학생용
Chevron Left
Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose(으)로 돌아가기

프린스턴 대학교의 Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
418개의 평가
137개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The basis for education in the last millennium was “reading, writing, and arithmetic;” now it is reading, writing, and computing. Learning to program is an essential part of the education of every student, not just in the sciences and engineering, but in the arts, social sciences, and humanities, as well. Beyond direct applications, it is the first step in understanding the nature of computer science’s undeniable impact on the modern world. This course covers the first half of our book Computer Science: An Interdisciplinary Approach (the second half is covered in our Coursera course Computer Science: Algorithms, Theory, and Machines). Our intent is to teach programming to those who need or want to learn it, in a scientific context. We begin by introducing basic programming elements such as variables, conditionals, loops, arrays, and I/O. Next, we turn to functions, introducing key concepts such as recursion, modular programming, and code reuse. Then, we present a modern introduction to object-oriented programming. We use the Java programming language and teach basic skills for computational problem solving that are applicable in many modern computing environments. Proficiency in Java is a goal, but we focus on fundamental concepts in programming, not Java per se. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

최상위 리뷰

VS
2019년 5월 13일

Beautiful course. I am a software developer with 10+ years of experience in programming and have never realized depth of actual MATH behind all that I do. Thank you Robert Sedgewick, you are the BEST.

BB
2019년 3월 12일

Excellent course, inface the best I found on any MOOC platform for a complete beginner to Java. Loved it. Would appreciate more coding assignments though. Only week 1 & 2 have those.

필터링 기준:

Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose의 138개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Petter S

2020년 1월 29일

High tempo, definitely some difficult content, but overall I've learned a great deal

교육 기관: Aditya h

2019년 5월 17일

Great refresher for JAva.

교육 기관: Richard K

2020년 8월 14일

This was a challenging course, but not for beginners. I am an experienced programmer in several languages and wanted to learn Java, which I accomplished. The course does not teach any design approach (such as flow charting or outlining), which would be best for beginners.

교육 기관: Preston N

2019년 6월 4일

Good over all, but the quizzes can be a little annoying.

교육 기관: Shuyuan D

2019년 6월 13일

Good recap course for an experienced programmer

교육 기관: Mikaela W

2020년 4월 26일

Lectures and assignments are heavily math-based, even in the very beginning, couldn't continue with course. I'm dyslexic and learning concepts using what feels like high-level math formulas and concepts doesn't work for me, couldn't comprehend a lot of assignment problem statements for the same reason. I'm sure it's great for those that don't struggle with mathematical comprehension, but it doesn't cater for those that do.

교육 기관: Tim R

2020년 9월 6일

Very poor course. Basic fundamental concepts are not explained well and you are left to learn them on your own through errors and failing assignments. The lecturer often says "Of course you already know this..." and assumes a baseline level of knowledge of other subjects that is not mentioned anywhere as a prerequisite. Many things are presented in a confusing and unhelpful way - and when repeated to an actual Software Engineer are not consistent with how Java is used in the real world.

교육 기관: Francisco J R A

2020년 8월 5일

I can't give a full review cuz I only was here for a couple of days, Maybe it is good, but it is far from basic.

Though they do start with basic concepts, they don't explain how and why , but later the ask you to use them.

교육 기관: Dominic F

2020년 6월 18일

Very bad explanations. I do not recommend at all.

교육 기관: Parth G

2020년 11월 21일

A great course that is definitely not for beginners. I found this course to be an amazing resource in giving a solid theoretical basis to my programming knowledge. It is not meant to be as practical as Harvard's CS50.

However, some prior knowledge of basic programming and/or Java would be helpful, as not all features of Java are covered in the course and useful hacks programmers employ on a daily basis such as debugging by using print statements is not covered. In short, this course does not go through how to program practically, it expects you to pick that up by wider reading or by reading StackOverflow or Googling endlessly! I only survived because I used Google continuously, read sample java programs to understand how to code including the authors' own stdlib library), and improved my Java skills on HackerRank

Weeks 6-8 were really challenging, especially the one on recursion about Hanoi's Puzzle.

Great, well-designed course, with solid foundations on real-world applications that are really inspiring and enjoyable!

교육 기관: Kristy K

2020년 11월 18일

This is an incredibly challenging course and is probably on par with first year university in terms of difficulty and independent learning and problem solving. I had no real programming and no math at all and this was insanely hard for me and I wanted to give up sometimes, but not impossible if you are a beginner it will just take a lot of work and time. The exercises and sample code provides is rich indeed and a great resource for further study and challenge. If you need something more guided and easier maybe try the Duke Java course(s) but if you can get through this, it is very rewarding.

교육 기관: Jason M

2020년 11월 5일

All materials for this course are clear and concise. Aspects of Java programming were explained clearly in the video lectures. But if things needed a bit of extra clarity or I needed to refresh my memory on something the online materials were there for review. Programming assignments were explained well and reflected the material being taught. The automated grader gives good explanation of what is wrong with your code so you can make corrections and resubmit. I am planning on taking the second half of this coarse next.

교육 기관: Ajayi O

2020년 11월 18일

For a newbie in programming, this course is highly recommended. It helped me to think in diverse ways. Having noticed java's rigidity compared to popular programming languages, i have been able to start with a disciplined approach by taking this course. I see things around me in a totally different manner during and after this course. It is also a pleasure having professor Sedgwick who smiles in his videos telling you its simple, I'm always like, professor, hope you know you got baby programmers in the class :)

교육 기관: Gustavo N

2020년 10월 17일

A very demanding course, at least for me who did not know anything about Java and OOP, the weekly exercises are key in the process of learning and the Discussion Forum is very helpful to be able to pass the exercises. I have taken other courses in Coursera but definitely this is the best one on this subject honoring the fact that is taught by Princeton, where once I dreamed to make a PhD. Thanks to the University, the instructors and Coursera, I plan to take the next one that is recommended in the last lecture.

교육 기관: Alex G

2020년 9월 10일

This is my first course on Coursera and this course is EXCELLENT. I started learning java in late 2019 and this course will make you a more sharp java programmer. If you do more then the assignments i.e. the web exercises and also using the book as ac companion with this course you will be facing challenging problems that bring joy if you managed to solve them.

Thank you Princeton University for making this course free and also for the grate Prof. Sedgwick and Wayne for building this course.

교육 기관: Nick P

2019년 9월 22일

This course was incredibly helpful. I've taught myself Python over the years for data analysis purposes, but I never had a solid understanding of computer science principles like you learn in this course. Learning Java along the way was a nice bonus, and it was helpful to compare and understand differences across different languages. The projects were of an appropriate difficulty, and I would strongly recommend completing them so that you can practice what you learn.

교육 기관: Luxi L

2020년 4월 19일

I think the course has a great balance between introducing concept/history and practical matters. The only difficulty I encountered is that it is sometimes assumed that the students have certain knowledge (I personally spent a lot more time on w6 Recursion than other weeks because I found some concepts/knowledge unfamiliar). Overall it's a great learning experience that gives learners exposure to a variety of aspects of programming.

교육 기관: Eric R

2020년 5월 19일

Well taught course, with minimal spoon feeding once it gets moving. I would like more baby steps through the initial Intellij install, as it was aggravating before I saw the value of the course. Being reminded early on that we all make mistakes (forgetting ; and the like) and that unfortunately compilers don't work because we yell at them helped me deal with the inevitable frustrations that come about during programming.

교육 기관: Practice P

2020년 10월 2일

Amazing course! It gives an opportunity to learn how to think about coding, how to approach real world problems and translate solutions into working programs in Java and other languages.

I sincerely enjoyed the course, especially video lectures and coding assignments, and plan to keep learning from professor Sedgewick and Kevin Wayne other courses on Cuorsera.

Thank you very much!

교육 기관: Zamir D

2020년 4월 26일

Lectures are a master-piece. Anyone who wood like to see a perfection in presentation of complex phenomena with such a modesty, clarity, simplicity but in the same time reflecting with deepness, this is THE course. The richness of argumentation with expressions can serve as a communication worldwide programming guideline.

Stay healthy dear professor.

교육 기관: Marvie

2020년 11월 3일

I learned more by completing this course in a week compared to what I learned in 4 months time in one semester at my University 's introduction to computer science course. The programming assignments kept me engaged and were very fun. I would definitely recommend this course 10/10 would love to take up a course like this all over again.

교육 기관: Keiji I

2020년 12월 9일

This was an amazing course. The instructor demonstrates programs that can do incredible things yet are simple enough to fully understand from a ten minute lecture. The autograder is excellent and tells you exactly which failure modes your code has. The provided libraries make seemingly difficult tasks much simpler.

교육 기관: Pankaj S

2020년 9월 13일

This Course is a perfect blend of Mathematics, Science and Programming. This course will definitely upskill you. Prof. Sedgewick's teaching style is very unique. Programming assignment will challenge you to think you out of the box. Overall absolutely amazing learning experience. Thanks to Princeton University.

교육 기관: sergio p

2020년 6월 13일

Excellent course! I was almost new to Java and programming (learnt some Basic more than thirty years ago). The course is very well organized, all modules are interesting. Material is great and the exercises very challenging with references to multiple disciplines. Rewarding experience. Will go for part two.

교육 기관: Parthasarathy B

2020년 11월 15일

Lecture slides have been well structured to make a difficult topic easy to understand and learn. The presentation provides a good conceptual outlay and it does not overwhelm you. Needless to say that writing code is the difficult part in the course as it is part of the learning process.