Chevron Left
Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose(으)로 돌아가기

프린스턴 대학교의 Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
719개의 평가

강좌 소개

The basis for education in the last millennium was “reading, writing, and arithmetic;” now it is reading, writing, and computing. Learning to program is an essential part of the education of every student, not just in the sciences and engineering, but in the arts, social sciences, and humanities, as well. Beyond direct applications, it is the first step in understanding the nature of computer science’s undeniable impact on the modern world. This course covers the first half of our book Computer Science: An Interdisciplinary Approach (the second half is covered in our Coursera course Computer Science: Algorithms, Theory, and Machines). Our intent is to teach programming to those who need or want to learn it, in a scientific context. We begin by introducing basic programming elements such as variables, conditionals, loops, arrays, and I/O. Next, we turn to functions, introducing key concepts such as recursion, modular programming, and code reuse. Then, we present a modern introduction to object-oriented programming. We use the Java programming language and teach basic skills for computational problem solving that are applicable in many modern computing environments. Proficiency in Java is a goal, but we focus on fundamental concepts in programming, not Java per se. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

최상위 리뷰

VS

2019년 5월 13일

Beautiful course. I am a software developer with 10+ years of experience in programming and have never realized depth of actual MATH behind all that I do. Thank you Robert Sedgewick, you are the BEST.

NK

2021년 6월 15일

Can't wait to get into the second part of the course. The best programming course ever provided for free of cost. The techniques used are backed by mathematical thinking. It is just awesome.

필터링 기준:

Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose의 228개 리뷰 중 76~100

교육 기관: Zamir D

2020년 4월 26일

Lectures are a master-piece. Anyone who wood like to see a perfection in presentation of complex phenomena with such a modesty, clarity, simplicity but in the same time reflecting with deepness, this is THE course. The richness of argumentation with expressions can serve as a communication worldwide programming guideline.

Stay healthy dear professor.

교육 기관: Marvie

2020년 11월 3일

I learned more by completing this course in a week compared to what I learned in 4 months time in one semester at my University 's introduction to computer science course. The programming assignments kept me engaged and were very fun. I would definitely recommend this course 10/10 would love to take up a course like this all over again.

교육 기관: Keiji I

2020년 12월 9일

This was an amazing course. The instructor demonstrates programs that can do incredible things yet are simple enough to fully understand from a ten minute lecture. The autograder is excellent and tells you exactly which failure modes your code has. The provided libraries make seemingly difficult tasks much simpler.

교육 기관: Pankaj S

2020년 9월 13일

This Course is a perfect blend of Mathematics, Science and Programming. This course will definitely upskill you. Prof. Sedgewick's teaching style is very unique. Programming assignment will challenge you to think you out of the box. Overall absolutely amazing learning experience. Thanks to Princeton University.

교육 기관: sergio p

2020년 6월 13일

Excellent course! I was almost new to Java and programming (learnt some Basic more than thirty years ago). The course is very well organized, all modules are interesting. Material is great and the exercises very challenging with references to multiple disciplines. Rewarding experience. Will go for part two.

교육 기관: Parthasarathy B

2020년 11월 15일

Lecture slides have been well structured to make a difficult topic easy to understand and learn. The presentation provides a good conceptual outlay and it does not overwhelm you. Needless to say that writing code is the difficult part in the course as it is part of the learning process.

교육 기관: Izhar A

2020년 12월 22일

This course teaches the fundamentals of Java, as well as the advance levels, in an extremely easy and practical way. The lectures are great and the real-life examples on offer are just transfixing! This is a wonderful resource for me to learn Java as a student of computer science.

교육 기관: R S

2021년 1월 13일

This course was at a good difficulty level where one doesn't feel like they are being spoon fed, nor does one feel overwhelmed. The machine problems(programs) are fun to work on and it's very satisfying seeing the auto-grader feedback after you have completed the programs.

교육 기관: Alex K

2020년 12월 14일

The course was perfect for my needs, which were to get acquaintance with Java programing.

The course is built in a step-by-step manner, allowing people with no background at all to be able to learn and understand the course materials.

Great course!

Highly recommended.

교육 기관: Aleksei V

2020년 5월 6일

The course itself is great - it is easy to comprehend and the amount of useful information is immense. Some typos are present in the materials, namely on slides. Overall, I can recommend the course to anyone interested in serious programming learning.

교육 기관: Zhang Y

2020년 5월 10일

I am new to Java, and am glad to have chosen this course as my java introduction course. I learned a lot and I really enjoyed doing all the assignments! Now I think I can read and write simple Java code, and have a brief understanding about OOP.

교육 기관: Stefan M

2020년 6월 20일

Very good introductory course to JAVA; completing this course will help with the more advanced course Algorithms I and II since it exposes the necessary JAVA language features and makes you familiar with the autograder functionality.

교육 기관: Petar M

2019년 12월 14일

This was great course with very enjoyable delivery. The reference to the Book was very helpful if you want to learn more. I liked the heavy inclusion of intersting extercies. I want to see the more in debt next levels taking place.

교육 기관: itamar G

2020년 12월 10일

excellent course. Really helpful in understanding the basics of programming. although the assignment in the recursion was a major step up in the difficulty level, causing a mild frustration. other than that - Great job!

교육 기관: Mark P

2022년 5월 1일

T​he lectures are well organises and presented which give me a large motivation. I learn a lot in this course so that my problem solving skills are much better and programming concepts are much clearer to me as well.

교육 기관: Michał Ł

2021년 9월 5일

Excellent course. I gained better understanding of java as well as more general programming skills that I can use in other programming languages. Great option for anyone who is starting his/her programming journey.

교육 기관: Alex R

2021년 1월 10일

Very enjoyable class. Would definitely recommend to someone interested in Java programming. Also, for anyone like me who intends on majoring in Computer Science and would like a jump start before college.

교육 기관: Mostafa H

2020년 6월 25일

What i most liked about this course. Is how the instructors showed us what those little programs we built. Can be used to build further programs and its application in different fields in Computer Science

교육 기관: nglokting

2019년 10월 18일

The course is awesome. It really teaches me the basics of Java programming. Now I know what an object is.

The programming assignments are very interesting and really make you think. I like them very much.

교육 기관: Alinaswe C

2021년 11월 13일

The Course was fantastic and really fun! The lecturer was top-notch and He made the course really amazing. Thank you Cousera and Princeton university for this wonderful course, it really helped me a lot!

교육 기관: HIEN G T

2021년 11월 26일

This is my first course in Coursera. If you are beginner, you should watch videos, read the booksite and the book that covering this course. It simply needs a lot of hard work !

교육 기관: Ica H

2021년 10월 23일

It's easy to follow. And all the programming tasks help me to understand the content better. It's an friendly CS course with amazingly high quality. Thank you Professor!

교육 기관: Praveen K

2020년 10월 10일

Very useful for programmers, especially beginners. Examples taken to explain the concepts are real-time application oriented which reinforce importance of the concepts!!

교육 기관: Eddy P

2021년 1월 28일

Definitely a great course abound with lots of supporting materials including informative website, book, guidance and auto-graders for each programming assignment.

교육 기관: Amrit D

2020년 8월 30일

Fantastic course with a strong focus on assignments.Very helpful regardless of programming experience. The professor is very nice and provides key insights.