course of Professor Sedgwick and Wayne that I enrolled, as expected it's well designed and organized. The programming assignments are the most valuable part from my perspective. Some of them, especially week6 to week8, can be somewhat challenging and difficult, maybe tough for beginners, but they cover quite a lot of topics that is really important. I would highly recommend this course to those who want some challenging and meaningful exercises.

교육 기관: LuxiLiu

Apr 19, 2020

I think the course has a great balance between introducing concept/history and practical matters. The only difficulty I encountered is that it is sometimes assumed that the students have certain knowledge (I personally spent a lot more time on w6 Recursion than other weeks because I found some concepts/knowledge unfamiliar). Overall it's a great learning experience that gives learners exposure to a variety of aspects of programming.