Chevron Left
Data-driven Astronomy(으)로 돌아가기

시드니 대학교의 Data-driven Astronomy 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
1,142개의 평가
335개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Science is undergoing a data explosion, and astronomy is leading the way. Modern telescopes produce terabytes of data per observation, and the simulations required to model our observable Universe push supercomputers to their limits. To analyse this data scientists need to be able to think computationally to solve problems. In this course you will investigate the challenges of working with large datasets: how to implement algorithms that work; how to use databases to manage your data; and how to learn from your data with machine learning tools. The focus is on practical skills - all the activities will be done in Python 3, a modern programming language used throughout astronomy. Regardless of whether you’re already a scientist, studying to become one, or just interested in how modern astronomy works ‘under the bonnet’, this course will help you explore astronomy: from planets, to pulsars to black holes. Course outline: Week 1: Thinking about data - Principles of computational thinking - Discovering pulsars in radio images Week 2: Big data makes things slow - How to work out the time complexity of algorithms - Exploring the black holes at the centres of massive galaxies Week 3: Querying data using SQL - How to use databases to analyse your data - Investigating exoplanets in other solar systems Week 4: Managing your data - How to set up databases to manage your data - Exploring the lifecycle of stars in our Galaxy Week 5: Learning from data: regression - Using machine learning tools to investigate your data - Calculating the redshifts of distant galaxies Week 6: Learning from data: classification - Using machine learning tools to classify your data - Investigating different types of galaxies Each week will also have an interview with a data-driven astronomy expert. Note that some knowledge of Python is assumed, including variables, control structures, data structures, functions, and working with files....

최상위 리뷰

SK

2020년 9월 10일

Really amazing course! Gave me insights into how data analysis works in the field of astronomy and how one can use different machine learning techniques to classify the huge amounts of data generated.

MC

2020년 2월 28일

Its been amazing to learn about the celestial objects, stars, galaxies. The lectures and quizzes spurred in me to explore new material online. Great hands on exercises in python and machine learning

필터링 기준:

Data-driven Astronomy의 334개 리뷰 중 126~150

교육 기관: Arthur O

2020년 1월 27일

Great introductory course about different real world problems faced in the field of Astornomy and how different technologies and computational solutions can be applied to them.

교육 기관: ABDUL J K

2020년 4월 25일

An amazing course! Was a bit challenging at first, but it didn't take long for me to get the hang of it. Was quite interesting and informative throughout. Absolutely loved it!

교육 기관: Pierre G

2021년 2월 1일

Match with the description given.

Each week, some astronomical stuff are presented and then we learned who to recognize those proprieties in a data set thanks to computing.

교육 기관: Abdul A

2019년 1월 22일

Excellent presentation and delivery method by the instructors and very good course content. Highly recommend it anyone curious about Universe and to understand it better!

교육 기관: Aditi D

2021년 4월 3일

Absolutely stunning! As an undergraduate student, this course gives me an insight into what skills are really necessary for a strong grasp on research in Astrophysics.

교육 기관: Shivam R

2020년 5월 24일

An excellent course! Computer science students interested in astronomy will find this course very helpful to develop a practical approach for their programming skills!

교육 기관: Ananth R

2019년 4월 24일

Wonderful course and loved every bit of it. My only concern is that I would love to have some form of a certificate even though I can not afford to pay for the course.

교육 기관: AMIT S

2020년 5월 23일

Assignments are core of this course and are brilliantly designed . Pace of course is ideal and it encourages you to study more in each of skill area it touches upon

교육 기관: Vishvajith G

2022년 1월 21일

10/10 would recommend my peers to take on this course. Might need some pre-requisites but once they're met, the course is like the sky, you never stop watching it.

교육 기관: Sandeep P S

2020년 6월 26일

Excellent Course for introduction to Astronomy with Data Science. The assignments were well really well planned and the videos were involving. Loved the course !

교육 기관: Erik H

2019년 9월 28일

I really enjoyed this course. You'll learn some python, some SQL. But for me most important was learning more about astronomy and the universe. Very interesting.

교육 기관: Iván G M B

2021년 4월 29일

Simply amazing. The best course I've ever taken... Physics, Astronomy, Astrophysics, and Big Data Science. The tools needed to understand our universe. Thanks.

교육 기관: Carlos V G

2020년 6월 21일

Really enjoyable course. Great for learning basic stuff regarding data management and machine learning algotithms, all in the fascinating context of astronomy.

교육 기관: Ryan H

2017년 5월 6일

Great class! I didn't know that these techniques were used in astronomy. I am looking forward to more science and scientific computing courses from Coursera.

교육 기관: JAI S

2020년 7월 1일

This course was very thorough,easy to understand and really fascinating, every little bit was explained clearly. This is what an online course should be like.

교육 기관: Nohely B

2020년 6월 1일

Es un increíble curso! Bien organizado y con excelentes profesores. La herramienta externa es genial, con ella pude aprender a usar Python! Gracias por tanto.

교육 기관: Josh C

2019년 1월 2일

This class is incredible and inspirational. I learned so many highly applicable skills and I am very glad to have taken this class in its entirety. Thank you!

교육 기관: Tomás S

2022년 4월 5일

Very comprehensive and well explained course. It nicely introduces key concepts for everyone intestered in learning more about data science and astrophysics!

교육 기관: Syed K H

2018년 2월 25일

One of the interesting course and topic of coursera. Very informative, even you are not from this field, you will get lots of knowledge of this Astronomy.

교육 기관: Miguel A

2020년 4월 21일

Fue un excelente curso , me ayuda mucho para poder intentar el procesado de unos catalogos de galaxias en especial la parte del machine learning aplicado

교육 기관: Luis C M R

2021년 3월 9일

This course is amazing. I enjoyed learning about astronomy, writing code and applying machine learning models!. Where can is the second part coming out?

교육 기관: Matsvei Y

2021년 3월 1일

Very good and full of information course. Helped me in understanding a lot of astronomical theories and how to solve astronomical problems using python

교육 기관: Andrés A M

2021년 3월 27일

Great course!! Very entertaining and useful to introduce concepts of big data, machine learning and database management to physicist and astronomers.

교육 기관: Xiaoping L

2018년 3월 11일

It's awesome! the combination of lecture and coding-tast is a very brilliant mode. This is my first course I have ever finished in Coursera! Thanks!

교육 기관: karthik s

2020년 7월 22일

I really loved the content from this course. The information that was given in the course was at least from decades of research and its conclusions.