Chevron Left
Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose(으)로 돌아가기

프린스턴 대학교의 Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
260개의 평가
74개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The basis for education in the last millennium was “reading, writing, and arithmetic;” now it is reading, writing, and computing. Learning to program is an essential part of the education of every student, not just in the sciences and engineering, but in the arts, social sciences, and humanities, as well. Beyond direct applications, it is the first step in understanding the nature of computer science’s undeniable impact on the modern world. This course covers the first half of our book Computer Science: An Interdisciplinary Approach (the second half is covered in our Coursera course Computer Science: Algorithms, Theory, and Machines). Our intent is to teach programming to those who need or want to learn it, in a scientific context. We begin by introducing basic programming elements such as variables, conditionals, loops, arrays, and I/O. Next, we turn to functions, introducing key concepts such as recursion, modular programming, and code reuse. Then, we present a modern introduction to object-oriented programming. We use the Java programming language and teach basic skills for computational problem solving that are applicable in many modern computing environments. Proficiency in Java is a goal, but we focus on fundamental concepts in programming, not Java per se. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

최상위 리뷰

VS

May 14, 2019

Beautiful course. I am a software developer with 10+ years of experience in programming and have never realized depth of actual MATH behind all that I do. Thank you Robert Sedgewick, you are the BEST.

BB

Mar 13, 2019

Excellent course, inface the best I found on any MOOC platform for a complete beginner to Java. Loved it. Would appreciate more coding assignments though. Only week 1 & 2 have those.

필터링 기준:

Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose의 74개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Zamir D

Apr 26, 2020

Lectures are a master-piece. Anyone who wood like to see a perfection in presentation of complex phenomena with such a modesty, clarity, simplicity but in the same time reflecting with deepness, this is THE course. The richness of argumentation with expressions can serve as a communication worldwide programming guideline.

Stay healthy dear professor.

교육 기관: sergio p

Jun 13, 2020

Excellent course! I was almost new to Java and programming (learnt some Basic more than thirty years ago). The course is very well organized, all modules are interesting. Material is great and the exercises very challenging with references to multiple disciplines. Rewarding experience. Will go for part two.

교육 기관: Yajian W

May 09, 2020

This is a great course, it's challenging for beginners like myself but it shows what's possible just with the codes we learned so it's encouraging at the same time. It is indeed programming with a purpose like the course's name. I'm glad I took this course!

교육 기관: Aleksei V

May 06, 2020

The course itself is great - it is easy to comprehend and the amount of useful information is immense. Some typos are present in the materials, namely on slides. Overall, I can recommend the course to anyone interested in serious programming learning.

교육 기관: Zhang Y

May 10, 2020

I am new to Java, and am glad to have chosen this course as my java introduction course. I learned a lot and I really enjoyed doing all the assignments! Now I think I can read and write simple Java code, and have a brief understanding about OOP.

교육 기관: Stefan M

Jun 20, 2020

Very good introductory course to JAVA; completing this course will help with the more advanced course Algorithms I and II since it exposes the necessary JAVA language features and makes you familiar with the autograder functionality.

교육 기관: Petar M

Dec 14, 2019

This was great course with very enjoyable delivery. The reference to the Book was very helpful if you want to learn more. I liked the heavy inclusion of intersting extercies. I want to see the more in debt next levels taking place.

교육 기관: Andrii K

Jul 01, 2020

Information of the course is enough to get very basic knowledge about Java programming language. Good starting point for further studying. May be not very simple for absolute beginners (but not impossible).

교육 기관: mostafa

Jun 25, 2020

What i most liked about this course. Is how the instructors showed us what those little programs we built. Can be used to build further programs and its application in different fields in Computer Science

교육 기관: nglokting

Oct 19, 2019

The course is awesome. It really teaches me the basics of Java programming. Now I know what an object is.

The programming assignments are very interesting and really make you think. I like them very much.

교육 기관: Jessica H

May 20, 2020

It did not just teach coding, but taught efficient coding and how to think about performance issues, and separation of program parts into objects

교육 기관: 赵凌乔

Feb 05, 2020

This course is full of the fundamentals that one should learn in programming, especially how everything works in OOP. Excellent course.

교육 기관: Meysam A

Nov 02, 2019

It's a prefect starting point for those who want to learn programming or those who wants to refresh their knowledge.

교육 기관: Deleted A

Aug 06, 2019

Awesome course. Very challenging even for experienced programmer. Prof. Sedgewick and Kevin Wayne do a great job.

교육 기관: Jack H

May 20, 2020

Great intro level course, I really enjoyed it. I look forward to the Instructors' other courses on algorithms.

교육 기관: Arshad

May 13, 2020

It is always a privilege to learn from someone who is the best in his field. Thanks for the lectures.

교육 기관: Tassianna T

Dec 30, 2019

This course is excellent; It provides a robust framework to build on programming practices.

교육 기관: Petter S

Jan 29, 2020

High tempo, definitely some difficult content, but overall I've learned a great deal

교육 기관: Edison A R M C

Dec 24, 2019

Excelente curso, muy concreto y excelente para iniciar en java y en computer Science

교육 기관: Yi S

Sep 06, 2019

fun homework assignments that keep me motivated to write efficient code

교육 기관: Philippe G

Jan 16, 2020

Very effective course with automated and immediate students graduation

교육 기관: Anand N

Feb 27, 2020

Best course to learn about fundamentals of computer science

교육 기관: Khayrat G

Dec 25, 2019

Great Lectures and carefully prepared exercises. Thank you!

교육 기관: Song W

Aug 05, 2019

Thank you very much, gratitude to teachers and coursera.