Chevron Left
Getting and Cleaning Data(으)로 돌아가기

존스홉킨스대학교의 Getting and Cleaning Data 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
7,294개의 평가
1,166개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Before you can work with data you have to get some. This course will cover the basic ways that data can be obtained. The course will cover obtaining data from the web, from APIs, from databases and from colleagues in various formats. It will also cover the basics of data cleaning and how to make data “tidy”. Tidy data dramatically speed downstream data analysis tasks. The course will also cover the components of a complete data set including raw data, processing instructions, codebooks, and processed data. The course will cover the basics needed for collecting, cleaning, and sharing data....

최상위 리뷰

HS

May 03, 2020

This course provides an introduction of some important concepts and tools on a very important aspect of data science: cleaning and organizing data before any analysis. A must for any data scientist.

DH

Feb 02, 2016

Easy, mostly instructive Course. The Assignments and quizzes are quite good, and illustrates the lessons very well.\n\nSee the videos for general presentation, but use the energy on the excersizes.

필터링 기준:

Getting and Cleaning Data의 1,128개 리뷰 중 951~975

교육 기관: Tomasz J

Dec 11, 2017

The course is teaches you some principles of tidy data and cleaning data but it's very messy.

There is no systematic approach to plyr and dplyr libraries. The teachers peak some functions from one and some functions from other library, but without any clear principle. It looks that prof. Leek and prof. Peng are presenting their favorite functions without consulting each other. They are doing it in the right way, though very confusing. On the other hand loading data is approached very encyclopedically.

Assignments not only check what was taught in the videos but also sometimes require new skills and going through stackoverflow etc. (e.g. codes to read fortran files). This is not the way how you construct good coursers.

Additionally some instruction in the final assignment are provided in submission part! (Expected names of the files should be provided in the assignment description, not on the submission page).

Prof. Peng and prof. Leek are very skilled, they know their job, but they don't know how to teach efficiently. Nonetheless if you are motivated to learn, this course may be very helpful.

교육 기관: Guillermo A G

Oct 23, 2017

This course was quite challenging in comparison with the first two. I felt that the material provided by the instructors was not enough to approach the quizes and assignments, so it's necessary to spent a lot of time researching for your own in other sources. I struggled with the Course Project Assignment because I didn't understand what I was supposed to do exactly. Fortunately, the forum threads were really helpful. Nevertheless, the course's intention is very valuable and if you are patient and go all the way through it you will improve your data science skills, learn very useful techniques and habits, specially if you're a beginner. But I strongly suggest the instructors to make the course contents more explicit and helpful.

교육 기관: John Y

Aug 05, 2017

Great class for an important piece of data analytics and data science. One issue I've been noticing with R compared to using Anaconda/Python is that a lot of the libraries required for the class aren't explicitly mentioned. That's fine if you're experienced with these environments and able to read error codes with familiarity. Minor annoyance to me when I run a script and realize I don't have a library installed.

I'd imagine though its extremely frustrating for beginners who may have written perfectly good code but haven't figured out that they simply need to install certain packages to answer quiz or homework questions. Perhaps having a full library or package list for Course 1 of this series will be helpful.

교육 기관: Joshua S

Jul 10, 2020

Lecture content is very drab and filled with "...and here's another thing you can do...". I think it would be a lot more effective with more problems and various solutions. There should be a project every week along with the quizzes.

I also found the peer review process for the course project to be sub-par. I personally put a LOT of work into the course project, and put together what was a really thoughtful and well-written README and CODEBOOK just to have my project downgraded because someone wasn't sure the run_analysis did what it was supposed to. It's not a big deal but I think if an instructor saw it they would've found it very thoughtful, thorough and accurate.

교육 기관: Anton K

Aug 08, 2019

This is a very brief course, many of the topics deserve a much more thorough explanations. This part of the data analysis (i.e. data cleaning and acquisition) is in fact a complex subject and subjects are not covered in this course. There were also technical issues. For instance, the audio quality of lectures by prof. Jeff Leek is very poor. And the other major problem that I had with this course is the ambiguity of the requirements, although it wasn't difficult to finish. But if you are planning on taking this course, be ready to spend considerable amount of time on understanding the structure of the final submission's materials.

교육 기관: Harris W

May 27, 2020

Like all courses in this specialization, there is an incredible lack of practice and application for a large amount of the skills taught in lecture. I would say that only about 60 percent, or maybe less, of the content in the lecture is assessed in the quizzes and assignments. Additionally, the peer review process is wildly flawed for the final project. I did not receive any constructive criticism from anyone, and I doubt they even truly looked at my code to make sure it worked. I don't blame them, they have little incentive. Rather I place blame on the system of grading and lack of feedback.

교육 기관: Rashaad J

Jul 24, 2017

I have 2 key concerns with this course. First, I don't feel like the material presented adequately prepares you for the quizzes. For at least 2 of the 4 quizzes, I had to spend a substantial amount of time locating and reviewing other resources to answer the questions. My second concern is that for the final course assignment, there is a lack of specificity with the instructions. Not being able to answer a question is vastly different from not understanding what the question is asking and I found myself spending more time doing the latter (which is wasteful) and less time with the former.

교육 기관: Constantin S

Feb 20, 2016

In some weeks only about an hour of input where several topics have already been covered in R Programming. That's very little value for money.

The final course project again feels like it's done in a rush and without another review: The submitted dataset should be automatically checked. It's simply impossible to derive from it whether the student did everything right, but it could be easily done programmatically. Some of the questions have wording and grammar issues that make it hard to understand. Also there is slightly contradicting instructions between the task and review description.

교육 기관: Angela W

Jul 14, 2017

I did learn a lot, but I thought the first half of the course (getting the data) was very challenging.

What does annoy me though is that links aren't clickable, sometimes they're wrong, there are typos on the slides etc. The response to these complaints in the forums is that these lectures were recorded a while ago and it takes time to change things and so on - but for $50 a month, I don't think it's too much to ask that the course materials be kept up to date!

So honestly, I feel like I'm being ripped off a bit here.

I did really enjoy the course project though.

교육 기관: Luis P

Jan 25, 2018

The most challenging so far of the 9 courses on the Data Scientist track. Would like to see some errors removed from slides. Some parts of the lectures seemed rushed. Would like to see some of the non-self-evident usage of some functions to be described a little better in more detail. I found myself having to look at multiple online areas to really understand some of the functions that were glossed over. Otherwise, this was a very helpful course that should be taught to all disciplines involving any amount or type of data.

교육 기관: Chanchal D

Jul 08, 2020

The Course Design is good however what i give three stars is for the following reason

The Sound Quality is straight up very poor . i have to put my speakers to full volume to atleast make it clear and audible , which leads to other pc programs to cause loud noise with the same sound volume

Many Topics in the course like Factors etc were not clear in the tutorial videos and i had to most probably go out of my way to find the meaning and uses

Rest The Course Is Top Quality . Thank You For the course

교육 기관: Paul R

Mar 12, 2019

This is really R part 2, getting into file/API handling, data frames, regular expressions etc. The specialization focuses on data frames though little coverage of data tables needed for the capstone. Some of the ordering of the materials was confusing e.g. this course revisits date/time handling which was started in the previous course. Assignments are interesting and Swirl exercises are useful. All in all, the combination of these R courses gets you up to speed.

교육 기관: Kai P

Aug 08, 2018

The quality of this course is much better than the earlier two. Although this course still has the problem of feeling like a disjointed series of topics on singular functions, there is much more of a cohesive overall theme and structure so it feels a bit more like you're building towards an overarching goal. The final project directly relates to the lectures and felt like a solid way to connect most of the ideas to a project on real data.

교육 기관: Daniel H

May 18, 2020

I suggest changing the quizzes and assignment questions more often because they're all over the internet for this course and rest of the courses in the specialization. I understand that students who are cheating are mostly hurting themselves, but it also affects the value and credibility of the certificates you're giving out.

In terms of course modeling and content, it's very nice. I really enjoyed. The swirl package is genius. Thanks.

교육 기관: Mary S

Apr 20, 2016

There were a lot of good nuggets in here, but overall this course felt somewhat disjointed compared to the others. It would be nice to have more practice with some of the different formats (e.g., JSON) and for exercises to loop back to some of the early content. I did like that the final exercise required a fair amount of investigation into understanding the documentation and relationship between the files before undertaking to code.

교육 기관: Mark B

Apr 07, 2020

The data downloads for two quizes appear to have been updated, meaning that there is no way to come up with the right answer. The course project could use some minor clarifications. I was very difficult to determine what was wanted, and this lead to my having to re-submit twice. The deliverables seemed to be confusing to both me and the graders. Course was difficult because of this kind of confusion, not because of the material.

교육 기관: Jake T T

May 31, 2017

Difficult course, I had to complete it over two sessions. I came into the Data Science track with no knowledge of computer language, which has made learning R particularly difficult; however, after the previous classes I am finally able to search for the information I need to complete the assignment. The other reviewers are correct that the final assignment is a doozy - it took me several hours to complete.

교육 기관: Christoph J

Aug 09, 2017

I would have given the course 4 stars if it wasn't for the last assignment which relies on other students to review your coursework. I understand that it is difficult to find another way of grading the assignments but the results of the process here are just too subjective and people influence your grade based on their subjective view on things, which I think is just wrong. Otherwise the course was good

교육 기관: Jo S

Jan 27, 2016

The content in this course is essential, but the delivery is patchy and the course project is hard to complete with just the learning materials provided. Read around the course and visit the data science specialisation wiki for extra information, and work through it at your own pace, rather than that suggested by the course. It's much easier to do this now it's on the new Coursera platform :o)

교육 기관: Tim j

Dec 31, 2016

decent enough but this is a heavy subject and really it is not that interesting although clearly necessary. I feel maybe it could have been organized better to make it more interesting Also reading some of Haldey wickhams book he deliberately keeps this part of Data Science away from new learners as it can be a bit dreary, so my recommendation would be to do some of the other courses first.

교육 기관: Bill J

Jan 07, 2020

In weeks two and three, the course presents a list of data format and how to read them into R. I would have preferred a better description on why tidy data sets are considered tidy that included some side-by-side comparisons and downstream effects of untidy data. This would help me evaluate the effort and risk of introducing errors from tidying the data against the benefit of tidying it.

교육 기관: Daniel P

Oct 24, 2019

T

h

e

c

o

u

r

s

e

i

s

good. I like the videos and the assignment. There is cerain redundancy of information. Much of the "new" information was already elaborated in the previous courses of the same specialization. Additionally, the grading system is based on other students whose knolledge may be not beyond the course scope and submitting an inovative solution can mean not passing the course.

교육 기관: Edward C

Feb 15, 2017

Lectures add very little to what you get simply by looking at the slides on your own. Facilitators are expert biostatisticians, not R programmers, and sometimes their explanations of R functionality is superficial and imprecise. The assignments are rigorous and challenging, however, and if you take the time to go through all of the exercises you will gain valuable knowledge.

교육 기관: Youssuf A

Apr 22, 2020

The theory is explained well and there is not much of a problem to follow the content. But there is a huge gap between understanding the theory and applying it practically. After one finished all lessons one is just not well enough prepared to solve the assignments. The problems, which one faces, are far too difficult to address without previous knowledge / experience.

교육 기관: Alexis C

Oct 12, 2018

first two week need an update, because many thing on the videos dint work easy on the computer, is not bad to look for more information about the subject on the web, but at least made that the examples on the videos work fine went anybody run the scripts on theirs computers, last two week are good a brief summary of R, and how to work with data, love those 2 weeks