Chevron Left
Data-driven Astronomy(으)로 돌아가기

시드니 대학교의 Data-driven Astronomy 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
1,145개의 평가
337개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Science is undergoing a data explosion, and astronomy is leading the way. Modern telescopes produce terabytes of data per observation, and the simulations required to model our observable Universe push supercomputers to their limits. To analyse this data scientists need to be able to think computationally to solve problems. In this course you will investigate the challenges of working with large datasets: how to implement algorithms that work; how to use databases to manage your data; and how to learn from your data with machine learning tools. The focus is on practical skills - all the activities will be done in Python 3, a modern programming language used throughout astronomy. Regardless of whether you’re already a scientist, studying to become one, or just interested in how modern astronomy works ‘under the bonnet’, this course will help you explore astronomy: from planets, to pulsars to black holes. Course outline: Week 1: Thinking about data - Principles of computational thinking - Discovering pulsars in radio images Week 2: Big data makes things slow - How to work out the time complexity of algorithms - Exploring the black holes at the centres of massive galaxies Week 3: Querying data using SQL - How to use databases to analyse your data - Investigating exoplanets in other solar systems Week 4: Managing your data - How to set up databases to manage your data - Exploring the lifecycle of stars in our Galaxy Week 5: Learning from data: regression - Using machine learning tools to investigate your data - Calculating the redshifts of distant galaxies Week 6: Learning from data: classification - Using machine learning tools to classify your data - Investigating different types of galaxies Each week will also have an interview with a data-driven astronomy expert. Note that some knowledge of Python is assumed, including variables, control structures, data structures, functions, and working with files....

최상위 리뷰

SK

2020년 9월 10일

Really amazing course! Gave me insights into how data analysis works in the field of astronomy and how one can use different machine learning techniques to classify the huge amounts of data generated.

MC

2020년 2월 28일

Its been amazing to learn about the celestial objects, stars, galaxies. The lectures and quizzes spurred in me to explore new material online. Great hands on exercises in python and machine learning

필터링 기준:

Data-driven Astronomy의 337개 리뷰 중 176~200

교육 기관: Ted S

2017년 5월 24일

I've been looking for a class like this for a while. Nice intro to python and accessing and manipulating astro data

교육 기관: Steve B

2018년 6월 19일

I used it to learn Python which made it more challenging but the content inspired me to get through it... excellent

교육 기관: Diogo S

2017년 9월 3일

Astonishing course!

From Python basics to Scikit and the universe in a few weeks got smoother than I expected.

교육 기관: Gonzalo B

2018년 8월 7일

A great introduction to Data-driven Astronomy and a good way for starting to learn Python by solving problems

교육 기관: Ahammed A

2018년 5월 9일

A great course for a good understanding of the tools and the theoretical requisites of data driven astronomy

교육 기관: Christopher N

2022년 5월 7일

Great content and exercises. I learned more about modern astronomy and techniques for working with big data.

교육 기관: Ka W P N

2022년 2월 1일

A high quality course. You could learn not only Astronomy, but also practical application of Python and SQL.

교육 기관: Ishita -

2020년 3월 26일

if you want to put some hands on the modern of doing observational astronomy, go for it. an amazing course .

교육 기관: SHUBHAM K

2019년 7월 20일

Great lectures, interactive coursework, and easy to understand yet overwhelmingly powerful concepts! Lovely!

교육 기관: Martin R T

2020년 10월 26일

An amazing course that everyone interested in Astronomy and programming must take!! I highly recommend it!!

교육 기관: Caden G

2020년 11월 21일

Very relevant, topical material and some good actual hands-on practice with highly applicable techniques.

교육 기관: John O

2019년 7월 11일

Really interesting course.

I now need to make further study of the techniques introduced on this course.

교육 기관: Omar R T C

2022년 1월 25일

Superb course. Learned a lot about astronomy, programming, algorithms, and the role of data in science.

교육 기관: Daanish P

2020년 5월 1일

wow, this course made my quarantine time :) thanks dr. tara and simon murphy for this beautiful course.

교육 기관: Alexandra B

2021년 12월 10일

G​reat course! It covered a lot of relevant topics, but was still light, interesting, breezy and fun!

교육 기관: Terence

2020년 5월 15일

Very good module. I have learned a lot about how to analyze huge data by using computational skills.

교육 기관: Daniel N H

2020년 9월 19일

Absolutely gorgeous! It has exceeded my expectations in so many levels that I can't even explain...

교육 기관: Cecilia G

2019년 7월 5일

Great course, does help to have a background in python so more time can be spent on the activities.

교육 기관: p v k

2019년 5월 12일

Outstanding presentation in making even a novice like me understand the fundamentals of the course.

교육 기관: SOURABH S

2018년 12월 22일

Ultimate Course,A proper mixture of Data Science,Statistics,Machine learning and Astronomy.Loved it

교육 기관: Kusha S

2021년 6월 6일

A​bsolutely Amazing course. Had a lot of fun doing the excersises and implementing the solutions.

교육 기관: Abhas P

2020년 6월 26일

Only complaint, there should be an option to save the codes we have written. Even in text format.

교육 기관: Craig T

2018년 8월 28일

Really good basic intro to data analysis, particularly applying this to the astronomical domain.

교육 기관: Ivet S M

2018년 6월 15일

I've enjoyed a lot this course. I've learnt a lot of things and I would recommend it to everyone

교육 기관: MUZAMMIL M

2022년 5월 23일

Very good course, lot to learn about Astronomical Data Analysis. Highly Recommend to others