Chevron Left
Data-driven Astronomy(으)로 돌아가기

시드니 대학교의 Data-driven Astronomy 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
1,114개의 평가
324개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Science is undergoing a data explosion, and astronomy is leading the way. Modern telescopes produce terabytes of data per observation, and the simulations required to model our observable Universe push supercomputers to their limits. To analyse this data scientists need to be able to think computationally to solve problems. In this course you will investigate the challenges of working with large datasets: how to implement algorithms that work; how to use databases to manage your data; and how to learn from your data with machine learning tools. The focus is on practical skills - all the activities will be done in Python 3, a modern programming language used throughout astronomy. Regardless of whether you’re already a scientist, studying to become one, or just interested in how modern astronomy works ‘under the bonnet’, this course will help you explore astronomy: from planets, to pulsars to black holes. Course outline: Week 1: Thinking about data - Principles of computational thinking - Discovering pulsars in radio images Week 2: Big data makes things slow - How to work out the time complexity of algorithms - Exploring the black holes at the centres of massive galaxies Week 3: Querying data using SQL - How to use databases to analyse your data - Investigating exoplanets in other solar systems Week 4: Managing your data - How to set up databases to manage your data - Exploring the lifecycle of stars in our Galaxy Week 5: Learning from data: regression - Using machine learning tools to investigate your data - Calculating the redshifts of distant galaxies Week 6: Learning from data: classification - Using machine learning tools to classify your data - Investigating different types of galaxies Each week will also have an interview with a data-driven astronomy expert. Note that some knowledge of Python is assumed, including variables, control structures, data structures, functions, and working with files....

최상위 리뷰

SK
2020년 9월 10일

Really amazing course! Gave me insights into how data analysis works in the field of astronomy and how one can use different machine learning techniques to classify the huge amounts of data generated.

MC
2020년 2월 28일

Its been amazing to learn about the celestial objects, stars, galaxies. The lectures and quizzes spurred in me to explore new material online. Great hands on exercises in python and machine learning

필터링 기준:

Data-driven Astronomy의 322개 리뷰 중 151~175

교육 기관: Michael W

2019년 3월 8일

This is a very well organized, interesting, and, quite frankly, fun class. I especially liked being able to do hands-on exercises in Python.

교육 기관: Pedro d S Q

2020년 5월 30일

I liked the way the lectures were presented, and each assignment help me in getting a better grasp on the subject we were learning about.

교육 기관: Andrew J

2021년 7월 23일

E​xcellent MOOC providing astronomical knowledge along with the application of that knowledge in data science using real-world problems.

교육 기관: Abhinuv N P

2017년 4월 24일

Excellent course for astronomy enthusiasts with really useful and informative Python Assignments. One of the best MOOCs I have attended.

교육 기관: Danilo S O

2020년 6월 9일

Such an amazing course, one really learns so much, good methodology. All the assignments were very useful and instructors explain well.

교육 기관: Pamela S P

2020년 6월 7일

Curso con hartos contenidos interesantes y explicados de una manera simple y entendible. Me encantó el formato de programación que usa.

교육 기관: Meghna D

2020년 12월 4일

I really like how well-paced it is. it definitely is a good introductory course for someone who is interested in pursuing this field.

교육 기관: francisco

2019년 5월 11일

An exciting course towards data science is involved in other topics as Astronomy, and a glimpse on the techniques that are being use.

교육 기관: Tony G

2019년 8월 22일

Excellent course. One of the best I've taken. Love that real data sets were used to illustrate the concepts. Highly recommended.

교육 기관: Gaureesh C

2020년 8월 15일

Great course for Astronomy enthusiasts as well as for people looking to improve coding skills in python, sql and machine learning.

교육 기관: Давыд А

2021년 12월 26일

I​ just want to say thank you very much! It's a great course. I got acquainted with the basics of big data analysis in astronomy.

교육 기관: Pier-Francesco R

2019년 6월 17일

It's a good start point if we want to understand actual astronomy and the analysis of new big surveys like SDSS or the next LSST

교육 기관: John A

2020년 12월 10일

An excellent introduction to the uses and benefits of data science in Astronomy, using real world examples. I really enjoyed it

교육 기관: Marco P

2021년 9월 14일

Great course and a great opportunity to learn about data analysis, classification of galaxies and astronomy. Very inspiring.

교육 기관: Abhijeet B

2020년 4월 23일

Excellent course designed to provide a good introduction to data analysis in astronomy with plenty of hands on excercises.

교육 기관: Timothy J N

2020년 4월 16일

This course really gave me an understanding of the methods of modern astronomy as well as the basics of working with data.

교육 기관: Dhruv P

2019년 12월 2일

For the first time, I've learnt the application of programming languages in the field of Astronomy. A course worth taking.

교육 기관: Jeremy J

2020년 7월 24일

Clearly presented overview of necessary techniques in data wrangling with real world, astronomy sourced, coding examples.

교육 기관: fouchereau r

2020년 1월 15일

Was a pleasure to take this course, It is well balanced between astronomical information and Machine Leargning concepts.

교육 기관: Aayush

2017년 7월 1일

A great course that helps one understand the basics of data analysis and how they are used in observational astronomy.

교육 기관: Carlos N

2018년 4월 19일

It's been a very interesting and enriching point of view of astronomy. I loved the way computing can help astronomy.

교육 기관: Ted S

2017년 5월 24일

I've been looking for a class like this for a while. Nice intro to python and accessing and manipulating astro data

교육 기관: Steve B

2018년 6월 19일

I used it to learn Python which made it more challenging but the content inspired me to get through it... excellent

교육 기관: Diogo S

2017년 9월 3일

Astonishing course!

From Python basics to Scikit and the universe in a few weeks got smoother than I expected.

교육 기관: Gonzalo B

2018년 8월 7일

A great introduction to Data-driven Astronomy and a good way for starting to learn Python by solving problems