Chevron Left
Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose(으)로 돌아가기

프린스턴 대학교의 Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
435개의 평가
144개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The basis for education in the last millennium was “reading, writing, and arithmetic;” now it is reading, writing, and computing. Learning to program is an essential part of the education of every student, not just in the sciences and engineering, but in the arts, social sciences, and humanities, as well. Beyond direct applications, it is the first step in understanding the nature of computer science’s undeniable impact on the modern world. This course covers the first half of our book Computer Science: An Interdisciplinary Approach (the second half is covered in our Coursera course Computer Science: Algorithms, Theory, and Machines). Our intent is to teach programming to those who need or want to learn it, in a scientific context. We begin by introducing basic programming elements such as variables, conditionals, loops, arrays, and I/O. Next, we turn to functions, introducing key concepts such as recursion, modular programming, and code reuse. Then, we present a modern introduction to object-oriented programming. We use the Java programming language and teach basic skills for computational problem solving that are applicable in many modern computing environments. Proficiency in Java is a goal, but we focus on fundamental concepts in programming, not Java per se. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

최상위 리뷰

VS
2019년 5월 13일

Beautiful course. I am a software developer with 10+ years of experience in programming and have never realized depth of actual MATH behind all that I do. Thank you Robert Sedgewick, you are the BEST.

BB
2019년 3월 12일

Excellent course, inface the best I found on any MOOC platform for a complete beginner to Java. Loved it. Would appreciate more coding assignments though. Only week 1 & 2 have those.

필터링 기준:

Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose의 144개 리뷰 중 126~144

교육 기관: Salamat B

2020년 5월 18일

I like assignments!

교육 기관: AANSHIKA S

2020년 6월 8일

excellent approach

교육 기관: Amir N

2020년 7월 6일

Love this course.

교육 기관: Fotis S

2020년 7월 24일

Excellent course

교육 기관: Avinash K

2020년 6월 25일

Great course!

교육 기관: Kiko S

2020년 7월 24일

Excellent!!!

교육 기관: lxl1986

2019년 10월 23일

elegant.

교육 기관: Milind P

2021년 1월 14일

Not quite beginner level course when dealing with assignments so some students might find themselves little frustrated. But with the difficulty of assignments, the learning opportunity is great once you finish assignments successfully with help of forum and other research. Book-site could be made little more extensive as currently it is very condensed compared to what chapters in book might have. Overall great course and learning.

교육 기관: Oluwatosin A

2020년 7월 23일

This course was detailed and helpful. I don't know if this matters a lot, but it bothers me that this course teaches students to use its own libraries. I think the students may not be able to use the actual Java standard libraries well.

Also, I find many assignments hard to understand, most likely because the instruction is not clear enough.

But overall, this course was very nice and interesting.

교육 기관: Santiago M

2020년 10월 11일

I got what I needed and way more... This course is really heavy on maths and it does not stay with just "learn java"... I admit that I got frustrated at some point since Im not good at math and struggle a lot!.. but with the help of peers I was able to get the end goal and I would recommend this class to anyone that want to understand how programming works.

교육 기관: Shreyan M

2020년 8월 16일

This course was great for learning Java, but I believe it could have been better if it had covered the actual "computer science" aspect (like the anatomy of a computer, history of computing, etc.)

교육 기관: Dattatray B N

2020년 5월 27일

Excellent course, Thank you Drs Sedgwick and Wayne.

Good course material and vedios thanks..

교육 기관: Atalay K

2020년 6월 27일

Lectures are very good, exercises could be better

교육 기관: George S

2020년 9월 17일

ok

교육 기관: Irina

2021년 1월 30일

The course is not beginner friendly in my opinion. A lot of students, me included seem to be really confused about week 1's assignments, one can clearly see that in the forums. The class itself isn't bad, just advertised as beginner friendly. I do not find it to be so. Will retake it when will have a bit of basis of Java.

교육 기관: Jovonne B

2020년 10월 26일

Not for beginners at all. The assignments are for those whom have strong background in math and computer programming experience.

교육 기관: Farooq S

2020년 12월 17일

Not for me.

교육 기관: JEAN-BAPTISTE M D

2020년 11월 7일

Your course is lacking the possibility to make contact with the teacher or helper, no e-mail, no telephone number. I am stuck on the learning process, I pass the 75% required on week 1 to go to the job assignment, the problem with the software IntelliJ, no possibility of help. Please cancel my subscription