Chevron Left
Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose(으)로 돌아가기

프린스턴 대학교의 Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
435개의 평가
144개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The basis for education in the last millennium was “reading, writing, and arithmetic;” now it is reading, writing, and computing. Learning to program is an essential part of the education of every student, not just in the sciences and engineering, but in the arts, social sciences, and humanities, as well. Beyond direct applications, it is the first step in understanding the nature of computer science’s undeniable impact on the modern world. This course covers the first half of our book Computer Science: An Interdisciplinary Approach (the second half is covered in our Coursera course Computer Science: Algorithms, Theory, and Machines). Our intent is to teach programming to those who need or want to learn it, in a scientific context. We begin by introducing basic programming elements such as variables, conditionals, loops, arrays, and I/O. Next, we turn to functions, introducing key concepts such as recursion, modular programming, and code reuse. Then, we present a modern introduction to object-oriented programming. We use the Java programming language and teach basic skills for computational problem solving that are applicable in many modern computing environments. Proficiency in Java is a goal, but we focus on fundamental concepts in programming, not Java per se. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

최상위 리뷰

VS
2019년 5월 13일

Beautiful course. I am a software developer with 10+ years of experience in programming and have never realized depth of actual MATH behind all that I do. Thank you Robert Sedgewick, you are the BEST.

BB
2019년 3월 12일

Excellent course, inface the best I found on any MOOC platform for a complete beginner to Java. Loved it. Would appreciate more coding assignments though. Only week 1 & 2 have those.

필터링 기준:

Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose의 144개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Pankaj S

2020년 9월 13일

This Course is a perfect blend of Mathematics, Science and Programming. This course will definitely upskill you. Prof. Sedgewick's teaching style is very unique. Programming assignment will challenge you to think you out of the box. Overall absolutely amazing learning experience. Thanks to Princeton University.

교육 기관: sergio p

2020년 6월 13일

Excellent course! I was almost new to Java and programming (learnt some Basic more than thirty years ago). The course is very well organized, all modules are interesting. Material is great and the exercises very challenging with references to multiple disciplines. Rewarding experience. Will go for part two.

교육 기관: Parthasarathy B

2020년 11월 15일

Lecture slides have been well structured to make a difficult topic easy to understand and learn. The presentation provides a good conceptual outlay and it does not overwhelm you. Needless to say that writing code is the difficult part in the course as it is part of the learning process.

교육 기관: Izhar A

2020년 12월 22일

This course teaches the fundamentals of Java, as well as the advance levels, in an extremely easy and practical way. The lectures are great and the real-life examples on offer are just transfixing! This is a wonderful resource for me to learn Java as a student of computer science.

교육 기관: Ricky I S

2021년 1월 13일

This course was at a good difficulty level where one doesn't feel like they are being spoon fed, nor does one feel overwhelmed. The machine problems(programs) are fun to work on and it's very satisfying seeing the auto-grader feedback after you have completed the programs.

교육 기관: Alex K

2020년 12월 14일

The course was perfect for my needs, which were to get acquaintance with Java programing.

The course is built in a step-by-step manner, allowing people with no background at all to be able to learn and understand the course materials.

Great course!

Highly recommended.

교육 기관: Aleksei V

2020년 5월 6일

The course itself is great - it is easy to comprehend and the amount of useful information is immense. Some typos are present in the materials, namely on slides. Overall, I can recommend the course to anyone interested in serious programming learning.

교육 기관: Zhang Y

2020년 5월 10일

I am new to Java, and am glad to have chosen this course as my java introduction course. I learned a lot and I really enjoyed doing all the assignments! Now I think I can read and write simple Java code, and have a brief understanding about OOP.

교육 기관: Stefan M

2020년 6월 20일

Very good introductory course to JAVA; completing this course will help with the more advanced course Algorithms I and II since it exposes the necessary JAVA language features and makes you familiar with the autograder functionality.

교육 기관: Petar M

2019년 12월 14일

This was great course with very enjoyable delivery. The reference to the Book was very helpful if you want to learn more. I liked the heavy inclusion of intersting extercies. I want to see the more in debt next levels taking place.

교육 기관: itamar G

2020년 12월 10일

excellent course. Really helpful in understanding the basics of programming. although the assignment in the recursion was a major step up in the difficulty level, causing a mild frustration. other than that - Great job!

교육 기관: Alex R

2021년 1월 10일

Very enjoyable class. Would definitely recommend to someone interested in Java programming. Also, for anyone like me who intends on majoring in Computer Science and would like a jump start before college.

교육 기관: Mostafa H

2020년 6월 25일

What i most liked about this course. Is how the instructors showed us what those little programs we built. Can be used to build further programs and its application in different fields in Computer Science

교육 기관: Lok T N

2019년 10월 18일

The course is awesome. It really teaches me the basics of Java programming. Now I know what an object is.

The programming assignments are very interesting and really make you think. I like them very much.

교육 기관: Praveen K

2020년 10월 10일

Very useful for programmers, especially beginners. Examples taken to explain the concepts are real-time application oriented which reinforce importance of the concepts!!

교육 기관: Eddy P

2021년 1월 28일

Definitely a great course abound with lots of supporting materials including informative website, book, guidance and auto-graders for each programming assignment.

교육 기관: Debasis B

2020년 7월 24일

Really fun and challenging exercises! Had a great time solving them. The book site a lot more interesting problems and students should check it out.

교육 기관: Grazyna K

2020년 8월 22일

I expected to review all java basics but found myself working hard with high level, challenging projects that set up a growing environment for me.

교육 기관: J H

2020년 5월 20일

It did not just teach coding, but taught efficient coding and how to think about performance issues, and separation of program parts into objects

교육 기관: L H

2021년 2월 10일

Challenging but doable. Highly recommended for those with slight experience with programming; this course is not for complete beginners.

교육 기관: 赵凌乔

2020년 2월 5일

This course is full of the fundamentals that one should learn in programming, especially how everything works in OOP. Excellent course.

교육 기관: Тугов С А

2021년 1월 12일

This is an absolutely incredible course. I couldn't have hoped for better one. My endless admiration and gratitude to authors.

교육 기관: Kuirong W

2020년 8월 21일

This is a great course with heavy loaded homeworks which is definitely help if you like to get the best of the course.

교육 기관: Sreejit C

2020년 7월 11일

Quite a nice introduction to Programming and Java . Thank You lecturers for this interesting course and assignments .