Chevron Left
Data Manipulation at Scale: Systems and Algorithms(으)로 돌아가기

워싱턴 대학교의 Data Manipulation at Scale: Systems and Algorithms 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.3
697개의 평가
152개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Data analysis has replaced data acquisition as the bottleneck to evidence-based decision making --- we are drowning in it. Extracting knowledge from large, heterogeneous, and noisy datasets requires not only powerful computing resources, but the programming abstractions to use them effectively. The abstractions that emerged in the last decade blend ideas from parallel databases, distributed systems, and programming languages to create a new class of scalable data analytics platforms that form the foundation for data science at realistic scales. In this course, you will learn the landscape of relevant systems, the principles on which they rely, their tradeoffs, and how to evaluate their utility against your requirements. You will learn how practical systems were derived from the frontier of research in computer science and what systems are coming on the horizon. Cloud computing, SQL and NoSQL databases, MapReduce and the ecosystem it spawned, Spark and its contemporaries, and specialized systems for graphs and arrays will be covered. You will also learn the history and context of data science, the skills, challenges, and methodologies the term implies, and how to structure a data science project. At the end of this course, you will be able to: Learning Goals: 1. Describe common patterns, challenges, and approaches associated with data science projects, and what makes them different from projects in related fields. 2. Identify and use the programming models associated with scalable data manipulation, including relational algebra, mapreduce, and other data flow models. 3. Use database technology adapted for large-scale analytics, including the concepts driving parallel databases, parallel query processing, and in-database analytics 4. Evaluate key-value stores and NoSQL systems, describe their tradeoffs with comparable systems, the details of important examples in the space, and future trends. 5. “Think” in MapReduce to effectively write algorithms for systems including Hadoop and Spark. You will understand their limitations, design details, their relationship to databases, and their associated ecosystem of algorithms, extensions, and languages. write programs in Spark 6. Describe the landscape of specialized Big Data systems for graphs, arrays, and streams...

최상위 리뷰

HA

Jan 11, 2016

Great course that strikes a balance between teaching general principles and concepts, and providing hands-on technical skills and practice.\n\nThe lessons are well designed and clearly conveyed.

SL

May 28, 2016

I like the breadth of coverage of this class. Each of the exercise is a gem in that I get to learn something new also. I would highly recommend this even to experience practitioner also.

필터링 기준:

Data Manipulation at Scale: Systems and Algorithms의 148개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Shibaji M

Sep 17, 2015

This is a great course

교육 기관: Asier

Nov 21, 2015

Excellent overview of the Big Data field and its relation to eScience.

교육 기관: Miao J

Dec 25, 2015

Great course. Very helpful!

교육 기관: Usman

Dec 27, 2016

A great course. I would just like more assignments and more information about spark.

교육 기관: Ahmed M E E

Apr 14, 2017

Very good and informative course for data scientists and data engineers

교육 기관: Daniella B

Apr 21, 2016

Lectures are great and well structured. Programming assignments are just amazing and interesting. Great course!

교육 기관: Robert H S J

Feb 15, 2016

I learned so much from this course. In particular, I've got a much more solid grasp of SQL (even though I've been using it for 30 years), and much more clarity about "map/reduce". The lectures are clear, delivery is excellent, and the assignments are interesting.

교육 기관: Benjamin T

Feb 25, 2016

- great and very useful overview of concepts important in big data that does not get bogged down in random details

- interesting and sufficiently challenging assignments

교육 기관: Daniel W

Apr 26, 2017

For me, a really nice combination of

1. a theoretical overview of database and data processing concepts, MapReduce and the most important implementations of the various concepts (SQL and NoSQL databases),

2. practical application of these concepts in real-world programming exercises.

I like the way Bill explains, and I like the exercises - however, to complete those, you need to be ready to learn the technology on your own, the lectures are NOT about learning the technology (Python programming etc.) to do the exercises. For me, that's fine, but for people who have little or no programming experience it might be frustrating.

So, if you like the combined approach of this course, I can really recommend it!

교육 기관: devang

Oct 04, 2015

Amazing Course!

교육 기관: Francisco A J

Mar 06, 2017

Overall, this was an excellent introductory course. The instructor presented the material in a very clear manner and introduced all topics using applied examples. The weekly assignments were aligned with the course content as well, allowing me to apply the knowledge learned in each lesson.

교육 기관: Raheel H

Jul 01, 2019

A great way to start, and become familiar with the nature, requirements & analytics of today's data.

교육 기관: Killdary A d S

Jul 04, 2019

Excelente curso, conteúdo fácil de entender e realmente desafiador. Recomendo para quem quer entender como é realizado a extração e análise de dados não estruturados.

교육 기관: Desiree D

Jul 31, 2019

Hard but awesome

교육 기관: Bingcheng L

Aug 04, 2019

Very very very tough for me. took me 3 months to finish.

But I learned so much from this course.

교육 기관: Minh T

Aug 24, 2019

Great for students.

교육 기관: Muhammad Z H

Sep 19, 2019

learnt a lot

교육 기관: Huangtastic

Sep 10, 2019

The lecture covers a broad range of materials, from complexity of algorithm to map reduced formulation. The assignments are challenging and up to date. However, I would prefer the lecture to be more technical and coherent.

교육 기관: Muhammad A I

Sep 11, 2019

Love the the concept of "learning abstraction rather than tool".

교육 기관: Dan C

Jun 09, 2016

I enjoyed this course and found it challenging. Good job!

교육 기관: Maxime B

Mar 01, 2016

The power-point used has a lot of mistakes corrected live by the speaker.

The speaker speech is sometime slow and not precise, it probably has been recorded only once.

Apart from that the content covers the subject and the assignments are relevant and fun.

교육 기관: Fermin Q

Nov 03, 2016

It gives good information, but frankly covers way too many tools at the end, and the explanations are good but somewhat rushed. Some parts were a little boring, as no immediate practical use seemed on the horizon.

교육 기관: SIU C M

Sep 29, 2015

It is a comprehensive course for learning quite up-to-date technology and concept.

교육 기관: Kay S

Feb 06, 2016

There are some inconsistencies in the course or the arrangement of the videos, maybe due to technical problems.

For improvement I would really wish to have some substantial results, especially in the last week of the course. That is, I would prefer to discuss at least something in depth rather than everything broadly.

교육 기관: Alari

Dec 03, 2015

Very good course, but lectures could be more tuned onto the home assignments. A lot of independent work for me at least. Teacher is very good.