Chevron Left
Data Manipulation at Scale: Systems and Algorithms(으)로 돌아가기

워싱턴 대학교의 Data Manipulation at Scale: Systems and Algorithms 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.3
697개의 평가
152개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Data analysis has replaced data acquisition as the bottleneck to evidence-based decision making --- we are drowning in it. Extracting knowledge from large, heterogeneous, and noisy datasets requires not only powerful computing resources, but the programming abstractions to use them effectively. The abstractions that emerged in the last decade blend ideas from parallel databases, distributed systems, and programming languages to create a new class of scalable data analytics platforms that form the foundation for data science at realistic scales. In this course, you will learn the landscape of relevant systems, the principles on which they rely, their tradeoffs, and how to evaluate their utility against your requirements. You will learn how practical systems were derived from the frontier of research in computer science and what systems are coming on the horizon. Cloud computing, SQL and NoSQL databases, MapReduce and the ecosystem it spawned, Spark and its contemporaries, and specialized systems for graphs and arrays will be covered. You will also learn the history and context of data science, the skills, challenges, and methodologies the term implies, and how to structure a data science project. At the end of this course, you will be able to: Learning Goals: 1. Describe common patterns, challenges, and approaches associated with data science projects, and what makes them different from projects in related fields. 2. Identify and use the programming models associated with scalable data manipulation, including relational algebra, mapreduce, and other data flow models. 3. Use database technology adapted for large-scale analytics, including the concepts driving parallel databases, parallel query processing, and in-database analytics 4. Evaluate key-value stores and NoSQL systems, describe their tradeoffs with comparable systems, the details of important examples in the space, and future trends. 5. “Think” in MapReduce to effectively write algorithms for systems including Hadoop and Spark. You will understand their limitations, design details, their relationship to databases, and their associated ecosystem of algorithms, extensions, and languages. write programs in Spark 6. Describe the landscape of specialized Big Data systems for graphs, arrays, and streams...

최상위 리뷰

HA

Jan 11, 2016

Great course that strikes a balance between teaching general principles and concepts, and providing hands-on technical skills and practice.\n\nThe lessons are well designed and clearly conveyed.

SL

May 28, 2016

I like the breadth of coverage of this class. Each of the exercise is a gem in that I get to learn something new also. I would highly recommend this even to experience practitioner also.

필터링 기준:

Data Manipulation at Scale: Systems and Algorithms의 148개 리뷰 중 101~125

교육 기관: Kenneth H M N

May 15, 2017

Overall a good course, with teachings bit into very manageable lengths of time. My biggest grievance is that your submission has to be in encoded in a particular format (utf-8) if memory serves. So you may have to resave your .txt files if you try to do all the programming on a windows laptop. This may be obvious to some, but it took me a little to figure out.

교육 기관: Dany M

Aug 21, 2017

There are times where a user without a very fast connection will struggle to set up, the virtual machine is impossible to get for them. Between the internet and the forum the needed information is there but it makes the first assignment take 15+ hours. A little help on the assignment page on how to get going on Windows would save a lot of people some time.

Apart from this ist is quite good. The automatic grading is amazing and the videos quite nice.

교육 기관: Gregory C

Nov 25, 2017

Very good class - the assignments were pretty uninteresting, though.

교육 기관: Sajit K

Jan 12, 2016

Its pretty decent. I liked the assignments. However there were some typos in the lecture slides and also the grader output is not very friendly.

교육 기관: Hao-en S

Nov 14, 2015

Excellent course content and lecture, however, the homework design is not so friendly for students.

First, instructions are not clear. I spent a lot of time in figuring out the real meaning behind each problem. Second, the judge system is not so rigorous. Though trying best on homework and not playing tricks are students' responsibility, the judge system is just too weak to survive those hackings.

Thank you all for your efforts.

교육 기관: Vijaya S K K

Mar 28, 2017

Excellent course!

교육 기관: Christine

Jul 09, 2016

This is a great introduction. I would give it a higher scoring but was frustrated with one of the labs have issues in the grader and even after completion of the course its not clear what was wrong: the instructions, the solution data set, the input data set. Other then that enjoyed the content.

교육 기관: Dmitry G

Jan 02, 2016

Last week of the course is too much information and without any assignments it kind of doesn't make much sense and it doesn't stick.

교육 기관: Dongying Z

Feb 09, 2019

Pros: The content of the course is great. It introduces fundamentals of big data technologies to those who are new to this field, with some hands-on practices.

Cons: The instructions of assignments are not always clear - they are corrected in the discussion forum but why not updating in the assignment page? Usage of Python 2.7 is also somewhat out of date since it's 2019.

Biggest con: The way the lecturer talks is more than annoying. Full of stop words like 'fine', 'ok', with occasionally correcting mistakes on slides or diverging to other topics - there are only a few minutes each video and how much time did the lecturer wasted on talking nonsense? It's fine if he talks like that on some 90-min-long classes but it's on Coursera. Sometimes I just skimmed the slides rather than listen to him.

교육 기관: Arto P

Dec 07, 2015

The emphasis on methods rather than specific tools makes the course more resistant to the continuous changes in technology. The stage is set well, and there are practical implementations. Still, it's disappointing to see that errors from previous rounds have not been corrected.

교육 기관: Ryan S

Mar 28, 2016

Long, slow, rambling video. I watched most of it at 1.75x. Slides are kind of a mess and lectures are disorganized.

교육 기관: Brian D

Sep 17, 2016

The lectures are all just the right length. As a working professional, it was easy to consume the course in my varying bits of free time. For the most part, the assignments were good. There were a few places where there were mistakes in the instructions or the code downloaded from github had some errors. It was fairly clear that these mistakes have been around for quite sometime, so I wonder why nobody ever bothered to update the code in github or update the bad instructions. This is the internet, not a published textbook. That should be pretty easy to fix. It was also a little disappointing that the 4th lesson was extra long in terms of lectures and had no related assignments. The course was marked as completed when I finished the 3rd assignment so the fourth lesson was effectively optional.

교육 기관: Tushar T

Jan 08, 2016

Assignments were just not that challenging except first one

교육 기관: Fisher

Aug 01, 2017

little touch of everything, it's good intro for non-tech, but way too shallow for a student from tech background

교육 기관: Alexander B R

Mar 22, 2017

Overall I enjoyed this course and got a broad overview of the various technologies used in big data analysis. The course is video heavy but short on practice. There are 3 assignments the first 3 weeks, then week4 is an endless series of videos. I really enjoyed the assignments but felt there should have been more assessment/practice provided -there are no quizzes to reinforce understanding. The readings provided are mostly academic ones which aren't that clear to beginners (even to programmers like me).

In contrast, a Python data science course on another MOOC platform has 4 times as much content with practice exercises after every video, mid and final exams, weekly problem sets as well as readings.

Ultimately the course showed me what I need to learn next to get into Data Science but the first course hasn't given me confidence that the rest of the specialization will be worth the money.

교육 기관: Daniel V

May 30, 2017

If you don't know Pythonl, don't take this course.

교육 기관: Stefan K

Dec 28, 2015

Somehow interesting course about Data analysis. The lectures are interesting for those who have no prior knowledge about the topics, but boring to those who have it. The assignments are quite challenging and the disadvantage is, that they are not connected to the lectures and are therefore not well explained. What I like about the assignments is, that it is practical.

교육 기관: Theo L

Jan 04, 2016

This course has appealing assignments and covers interesting topics. The course, however, has two fatal flaws. First, the lectures are a bit disjointed. While there is much to learn in the lectures, the lecturers style is a bit halting and scattered (it would have been much better presented if the lecturer had a script to read off of.) As is, the lectures are mediocre, which is unfortunate since the lecturer is clearly knowledgeable about the topics presented.

Second, the assignments suffer from a lack of good error messaging and no support in the forums (aside from what you will find from other students, which can be very helpful at times.) The assignments themselves are a great approach to learning concepts (and you get to work with real data, like the Twitter data), but without good error messaging when you submit a script you pretty much end guessing where you are taking a wrong turn.

I had high hopes for this course, but it seems as though it fails on execution.

교육 기관: Griffin S

Oct 05, 2015

Program instructions could be more specific. Make it clear exactly what format the programs output should be.

교육 기관: 罗杰彬

Oct 29, 2015

the material is too simple. This course is just like a brief introduction, but not a course in college to teach student the real knowledge. I think MOOC course should be the same as a real college course. With the same difficulty and amount of material.

교육 기관: James S

Jan 07, 2018

The material is good. If you can get past the instructor's mumbling and rapid speaking then you'll be okay.

교육 기관: Ingo B

Oct 10, 2015

This is a cooked up version from an earlier, more extensive course. Lecture videos now split from 10-14 minutes into lots of 4-6 minute videos. It seems, some assignments are missing, too.

교육 기관: Martin M

Jan 05, 2017

Good content for Data Scientists but video lessons are not sufficient to be able to complete the assignments. It required great deal of own searching and trials and errors to complete the course.

교육 기관: Eric B C C

May 28, 2016

Found the assignments were 'very loosely' aligned with the lecture material and had poorly formed problems in places.

Lectures were reasonably good but not quite up to the standard set with other U of W Data Science courses or other University Data Science / Machine Learning courses I have taken.

교육 기관: Bernhard S

Oct 29, 2015

Lots of good material, though I don't like how they've repackaged the original material from the prior longer version, which I worked through at my own pace a year ago, off session. Cramming all the material relating to NoSQL and Graph Analytics into the final week without assignment is ineffective. Instead, consider focusing the 4th week on NoSQL, and keep an assignment with it, maybe even the original Pig assignment that required and AWS account. I don't think the nominal charge Amazon will levy would hold anybody up who's serious about learning to process data at scale, it's just a few bucks.