Chevron Left
Pattern Discovery in Data Mining(으)로 돌아가기

일리노이대학교 어버너-섐페인캠퍼스의 Pattern Discovery in Data Mining 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.2
195개의 평가
42개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Learn the general concepts of data mining along with basic methodologies and applications. Then dive into one subfield in data mining: pattern discovery. Learn in-depth concepts, methods, and applications of pattern discovery in data mining. We will also introduce methods for data-driven phrase mining and some interesting applications of pattern discovery. This course provides you the opportunity to learn skills and content to practice and engage in scalable pattern discovery methods on massive transactional data, discuss pattern evaluation measures, and study methods for mining diverse kinds of patterns, sequential patterns, and sub-graph patterns....

최상위 리뷰

DD

Sep 10, 2017

The first several chapters are very impressive. The last three lessons are a little difficult for first-learners. The illustration are clear and easy to understand.

GL

Jan 18, 2018

Excellent course. Now I have a big picture about pattern discovery and understand some popular algorithm. Also professor points out the direction for further study.

필터링 기준:

Pattern Discovery in Data Mining의 42개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Luca B

Dec 28, 2018

Very poor.

No programming assignment. No more users in forum. Lessons are just a list of algorithm without a detailed explanation.

교육 기관: Prashant K

Mar 05, 2017

I'd review this course for two parts: lectures and programming assignments.

Lectures: Prof. Jiawei Han is a pioneer of the subject. However, I was expecting a more indepth elaboration of techniques. In almost all his lectures he covered very crucial topics at a near-shallow level. For someone like me, it was a motivation to be learning the subject from him but I was left disappointed a little bit. I felt if i was just to gain a superficial understanding then I would have browsed through any website/blog/article rather than paying for this course and coming here under his tutelage. I will not expect him to be as thorough as he'd be in his lectures at UIUC (although why not!) but a more elaborative explanation with more notable examples (instead of pointing to the reading material at the end of 4th minute of the lecture) will be more fruitful and a better learning experience.

The programming assignments are challenging and will definitely open up the thought process towards being able to imagine what patterns mean and how to go about extracting them.

교육 기관: Aleksandra H

May 26, 2019

Briefly described a lot of stuff that could have been explained more visually and demonstrated with step-by-step examples more often. This might be expected for a 4-week course, but it would have been nice to extend it instead of trying to fit it into a compressed time frame. The required programming assignment could have been clearer about how the work should be structured and submitted.

교육 기관: To P H

May 08, 2019

Course content too dense with many lectures serve as mere summary of advanced papers with little explanantion of technical terms. Too much mention of advanced topics with not enough coverage and depth for each topic

There are not many examples of the algorithm/of a case that can be solved using an algorithm. Little math is involved

Course should be longer (6 weeks) with longer lectures with more examples and exercises

This makes the content quick to be forgotten.

교육 기관: Raj A S

Apr 11, 2019

very time consuming

교육 기관: Devender B

Mar 06, 2019

One star less because of errors in the quiz questions which is not acceptable when it is mandatory to pass

교육 기관: Sergey

Feb 12, 2019

A good overview of data mining. The course turned out to be quite casual, with many quizzes requiring only knowledge of some definitions which disappeared from my short-lived memory in no time. I suppose it is based on a much more detailed and challenging one taught at the University of Illinois. On the other hand, programming assignments were fun.

교육 기관: Thomas G

Feb 08, 2019

so hard to understand his english. only reading from slides not really explaining a lot or giving intuitions. Not happy with this course.

교육 기관: SAURABH K

Feb 02, 2019

nice

교육 기관: chenjing

Dec 27, 2018

very great!it's very helpful for me! thank you !

교육 기관: Eric A S

Nov 22, 2018

Very interesting and very clearly explained.

교육 기관: Felix K

Sep 10, 2018

Very well taught. The teacher has a very good understanding of the level of detail that can be addressed. He uses clear examples and keeps each lesson to the point. The quizzes are short and focussed on what was taught in the course.

교육 기관: Ian W

Aug 16, 2018

compact class which teaches you lots of knowledge without wasting any time, using frequent tests to renew your memory and test your comprehension.

The programming assignment is a little bit challenging though. I would like to post a guide if I figure out how to get 100/100.

교육 기관: Carlos R

Jul 18, 2018

Very usefull course. I learned too much about pattern discovering.

교육 기관: Srinath R M

Jul 10, 2018

Gave a very good introduction of Pattern Discovery and different mechanisms/algorithms for pattern discovery. Talks about different pattern discovery approaches, pros & cons of each. Found it very helpful for my investment analysis project

교육 기관: Begoña

Jun 23, 2018

It's really hard to understand the explanations of the teacher. I gave up after the first week.

교육 기관: Mykola K

May 25, 2018

Very well-organised course. I especially liked the assignments: programming assignments were helpful to apply the course (this makes you implement the methods you learn), so were multiple-choice questions that really make you think on the course content. The instructor was clear and provided good materials. I would recommend this course.

교육 기관: Logan J T

May 15, 2018

I would prefer to see this class split into two. I felt topics did not receive enough time to truly learn them. I would also like to see a more advanced course that required programming assignments.

교육 기관: Vaibhav K

Mar 26, 2018

Nice work plan

교육 기관: GANG L

Jan 18, 2018

Excellent course. Now I have a big picture about pattern discovery and understand some popular algorithm. Also professor points out the direction for further study.

교육 기관: Cheng-shuo Y

Dec 12, 2017

It is a good course but more knowledge are expected to be filled, e.g, some algorithm can be detailed or illustrated with simple-case instantiation.

교육 기관: Limber

Nov 28, 2017

I don't really like the Programming Assignment of this course.

I have took over one month to figure it out, and the feedback system don't even provide me any help. The day that I have registered for this course, the coding is still new to me although I have got the training like 1 year thanks to Andrew Ng. And I could only used MATLAB/Octave or Python to solve the quiz. I have tried to use MATLAB to finished this course, but I failed many times. Finally, I have decided to use Python to solve this PA, and the algorithm is still hard for me to complete, so I used the python tool that with the algorithm in it and fix a little.

I believe that this course is a really good course, and Jiawei Han is a real kind person. BUT even for some other courses, we got a startup(like Andrew Ng's Machine Learning Course and Koller's PGM).

However, besides the PA, the rest of the course is really worth taking. I read the books for times and figured out that it indeed help! Though, it is hard for a new student. You should have to dive deep into the course which you should read more about this subject. Jiawei Han's work is only a startup.

Thank you very much.

교육 기관: Jaroslaw G

Nov 11, 2017

OK course, some lectures with too much breadth at the cost of depth

교육 기관: Vivian Y Q

Oct 13, 2017

very unhelpful lecture, basically learn everything by yourself

교육 기관: Darren

Sep 10, 2017

The first several chapters are very impressive. The last three lessons are a little difficult for first-learners. The illustration are clear and easy to understand.