Chevron Left
Data-driven Astronomy(으)로 돌아가기

시드니 대학교의 Data-driven Astronomy 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
1,178개의 평가

강좌 소개

Science is undergoing a data explosion, and astronomy is leading the way. Modern telescopes produce terabytes of data per observation, and the simulations required to model our observable Universe push supercomputers to their limits. To analyse this data scientists need to be able to think computationally to solve problems. In this course you will investigate the challenges of working with large datasets: how to implement algorithms that work; how to use databases to manage your data; and how to learn from your data with machine learning tools. The focus is on practical skills - all the activities will be done in Python 3, a modern programming language used throughout astronomy. Regardless of whether you’re already a scientist, studying to become one, or just interested in how modern astronomy works ‘under the bonnet’, this course will help you explore astronomy: from planets, to pulsars to black holes. Course outline: Week 1: Thinking about data - Principles of computational thinking - Discovering pulsars in radio images Week 2: Big data makes things slow - How to work out the time complexity of algorithms - Exploring the black holes at the centres of massive galaxies Week 3: Querying data using SQL - How to use databases to analyse your data - Investigating exoplanets in other solar systems Week 4: Managing your data - How to set up databases to manage your data - Exploring the lifecycle of stars in our Galaxy Week 5: Learning from data: regression - Using machine learning tools to investigate your data - Calculating the redshifts of distant galaxies Week 6: Learning from data: classification - Using machine learning tools to classify your data - Investigating different types of galaxies Each week will also have an interview with a data-driven astronomy expert. Note that some knowledge of Python is assumed, including variables, control structures, data structures, functions, and working with files....

최상위 리뷰

SK

2020년 9월 10일

Really amazing course! Gave me insights into how data analysis works in the field of astronomy and how one can use different machine learning techniques to classify the huge amounts of data generated.

MC

2020년 2월 28일

Its been amazing to learn about the celestial objects, stars, galaxies. The lectures and quizzes spurred in me to explore new material online. Great hands on exercises in python and machine learning

필터링 기준:

Data-driven Astronomy의 346개 리뷰 중 301~325

교육 기관: Jiqing H

2019년 6월 11일

great course!

교육 기관: Israel d S R d A

2020년 2월 7일

Very helpful

교육 기관: Renato T

2020년 7월 31일

Excellent!

교육 기관: 唐怀金

2019년 4월 23일

very good

교육 기관: Kristina

2017년 4월 19일

Excellent

교육 기관: Nikhil G M

2020년 6월 13일

great

교육 기관: Victor M

2017년 5월 17일

This course lies in the confluence of both my professional experience (software development in the IT industry) and the science that interests me the most: astronomy and astrophysics. Just a glance at the syllabus was enough to convince me that the course would be worth taking, due to its good structure and wide scope, covering current trends in both data science and computational astronomy.

From previous online course experience in these areas, I knew at the beginning that contents can be hard to grasp if the theory and practice are not well balanced, but it turned out to be a great run, with enough depth to pique one's interest while at the same time feeling comfortable using both past and newly acquired knowledge.

The course sports an excellent tool to solve and test the programming assignments that constitute most of the grades you will earn. Thanks to it, you will be freed, as a student, from the most common hassles in online courses involving coding (mainly environment setup). Which means more chances to focus on the main subjects covered and a pleasant wading through the challenges posed.

Beware that if you are already comfortable ín the programming language used (Python), you may easily be craving for more advanced assignments, but this I'm sure is easy to request from the helpful professors and staff. If you are instead a novice with regards to coding, additional parallel effort may be required, but the course contents will guide you well in the endeavor.

One aspect of the course that may be specially challenging is the relatively speedy run through the theory and concepts of Machine Learning. A myriad other online courses on the subject exist already; the course focusses instead more on the application of the techniques and nicely shows real world (or more appropriately, universe :-) ) applications which will help cementing the theories behind. I would expect that if you have not had previous contact with the subject, the contents can feel a bit daunting. But with some extra commitment (check the numerous online resources, take a parallel course...) I am pretty sure this can be overcome.

교육 기관: Tomislav P

2020년 1월 27일

Generally, I liked the course and really enjoyed it; I think it is really well made. However, I decided to give it 4/5 stars, because it is a bit short, covers only a small part of astronomy and machine learning and because exercises are not that challenging and too much help is sometimes given. I'd give it 5 stars if the course was a bit longer (2-3 times as long), covered more astronomy and machine learning topics (with exercises as well), and maybe most importantly forced the participant to go through more materials to be able to finish the course. Nonetheless, I'd like to thank the course's creators!

교육 기관: Abel C D

2020년 6월 9일

the course is informative. It combines computing theories along with astronomy. It also helps deal with us about how important is data analysis from the perspective of the astronomer. The number of lecture videos are very less. And don't deep dive into the concepts of astronomy itself. We have to read a lot. Also, this course uses grok learning software, even though it's a great method for coding exercise it has many drawbacks of not fully conveying the concepts. Moreover, the course is a bit outdated when compared to current machine learning algorithms.

교육 기관: Kavan P

2020년 9월 25일

I actually wanted to give four and a half stars but the option is not available. Anyway, this is a great course, teaching us some the best skills about handling the innumerous space data. The only thing is, I found some difficulties to understand the coding in some tasks just because I'd a very basic idea of using Python, and the demand of skills required for a new learner of Python are increasing exponentially. Except that, it was a great experience to learn with this course! Thank you University of Sydney.

교육 기관: Pavel K

2018년 10월 20일

Overall the course is great, I highly recommend it to astronomers who want to learn some new tricks in data science. Meanwhile, it is not so useful for everyone else - lections are super brief and superficial, coding assignments are very easy and not challenging at all, not only you have a pretty self-explanatory template (do A, do B), but it is possible to view a complete solution right away, which is rather strange approach.

교육 기관: Ιοannis A

2022년 3월 4일

Great introduction to the world of computational astronomy. I especially enjoyed the theory and details in astronomy-related subjects at each section. The computational techniques seemed rather simple/introductory and not explained in great detail. Having a good background in computer science and machine learning techniques is a plus to smoothly go through this course.

교육 기관: Rene F

2017년 9월 4일

So far, the first week has been interesting. Challenging because I am new to Python (I am a C/C++, Swift and ABAP developer) . The assignments are well guided - challenging but far from impossible.

I would like the videos to be a little longer or give a little more theoretical background but mostly it has the right amount of info.

교육 기관: Adam S

2017년 6월 25일

I thought this class was a great application of Python Programming to an interesting topic that I otherwise would not have learned. However, coming from a computer science background, the programming was pretty easy. If you are looking to strictly learn more about programming, I would suggest a more difficult course.

교육 기관: Antoni C M

2018년 10월 7일

I've really enjoyed this course! There are a lot of new things to learn in it. Just to say something not so good from my point of view is that in the exercises sometimes the libraries or code to use could be a bit more explained or documented. But in general it's very good. I recommend it.

교육 기관: Antonio P

2020년 8월 29일

It is a very interesting course and the way astronomical problems and coding problems are connected is seamless and very interesting. Also, the videos have great quality and the interviews were great. I only wish it was a bit longer and also pandas were part of it

교육 기관: Doug

2018년 1월 28일

Good course, with fun examples to work with. I'm not an astronomer, and mainly took the course for fun,but the things I've learned here will be useful for my own research. About the only thing I would have liked to see was more background material on each topic.

교육 기관: ganesh n

2022년 3월 6일

this was an amazing course which gave me a general idea about the sheer amount of data that is required in DDA. How to handle the large volumes of data and many more. And most importantly how data is being used to find answers to the secrets of the universe.

교육 기관: Roberto G

2020년 6월 30일

Very interesting approach to astronomy, although I would have preferred larger part of the course devoted to strictly astronomical topics and less time spent on basic quantitative notions. By the way, thank you, you gave me some hours of enjoyment.

교육 기관: Archana B

2020년 7월 10일

An amazing course to get started for someone like me, passionate about astronomy and closely related to the field of computer science. Very well organized and nicely explained course with great visuals and mid-tests. Kudos to the instructors!

교육 기관: Apoorv S

2021년 4월 17일

Could have been a bit more elaborate. At many points during the activity I felt like I was just doing what was asked without really was happening fundamentally .So overall activities could have been a bit more Indulging hard and informative.

교육 기관: K S R

2019년 9월 25일

A really good course covering a variety of subjects in both astronomy and data analysis which is exactly the combination I was looking for. A final exercise covering all the topics taught would have been a fitting end to the course.

교육 기관: Vibha

2019년 12월 8일

Well-taught, good supporting resources, and heavily rooted in application. The external grading tool exceeded expectations as well. Next time, would prefer more of the code being explained by the instructors.

교육 기관: Federico T

2017년 7월 24일

A good introduction in Data Astronomy with Python. I missed some lessons about python to finish some of the volunteer exercises and some contact with astronomy data from the web, but it is a great course.

교육 기관: Gautam B

2017년 4월 21일

Great and quick way to learn things. Thanks for the troubles taken to put this together. Some of the computational exercises could do with a little more clarity of language. But, overall, Great!