Chevron Left
Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose(으)로 돌아가기

프린스턴 대학교의 Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
698개의 평가
219개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The basis for education in the last millennium was “reading, writing, and arithmetic;” now it is reading, writing, and computing. Learning to program is an essential part of the education of every student, not just in the sciences and engineering, but in the arts, social sciences, and humanities, as well. Beyond direct applications, it is the first step in understanding the nature of computer science’s undeniable impact on the modern world. This course covers the first half of our book Computer Science: An Interdisciplinary Approach (the second half is covered in our Coursera course Computer Science: Algorithms, Theory, and Machines). Our intent is to teach programming to those who need or want to learn it, in a scientific context. We begin by introducing basic programming elements such as variables, conditionals, loops, arrays, and I/O. Next, we turn to functions, introducing key concepts such as recursion, modular programming, and code reuse. Then, we present a modern introduction to object-oriented programming. We use the Java programming language and teach basic skills for computational problem solving that are applicable in many modern computing environments. Proficiency in Java is a goal, but we focus on fundamental concepts in programming, not Java per se. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

최상위 리뷰

VS

2019년 5월 13일

Beautiful course. I am a software developer with 10+ years of experience in programming and have never realized depth of actual MATH behind all that I do. Thank you Robert Sedgewick, you are the BEST.

NK

2021년 6월 15일

Can't wait to get into the second part of the course. The best programming course ever provided for free of cost. The techniques used are backed by mathematical thinking. It is just awesome.

필터링 기준:

Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose의 224개 리뷰 중 201~224

교육 기관: Oluwatosin A

2020년 7월 23일

This course was detailed and helpful. I don't know if this matters a lot, but it bothers me that this course teaches students to use its own libraries. I think the students may not be able to use the actual Java standard libraries well.

Also, I find many assignments hard to understand, most likely because the instruction is not clear enough.

But overall, this course was very nice and interesting.

교육 기관: Santiago M

2020년 10월 11일

I got what I needed and way more... This course is really heavy on maths and it does not stay with just "learn java"... I admit that I got frustrated at some point since Im not good at math and struggle a lot!.. but with the help of peers I was able to get the end goal and I would recommend this class to anyone that want to understand how programming works.

교육 기관: Ashvith S

2022년 3월 11일

I like that this course covers the important aspects in detail, and divides the chapters into smaller subsections. I would go far as to argue that these questions are Ivy-League tier problems, and requires a lot of research and patience, which aren't appreciated by beginner students. Maybe it would be better to tone down the difficulty.

교육 기관: 20-047 F F R

2022년 6월 15일

the material is delivered by great and experienced speakers, the material presented is clear and easy to understand, the quiz given is also not immediately difficult, but gradually from easy to difficult, the reading given is also clear and the core material can be understood, unfortunately there is no translation for Indonesian

교육 기관: IrhamHamedAyani

2022년 6월 25일

Although this course called itself a "course for beginners", it is not easy at all and I don't think beginners can finish those graded programming! This one is perfect, not only because of the lecture but also those "challenging" but interesting coding testsㅤㅤㅤ

교육 기관: Mutembo K

2022년 2월 17일

I liked that I was able to pace myself in the course. I did have a lot of challenges with the assignment content. They at times felt too advanced for me coming in with little programming knowledge. I did however enjoy learning this course.

교육 기관: Shreyan M

2020년 8월 16일

This course was great for learning Java, but I believe it could have been better if it had covered the actual "computer science" aspect (like the anatomy of a computer, history of computing, etc.)

교육 기관: József K

2022년 6월 15일

E​xcellent course. Little hard for beginners, especially the software testing enviroment is very strict. But it is very straightforward course.

교육 기관: HATEM A R A A K

2022년 6월 14일

Course is good but need to be more interactive and the content sometimes doesn't help in completing exams or assignments.

교육 기관: Aman V

2022년 3월 30일

I​ have completed the course it is very help ful but i have not received the certificate.

교육 기관: psychic h

2020년 3월 22일

its a good basic course.

its only for those who had'nt learnt a programming language yet

교육 기관: Atalay K

2020년 6월 27일

Lectures are very good, exercises could be better

교육 기관: George S

2020년 9월 17일

ok

교육 기관: GT K A

2021년 6월 19일

T​his review is really honest and based on my opinion and my personality trait.

T​his course is not suited for someone, like me, who hates math and did not do well with math.

S​ure, the programing is a true basic I understand the most and find with how it runs, but the reading material and assignment mostly have to do something with mathematic, which really hindered my interest, focus, and always made me feel burned out. Because at the time I am writing this review I am currently in week 3, I still can not do all the exercises in the reading material. It is hard for me. My knowledge of math is just a middle school, to be honest. It stops me from being productive and studying all the questions. And finally, I feel depressed. So, I decided to unenroll in this course.

A​gain, for someone who has a knowledge of math and likes it. I, sure, believe that you will be fine.

T​he only reason I find the first week easy is because it has less math than the second week.

U​unfortunately, I assume programing is out of my league. If only it involves less math, that would be lovely.

교육 기관: Ishu K

2021년 8월 10일

good

교육 기관: S. U

2021년 10월 16일

Challenging, but superficial. The lectures do a good job of giving big-picture overviews, but gloss over actual coding techniques and concepts. The weekly assignments are *miles* harder than what was discussed in the lectures. Often you will have no clue what the assignment is actually asking you to do. I completed the course by sheer determination, but I don't really know that I have learned anything that will stick, and it was a slow, painful process. I feel like adding more instruction video to really go over the concepts would help make this the best course on Coursera. As it is, this is a wasted opportunity.

교육 기관: Moataz X

2021년 7월 12일

I​ wanted to get a certificate

교육 기관: Farooq A S

2020년 12월 17일

Not for me.

교육 기관: Isabell R

2021년 9월 15일

I really did try , I had trouble downloading the java. I try going to get help . then When finally get it right ,I try to do the HelloWorld assignment The path isnt there , So I deleted start all over again . download java and did assignment again , this time it take I am finally almost at the end on the command line . I close and go eat ,when I come back I got two assignment that are not mine in my folder wth and disable at the moment with my foot . working on computer for shop , and don't really have time to start all over so frustrating . I don't know what happen , I am mad and tired . i

교육 기관: JEAN-BAPTISTE M D

2020년 11월 7일

Your course is lacking the possibility to make contact with the teacher or helper, no e-mail, no telephone number. I am stuck on the learning process, I pass the 75% required on week 1 to go to the job assignment, the problem with the software IntelliJ, no possibility of help. Please cancel my subscription

교육 기관: UTKARSH D

2022년 4월 10일

I typed program of hello world but it shows we do not have test for correctness...... If you do not have test then what I can do ? It has weightage of 90 % in assignment I have to quit just because of this

교육 기관: Claudia

2021년 5월 12일

Where can I ask some questions regarding payments?

I can't find a way to communicate with that department

교육 기관: Ileana V

2021년 12월 27일

I couldn't follow this. It didn't keep my attention long enough for me to understand it.

교육 기관: Jordan Y

2021년 12월 14일

bad lecture