Chevron Left
Dairy Production and Management(으)로 돌아가기

펜실베니아 주립 대학의 Dairy Production and Management 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
617개의 평가
202개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

With the world's first MOOOOO-C, you will gain a broad and comprehensive understanding of all aspects of dairy management such as genetics, nutrition, reproduction, animal health, farm economics, and sustainability of dairy production systems. There's something here for everyone whether you are just looking for the basics or have years of experience in the dairy industry. This is an eight-week course. Each week consists of four to nine video lectures, additional reading materials, and a multiple-choice questions quiz. Estimated study time is between three and five hours per week. Learners have the option to purchase a Course Certificate for 49.00 USD. The certificate can be purchased at any time, but you must verify your identify before taking the course quizzes in order to be eligible. For those who cannot afford the certificate fee, financial aid is available through Coursera. Why is producing milk efficiently and sustainably so important? Milk provides humans with over 16 essential nutrients, such as: Energy, Protein and Essential Amino acids, Vitamin A, Vitamin D, several B vitamins, including B12, Pantothenic and Folic acids, and essential minerals such as Calcium, Magnesium, Phosphorus, Potassium, Zinc, as well as other minerals. Did you know that one glass of milk provides a 5-year old child with 21% of his/her daily protein requirements and 8% of their energy needs? Most milk in the world, about 85%, is produced from cattle. However, water buffaloes, goats, sheep, and camel are also dairy animals. The United States, India, the European Union, Brazil, and New Zealand are among the largest dairy producers in the world. Yet among these dairy-producing countries there are varied methods to generate milk with highly variable productivity and efficiency. Dairy production is vital for the survival of billions of people. Globally, around 150 million small-scale dairy households, equivalent to 750 million people, are engaged in milk production. The number and size of dairy farms varies among countries, but in India alone, there are estimated 78 million dairy farms! In the United States, one of the leading milk-producing countries in the world, total milk production has been steadily increasing in the last decades, reaching over 205 billion pounds (93 billion kilograms) in 2014. This was accompanied by a steady increase in average milk yield per cow, reaching 22,260 lb (over 10,100 kg) per lactation in 2014. How has this efficiency been achieved? What methods are necessary to ensure production of high quality milk? How do we balance milk production efficiency with animal health and environmental protection? This course will provide the student with information to better understand dairy production systems and their role in feeding the world population. In this MOOOOO-C, you will learn about the dairy enterprise from internationally recognized dairy science professors who have delivered highly regarded dairy education programs within the United States and internationally. Course lectures are translated into Portuguese and Chinese; PDF files of these translations can be found under each course week. The Dairy MOOC team thanks Dr. Antonio Branco (Universidade Estadual de Maringá, Brazil) and Ms. Yuanyuan Zhang (Pennsylvania State University) for translating the lecture materials. Course Sponsors This course was supported by the generous contributions of Innovation Center for US Dairy at Silver Level and Pancosma North America, RP Nutrients, Inc. and Arm and Hammer, which provided funding support at a Bronze Level. The Pennsylvania State University has final responsibility for the academic content of this course....

최상위 리뷰

SS

Dec 21, 2019

it was an amazing course which help me to understand the dairy production and management and also help me to improve my knowledge regarding dairy management as well as skills.\n\nThank you.

TN

Aug 25, 2019

I am extremely grateful for this course and the hardworking people behind it. The amount of detailed information and research that has been included is great and I appreciate it very much.

필터링 기준:

Dairy Production and Management의 197개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Cynthia T

Jun 20, 2019

I've been working on dairy farms over forty years. There's always something to learn. Love this course. Great informational videos and reading.

교육 기관: Badri P N

May 04, 2020

Dear Professors and Coursera team,

I really loved going through this course as part of my personal interest to know in detail about cows. My wish is to rear a cow and calf as a pet animal in my home and I am confident that I can very well procure a cow now with the help of knowledge that you all professors imparted to me about the cows, calfs, heifers, its feed, management, impact to environment and many more in this course.

My heartfelt thanks to Coursera and its team, all professors for their great efforts!

Best regards, Badri

교육 기관: José E H N

Feb 01, 2020

Proporciona buenas bases para comprender el manejo del ganado lechero, asi como criterios y puntos vista para administrar la granja lechera, su economía y la comercialización de los productos lácteos en generl

Gracias a las interesantes participaciones de los instructores de este curso, ahora tengo una visión mas amplia y una mayor confianza en el manejo de una granja lechera.

교육 기관: Noreen H

Jul 24, 2017

This is an excellent course that provides a great overview of dairy production and management. I took the course to expand my knowledge of the dairy industry. I came away with a deep appreciation for dairy farming and the

교육 기관: Munawar A

May 13, 2019

This course was very much fruitful for me and i am happy that I got a chance to learn from dairy experts. I wish coursera arrange these types of courses more and more and really thankful to coursera from core of my heart.

교육 기관: Thevakugan N

Aug 25, 2019

I am extremely grateful for this course and the hardworking people behind it. The amount of detailed information and research that has been included is great and I appreciate it very much.

교육 기관: Nicola C

Nov 24, 2019

I've loved this course since the first lecture. All the arguments are treated very well and the information provided are essential! Thank you Penn State University for this great course!

교육 기관: Srishti M

Jul 29, 2020

It was really informative course and I learnt a lot about dairy management which I wasn't aware of. Really vast information and highly recommend for pursuing if needed.

교육 기관: Thabo C M

Jul 24, 2020

This is the best course ever,I knew nothing about dairy farm and I was overlooking it,but after this course I really know a lot about Dairy farm and management as well,I wish a lot of courses like this were offered here in South Africa that cover Dairy Farming to such lengths. This will help me one day when time goes by when I get my own farm and assist the community from what I learnt from the course. Thanks to Coursera and Penn State for the course.

교육 기관: Kehan Y

Jun 14, 2020

This is a very good course for the people interested in dairy farming or for those who want to start a career in dairy farming. Though I am only taking this course for personal interest, it gives me more ideas of commercial farming and might be helpful for me to raise animal welfare course. Thanks for the detailed scripts and hardworking people behind it. That really makes my life easier as the video takes a long-time loading.

교육 기관: Diah T W

Aug 02, 2020

I already have knowledge about the production and reproduction of dairy cattle. however, by attending this course my understanding of dairy production and management has improved, and this will contribute well to my career development. One more thing, taking this course during work from home, then I can improve my knowledge during the pandemic and I enjoy it

교육 기관: brianviyof

Sep 04, 2019

Exceptional and very informative. I feel like a professional now. I have learn a lot of skills which will enable me improve on my small dairy farm in Cameroon precisely in Buea - SWR (the only dairy farm in the region). Thanks a Lot PENN State University for this ground breaking course. Please, we need a course on mushroom cultivation and spawn production.

교육 기관: Akuha N L

Nov 14, 2016

This is a comprehensive and holistic approach to dairy cattle production and management. The detailed course materials has equipped me with the necessary knowledge and skills to succeed in modern day dairy cattle production. Thank you Penn State University, Thank you distinguished Professors for been my instructors through out this Dairy MOOC.

교육 기관: BENMAHCENE T D E h

Oct 12, 2019

It 'is my first amazing Mooc that i' learn from them a good knowledge in Dairy production and management .I hope to work with what i learn nearly . thank you to penn state université and for all the teacher staff in the mooc . Thank you so much for coursera that he give me this opportunities to learn from all the world . TAHA

교육 기관: Adiba A

Jun 17, 2020

The entire course was really amazing. It provides plenty of information about the dairy industry and management. The professors really taught well with proper understanding of each and every topic. This course has enhanced my practical knowledge regarding this industry which will surely help me in future.

교육 기관: Syed M A R

Aug 02, 2020

It was really one of the best learning experience I ever had. Thanks to all of the experienced professors, I learnt a lot from you people. I hope to see you again.

I am also very thankful to Penn State University and Coursera Team for arranging such a great platform for learning.

Regards

교육 기관: Yusuf T

Jan 17, 2019

Dairy Production and Management course is a well-designed and prepared course. I highly recommend to professionals who want to learn comprehensive methods of modern dairy farming. Thank you so much for all the instructors for their great work on course content and teaching way.

교육 기관: Mahmoud M

Jul 26, 2020

The course is very informative and covering diverse aspects of dairy production and management, moreover it provides a lot of medical knowledge which necessary for keeping the cow healthy and efficiently productive. Nutrition also is covered in a detailed and illustrated way.

교육 기관: Eddy L

May 05, 2016

Excellent course.

It is a really good overview about Dairy Production and Management. It does not bore with too much detail. However provides enough additional material to work with and get as far into the subject as one wishes to.

Thank you so very much for this online course.

교육 기관: Erik F

Nov 27, 2016

Excelente curso, con videos de alto nivel técnico e información actualizada, excelente todo el material en cada uno de los módulos, recomendados a aquellos les guste la producción lechera. Espero que sigan sacando cursos de este tipo. Recomendado a la comunidad de Coursera.

교육 기관: Wolf

Oct 04, 2019

This was actually incredibly interesting. As someone who has been a farm milker for 5 years now I thought this was only going to revise my current knowledge but nope it gave me so much more then I knew. I love it! Great videos and really interesting content. Thank you!

교육 기관: Aarons C

Jul 25, 2017

This is an excellent course. I was thinking I knew the art and science of a dairy until I went through this course. I am now confident that I can run a dairy farm very successfully. I would like to share detailed feedback to the instructors in a separate email.

교육 기관: Utibe M O

Jul 28, 2020

Thank you Coursera for this opportunity. This course has really opened my eyes to many things I had little or no idea about. I can now speak boldly on the subject of dairy production and management. I am very excited that I enrolled for this course. Thank you!

교육 기관: Johanna C

May 02, 2016

Very interesting course covered a number of different areas I was particularly keen on the sustainable and environmental issues. I don't have any farm animals but it still taught me a huge amount of what is involved in getting a pint of milk to ones doorstep

교육 기관: Edwin J T

Jul 09, 2020

What a fantastic course. I have learned more to bring me up to date with modern practices.

The knowledge from the Professors on the course and how the course is structured and delivered has been excellent.

Well done for giving this opportunity within reach.