Chevron Left
Getting and Cleaning Data(으)로 돌아가기

존스홉킨스대학교의 Getting and Cleaning Data 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
stars
6,664개의 평가
1,028개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Before you can work with data you have to get some. This course will cover the basic ways that data can be obtained. The course will cover obtaining data from the web, from APIs, from databases and from colleagues in various formats. It will also cover the basics of data cleaning and how to make data “tidy”. Tidy data dramatically speed downstream data analysis tasks. The course will also cover the components of a complete data set including raw data, processing instructions, codebooks, and processed data. The course will cover the basics needed for collecting, cleaning, and sharing data....

최상위 리뷰

DH

Feb 02, 2016

Easy, mostly instructive Course. The Assignments and quizzes are quite good, and illustrates the lessons very well.\n\nSee the videos for general presentation, but use the energy on the excersizes.

BE

Oct 26, 2016

This course is really a challenging and compulsory for any one who wants to be a data scientist or working in any sort of data. It teaches you how to make very palatable data-set fro ma messy data.

필터링 기준:

Getting and Cleaning Data의 991개 리뷰 중 951~975

교육 기관: Sudarshan P

Dec 05, 2017

The course material needs update. There are code snippets that do not work.

교육 기관: Aditya D

Sep 18, 2017

This course could have been better. It was all textual and it got boring.

교육 기관: James C

May 30, 2017

Final assignment is not well detailed, and may cause confusion.

교육 기관: Guy P

Mar 03, 2016

This course lacks projects to implement the skills we learn.

교육 기관: Lee D

May 19, 2016

The course was a bit mixed in terms of its quality.

교육 기관: Adam K

Aug 26, 2019

Very poor instructions for assignments.

교육 기관: Rafee S

Feb 25, 2019

waste of time for software engineers

교육 기관: Maximilian P

Jul 11, 2018

Too many things in one place

교육 기관: Sergio B S

Nov 17, 2017

Worst class in this series.

교육 기관: Michal K

Apr 29, 2016

too superficial

교육 기관: Warren

Aug 05, 2016

Boring.

교육 기관: Walson Q

Nov 29, 2018

2

교육 기관: Neil J

Jul 23, 2016

R is really just the worst, and the instructors do not make it better. The code in this class is unreadable:

- too many one liners, because "it's faster to write", though harder for other people to read

- variables are named cryptic things like spIns or x, rather than names with meaning (eg, sprays.by.insect), again "because it's faster to type"

- way too many cases of "there is more than one way to do it", which just makes things confusing because the other ways tend not to be equivalent

What I'm most concerned about is that I've seen lots of poorly written code in many different languages: Java, C++, C, Python, Perl, and now R. But I've also seen really well-written code in all the languages *but* R, I have yet to see any code in R that is flexible, maintainable, and clear. Which leads me to think that no such code exists, or it's so rare that it doesn't matter. It is clear to me that if I am to do data analysis, then I will need a different set of tools; but because this specialization is taught entirely around R (the lectures are about R, not about higher-level concepts), then this specialization is not useful to me.

교육 기관: Daniel H

Jan 17, 2018

This course is about getting data from the web and processing it using a computer language and packages in that language that are under active development. There is a github repo with course content and other electronic resources that are made to be easy to update. It has never been updated, even once since the course first went live 4 years ago. There are many broken links, several new features and bugs in packages that make lecture content obsolete or broken, errors found by students, etc. None of these issues have been addressed, even once, in any of the material, including the extremely easy to update content on github. This is disappointing and not very professional. Additionally, many of the notes are not particularly good to begin with. Much of it is essentially cribbed from other online tutorials, examples in the documentation, and in a few cases, someone else's (also broken) lectures. Take this course if you want a study group (the forums are actually quite useful) to help you go through 4 year old lectures rehashing online tutorials from 4 years ago about a topic that changes pretty quickly.

교육 기관: jake s

Jun 29, 2016

There is a lot of fluff in this course and at the same time it assumes that you have knowledge and skills that are not covered in this course or in the previous two (e.g. github). I'm really disappointed in the quality of this course--specifically at how vague many of the instructions were in the quiz questions and the final project-- and that most the time when explanations were asked for on the message board the professors just did some hand waving and said that figuring it out was part of the assignment. That isn't teaching (online or otherwise). And if your instructions aren't clear, you aren't doing the job of an instructor when you pass the buck and try to sell it as "part of the learning experience." I hope this fall off in quality isn't reflective of the rest of the courses in the data spec.

교육 기관: Grant I

Jan 22, 2018

Made it all the way to week four and decided to drop this entire specialization. The data set in the final project is poorly referenced (despite the code book provided). The data set comes in 24 text files you have to merge (which isn't a problem in R) but what is a problem is when you don't understand what the variables and observations are. Perhaps if I worked in the medical field these measurements would mean more, but to a business major, they are incomprehensible with the limited documentation provided. So my assumption was, if I am having difficulty understanding what the final data structure should look like, others will be having the same problem......and its peer reviewed. How can I possible grade someone else

교육 기관: Alexander R

Jan 14, 2017

For such a terrible course to then change payment terms without my authorisation. Take $64 from my account without telling me clearly amongst all the other junk mail. Coursera have a lot to answer for, and this specialisation is not even worth wasting your time if it was free.

Taught without purpose; meaningless instructions given to copy without regard of the bigger picture.

교육 기관: Quoc N

Feb 18, 2018

First quiz states 10 minutes for a 5 question quiz. I am taking way longer due to errors in loading packages and Java. One of the question is out of date and has not been updated in a year. Quality of this course is lacking when changes are constant. The mentors say it's realistic. I'd considering dropping this course and search for a better updated one.

교육 기관: Pooia L

Aug 19, 2018

This was a mix of everything course, nothing was completely explained. It would have been a better idea to just pick a limited options and cover them well. The description of the final project was a puzzle and the objective behind it was completely vague. I wanted to quit in the middle, but I put time and that is why I finished it!!!

교육 기관: Antti S

Oct 17, 2016

Lectures and other material just don't cover the information needed in the course project. Majority of the learning has to be done outside of this course, in order to pass the course project.

I cannot recommend this course anyone who is not deeply familiar with the topic already. The course project is truly frustrating!

교육 기관: Shanmuga P

Jan 14, 2018

Expected more explanation with the teaching part, detailed lecture depicting live examples is needed to explain each and every module of the course. similar examples like Assignments can be taught by hard-coding them with RStudio

hoping that these things can change with the next courses which I'm enrolling

교육 기관: Diogo M

Aug 06, 2018

MUito rápido o conteúdo e o fato do suporte ser somente o fórum deixa o curso vago, achei muito fraco os slides e o método de ensino.

Poderiam focar mais em exercícios e nos comandos mais difíceis, pois quando chega nos assignments fiquei perdido por não ter conseguido realizar da forma esperada.

교육 기관: Christian B

Nov 09, 2019

No idea what they want for the project and the discussion forum is clogged with people asking for peer reviews. The previous courses at least provided you with a understanding of what the final product should be, in this case it's make tidy data, but with no idea on how that data should look.

교육 기관: Michael O

Oct 29, 2016

Basically impossible to complete quizzes and course project using the provided course material. Poor correlation between instruction and testing. Makes one wonder: If I need to solicit others' guidance to complete your tests, why am I paying for your guidance in the first place?

교육 기관: Jeffrey G

Jul 06, 2017

Why are people writing extensive blog posts contemplating the vague wording of the final assignment when you could just *fix the assignment*? Also, one of the worst explanations of regular expressions I've ever heard.