Chevron Left
Data-driven Astronomy(으)로 돌아가기

시드니 대학교의 Data-driven Astronomy 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
1,111개의 평가
322개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Science is undergoing a data explosion, and astronomy is leading the way. Modern telescopes produce terabytes of data per observation, and the simulations required to model our observable Universe push supercomputers to their limits. To analyse this data scientists need to be able to think computationally to solve problems. In this course you will investigate the challenges of working with large datasets: how to implement algorithms that work; how to use databases to manage your data; and how to learn from your data with machine learning tools. The focus is on practical skills - all the activities will be done in Python 3, a modern programming language used throughout astronomy. Regardless of whether you’re already a scientist, studying to become one, or just interested in how modern astronomy works ‘under the bonnet’, this course will help you explore astronomy: from planets, to pulsars to black holes. Course outline: Week 1: Thinking about data - Principles of computational thinking - Discovering pulsars in radio images Week 2: Big data makes things slow - How to work out the time complexity of algorithms - Exploring the black holes at the centres of massive galaxies Week 3: Querying data using SQL - How to use databases to analyse your data - Investigating exoplanets in other solar systems Week 4: Managing your data - How to set up databases to manage your data - Exploring the lifecycle of stars in our Galaxy Week 5: Learning from data: regression - Using machine learning tools to investigate your data - Calculating the redshifts of distant galaxies Week 6: Learning from data: classification - Using machine learning tools to classify your data - Investigating different types of galaxies Each week will also have an interview with a data-driven astronomy expert. Note that some knowledge of Python is assumed, including variables, control structures, data structures, functions, and working with files....

최상위 리뷰

SK
2020년 9월 10일

Really amazing course! Gave me insights into how data analysis works in the field of astronomy and how one can use different machine learning techniques to classify the huge amounts of data generated.

MC
2020년 2월 28일

Its been amazing to learn about the celestial objects, stars, galaxies. The lectures and quizzes spurred in me to explore new material online. Great hands on exercises in python and machine learning

필터링 기준:

Data-driven Astronomy의 320개 리뷰 중 301~320

교육 기관: Gautam B

2017년 4월 21일

Great and quick way to learn things. Thanks for the troubles taken to put this together. Some of the computational exercises could do with a little more clarity of language. But, overall, Great!

교육 기관: Francisco

2019년 5월 15일

Interesting introduction to machine-learning techniques applied to astronomical data. I think very adapted to astronomers willing to learn about this topic or to astronomy students.

교육 기관: GAVIN W

2019년 9월 29일

If you want to learn Python and a bit of Machine Learning in the context of Astronomy then this is a great course to give your skills a boost and learn more about modern Astronomy.

교육 기관: Chairrex C

2021년 1월 23일

I am interested in stars, galaxies and black holes. Learning to write simple programs about data processing in astronomy has enhanced my understanding of these fields.

교육 기관: José L I M

2020년 7월 29일

I've been researching on both machine learning and astronomy, this is a nice course to get introduced on how things are being made in data-driven Astronomy.

교육 기관: John I

2019년 8월 31일

I enjoyed the course.

The only issue was with a couple of the python labs not having the data to try within my own environment.

교육 기관: Ayush R

2020년 5월 15일

One of the best courses on astronomy and coding. So thoughtfully created and explained. I would love if y'all do this course!

교육 기관: Ignacio d L A G

2019년 12월 27일

He aprendido cosas, hasta ahora, desconocidas para mi. Me ha abierto la curiosidad por investigar

교육 기관: Anand K

2020년 1월 31일

So the course is of introductory type. Not much in depth. Great for beginners in Data Science.

교육 기관: Yash M

2021년 11월 27일

It is nice and useful course. Hope it will give me some momentum in my project work!

교육 기관: Alastair K

2018년 1월 7일

great course with practical python programming. very informative and easy to follow

교육 기관: Rita A

2020년 7월 10일

This course involved a brilliant interplay between theory and application !

교육 기관: Harsh T

2020년 4월 8일

It has been a fantastic journey of Astronomy with actual data and coding.

교육 기관: Jordi G P

2018년 12월 10일

Pretty good introduction to both Big Data treatment and modern astronomy!

교육 기관: Enrique J E B

2019년 9월 8일

Nice introduction to machine learning using an interesting topic.

교육 기관: Antariksha M

2019년 9월 10일

Great Learning

교육 기관: Andrew L

2020년 10월 19일

The course was interesting, but suffered from being a little to lightweight in both the Astronomy and Data Driven aspects - it probably tries to do too much in a short period of time. If you already have some programming knowledge, esp in SQL or Python, the practical assignments you'll likely find quite easy and can be completed in under half the estimated time. I'd be interested in seeing an advanced version of this course though!

교육 기관: Robert N

2017년 11월 25일

Sorry, but this course was one of the weakest I have followed.

교육 기관: Shalini s

2020년 6월 17일

actually i wrongly pressed this course and its not unenrolling