Chevron Left
Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose(으)로 돌아가기

프린스턴 대학교의 Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
714개의 평가

강좌 소개

The basis for education in the last millennium was “reading, writing, and arithmetic;” now it is reading, writing, and computing. Learning to program is an essential part of the education of every student, not just in the sciences and engineering, but in the arts, social sciences, and humanities, as well. Beyond direct applications, it is the first step in understanding the nature of computer science’s undeniable impact on the modern world. This course covers the first half of our book Computer Science: An Interdisciplinary Approach (the second half is covered in our Coursera course Computer Science: Algorithms, Theory, and Machines). Our intent is to teach programming to those who need or want to learn it, in a scientific context. We begin by introducing basic programming elements such as variables, conditionals, loops, arrays, and I/O. Next, we turn to functions, introducing key concepts such as recursion, modular programming, and code reuse. Then, we present a modern introduction to object-oriented programming. We use the Java programming language and teach basic skills for computational problem solving that are applicable in many modern computing environments. Proficiency in Java is a goal, but we focus on fundamental concepts in programming, not Java per se. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

최상위 리뷰

VS

2019년 5월 13일

Beautiful course. I am a software developer with 10+ years of experience in programming and have never realized depth of actual MATH behind all that I do. Thank you Robert Sedgewick, you are the BEST.

NK

2021년 6월 15일

Can't wait to get into the second part of the course. The best programming course ever provided for free of cost. The techniques used are backed by mathematical thinking. It is just awesome.

필터링 기준:

Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose의 227개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: randy s

2021년 7월 2일

I​ absolutely loved this course! I started off taking Algorithms ! from Sedgewick/Wayne, but my inexperience in Java made it slow going. I started this course as a way to catch up, and it TOTALLY helped me accomplish that goal.

T​here are so many things about this course that are excellent: it is comprehensive, it starts from the beginning and moves methodically, it has TONS of exercises, sample code, solutions, etc., it has legitimately challenging applications that really require you to think logically in addition to learning programming.

A​ll around, this is one of the best learning experiences of my life.

교육 기관: Nathanael Y

2020년 1월 20일

This is the 2nd course of Professor Sedgwick and Wayne that I enrolled, as expected it's well designed and organized. The programming assignments are the most valuable part from my perspective. Some of them, especially week6 to week8, can be somewhat challenging and difficult, maybe tough for beginners, but they cover quite a lot of topics that is really important. I would highly recommend this course to those who want some challenging and meaningful exercises.

교육 기관: Jinqiang Z

2021년 5월 29일

Although it's an introductory course, it covers quite a spectrum of what Java programming can do. The professor is very knowledgable, you can tell from the examples or the programming assignments which is from all kinds of field: math, graphics, image processing etc.

I'm an experienced programmer, I subscribed only to learn Java and also from Princeton which I admire, I enjoyed the course the whole way.

교육 기관: Chufan W

2021년 1월 30일

Very very useful and helpful for people who is interest in programming and algorithms. Even for CS students who have already learned this. The programming assignments are nicely designed and the auto-grader is outstanding for debugging. After 30 days of learning, I completed this course. I'd like to say thank you to Prof. Sedgewick and Prof. Wayne for this inspiring, creative course.

교육 기관: Amandeep

2020년 7월 28일

Firstly it is not an introductory programming course. You would be better if you have knowledge of java prior. Professor Robert Sedgewick walks you through the course and he has this charisma in his style that he can make rocket science sound easy. It is amazing course which make you stop, think and rethink on how you think.

교육 기관: Jacob B

2021년 6월 18일

T​his course was outstanding. I really enjoyed the simple yet rich mathematical applications that were used to demonstrate so many concepts covered by the course. I look forward to taking the next and all subsequent courses offered by Dr.'s Sedgewick and Wayne.

교육 기관: Yajian W

2020년 5월 9일

This is a great course, it's challenging for beginners like myself but it shows what's possible just with the codes we learned so it's encouraging at the same time. It is indeed programming with a purpose like the course's name. I'm glad I took this course!

교육 기관: Hao Z

2021년 5월 23일

Thank you so much for offering this course as open on Coursera, I've learned a lot from this course. And the assignments really helps me practiced hands-on coding, I believe this course helps open another door and new possibilities. Thank you!

교육 기관: Андрей К

2020년 7월 1일

Information of the course is enough to get very basic knowledge about Java programming language. Good starting point for further studying. May be not very simple for absolute beginners (but not impossible).

교육 기관: Seung L

2020년 9월 6일

It was a beautiful course. I gained a ton of understanding of the structures of programming (especially OOP). And could become proficient in Java language, which is great.

교육 기관: Meridel E

2021년 3월 28일

This course is very helpful and useful especially that i am in the field of teaching. While im learning my student also learning. Thank you! And Godbless!

교육 기관: Sayed K

2019년 6월 7일

I appreciate your work and your services. Your classes are very valuable for whom new in the world of IT is. Thank you very much dear professor!

교육 기관: Rishav P

2021년 5월 18일

The course is structured very well which makes it very easy to understand the concepts. Also helps build a decent grip on java language.

교육 기관: L H

2021년 2월 10일

Challenging but doable. Highly recommended for those with slight experience with programming; this course is not for complete beginners.

교육 기관: Erik C

2021년 4월 12일

Batalle un poco al principio, pero conforme va avanzando, las piezas se van uniendo y, con práctica, el aprendizaje es excelente.

교육 기관: Luye H

2021년 6월 14일

Hope I had a professor like this, who is able to seed curiosity in students to explore further this topic on their own. 

교육 기관: Beaumont S

2021년 5월 6일

Very challenging course, would recommend definitely. Well paced and presented, clear instructions and descriptions 10/10

교육 기관: Hussain

2019년 2월 28일

A very simple down to earth explanation on how to program from a very reputable university

교육 기관: chenqi77

2021년 4월 11일

This course is very good for java beginner or someone who wants to learn a programming.

교육 기관: Edmundo W

2020년 9월 5일

Difficult for beginner's, great for people trying to practice rusty programming skills.

교육 기관: Petter S

2020년 1월 29일

High tempo, definitely some difficult content, but overall I've learned a great deal

교육 기관: Xinyi Z

2021년 5월 21일

Course with material carefully prepared! Examples are interesting and insightful.

교육 기관: Nilav N

2021년 5월 22일

Great way to explain things and giving test

교육 기관: Marc T

2021년 5월 9일

AAA

Many, many thanks to staff ;)

교육 기관: Aditya h

2019년 5월 17일

Great refresher for JAva.