Chevron Left
데이터 과학 벼락치기 강좌(으)로 돌아가기

존스홉킨스대학교의 데이터 과학 벼락치기 강좌 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.5
별점
7,930개의 평가

강좌 소개

By now you have definitely heard about data science and big data. In this one-week class, we will provide a crash course in what these terms mean and how they play a role in successful organizations. This class is for anyone who wants to learn what all the data science action is about, including those who will eventually need to manage data scientists. The goal is to get you up to speed as quickly as possible on data science without all the fluff. We've designed this course to be as convenient as possible without sacrificing any of the essentials. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the field of data science. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know. 1. How to describe the role data science plays in various contexts 2. How statistics, machine learning, and software engineering play a role in data science 3. How to describe the structure of a data science project 4. Know the key terms and tools used by data scientists 5. How to identify a successful and an unsuccessful data science project 3. The role of a data science manager Course cover image by r2hox. Creative Commons BY-SA: https://flic.kr/p/gdMuhT...
하이라이트
Basic course

(76개의 검토)

Well taught

(48개의 검토)

최상위 리뷰

MD

2016년 8월 27일

Is really hard to summarize the potential of Data Science and being clear, but I think that the instructors have done their best, so that we can achieve the most from the Course.

Great Job!

SJ

2017년 9월 9일

This is a great starter course for data science. My learning assessment is usually how well I can teach it to someone else. I know I have a better understanding now, than I did when I started.

필터링 기준:

데이터 과학 벼락치기 강좌의 1,462개 리뷰 중 1301~1325

교육 기관: Rohan J

2020년 6월 26일

cool

교육 기관: Swarnava G

2017년 8월 23일

Nice

교육 기관: Yakshdeep D

2020년 4월 15일

V

교육 기관: AHMET E

2017년 11월 28일

t

교육 기관: Naren

2017년 3월 2일

v

교육 기관: Jatin P

2015년 10월 19일

G

교육 기관: ram s

2016년 3월 19일

I want to give 3.5 stars but there is only option for 3 or 4.

Given that it's geared more towards wanna be managers in this field. I would have expected lot of case studies, and links to additional material for individual reading plus a mini write up or a project at the end.

For MOOCs to compete with a degree program or an onsite instruction few of the things I think that are needed are

Interviews with industry practitioners which is a big plus.

interviews/postings from people with similar background as the 90% of the MOOC students of this program who made it... this motivates the students from dropping from the middle of the course/specilization programs

links to additional articles that the students can read at leisure

writeup/project as assignments that the students can pursue and publish (not necessarily for grade but as a mind jogger)

One more thing that I think should help (not specific to this course) is that the student with the best grade should be offered one free course and think this will motivate the students to complete the courses.

교육 기관: Nate A

2016년 1월 5일

I wanted to like this course but It felt entirely too academic in terms of both the subject matter and the way the specifics of "data science" are presented. The course content reminded me of my time a few years ago when I was enrolled in a Ph.D. program at a major Tier 1 research university. The professors were great, but the content was esoteric and incredibly focused on research based "data science" and less on business analytics or more practical applications of data science for the working professional. I felt myself re-watching the videos to try and understand the content because there were many instances where the professors' spoke about some fundamental aspect of data science but failed to provide some real world context. I liked the course but I would not recommend it as a crash course for the working professional, more like a crash course for someone who already has a degree in statistics/math/engineering who is looking to further their studies in an academic setting where research is the main goal.

교육 기관: Keiko B

2018년 3월 31일

I felt the explanation were in between data science for beginners and someone who already had taken a statistics course. I feel that it was important at the beginning to give more real life examples of the usage of data that were compelling. And then take those real life examples and break it down for us using a single inspired project. That would have helped me better understand some of the principles that seemed a bit abstract for me.

교육 기관: Prasun B

2020년 8월 19일

I liked mostly Mr. Jeff Leek and Mr. Roger D. Peng's clear and well-composed presentations. But I am disappointed with the certificate format because there is a big note at the bottom which was printed not once but twice and therefore some part of went out of border. After all the hard-works to get such a certificate doesn't feel good at all. Same experience with the "Psychological First Aid" course certificate.

교육 기관: Puranjay M

2017년 7월 23일

I think the course structure could be improved to give a better balance between the reading materials and spoken content. Though I understand it is a crash course better correlation between real life examples could help augment the course. For the amount of time spent the course does give a quick overview, but if you are looking for more business specific knowledge you will have to take additional courses.

교육 기관: Siddharth M

2017년 2월 26일

The first week gave me a good insight into the data science process. I now understand the situations in which Data Science can best be applied. However, I still do not fully understand the statistics aspect. It would help me if the instructors would provide examples in detail of supervised vs unsupervised learning. I seem to understand the theory behind it but I am not sure how valuable it will be for me.

교육 기관: Shyam S

2019년 2월 11일

I personally found it difficult to understand some of the language used, which I think could be simplified better. I personally learn better, when I'm not being overloaded with loads of facts & info, however I did like that we could do some reading at our own pace, then get shown a video. I like the videos, and the quizzes.

교육 기관: Santiago S

2017년 9월 27일

Good starting point, maybe too short. Hope next courses on the specialization become more extense in content. I've always have issues to follow Peng's line of thinking, it's like kinda in some way he is doing some sort of improvisation or so, I love his books, but his lectures are very hard to follow, even the short ones.

교육 기관: Pavan M

2018년 11월 9일

This course is very basic and completely theoretical. The grading of questions is not proper. The passing mark is 80% but there are only 4 questions. Answering 3 questions correctly gives you 75% and answering 4 questions gives you 100%, then where is the passing mark question.

But the content is good.

교육 기관: Aydin A

2016년 6월 3일

Was expecting more of the how to's and a bit of programming or at least concepts of the programming/statistics, but I guess there are different interpretations of the idea of a crash course.

Definitely geared for people who work with data scientists but not in the data science field.

교육 기관: Sarge S

2017년 2월 11일

Brian Caffo's lectures were rambling and confusing, with excessive use of jargon without proper explanation. His graphs were overwhelming with information, and little effort was made to explain the graph. Otherwise, the other lectures were very good, concise, and clear. Thank you.

교육 기관: Edward W

2015년 9월 26일

A good introductory overview of data science. Grounds you on what you can & cannot do with data science. I find defining the question really impactful. Teachers were enthusiastic and the brevity of the course gives it good appeal for beginners who want to "get their feet wet".

교육 기관: Elizabeth R

2016년 1월 27일

Good, simple, straightforward, and applied. It starts to introduce you to the language and platforms of data science, but it is most definitely not a standalone course if you want to be conversant in the field. Really just a "taster" to get you into the specialization.

교육 기관: Cecilia B

2017년 11월 8일

More lectures but each lecture should be shorter. More examples for each topic would be good.

However it is a crash course, so it is more of an overall description of Data Science, which also gives you suggestions to enhance your knowledge in other courses

교육 기관: Achal J

2020년 5월 11일

This course is pretty basic so don't expect much. Basically this course is more reading than understanding but the articles suggested are good. If you are serious regarding data science then this course may be of not much use to you.

교육 기관: Saurabh G

2019년 8월 12일

Not all lectures in the course are well done. The one on the data scientist toolbox is good and could have more details. The one separating data science from statistics is too confusing. May need to redo the video on that one.

교육 기관: Evgeny K

2016년 9월 25일

This course leaves you frustrated, as valuable information is only ad the end and at the beginning. It doesn't really answer questions of what are data science, big data, machine learning, how they interact and how to use them.

교육 기관: Magne G

2019년 9월 19일

Okay content, very mix of level of information. Could state better the terms used in the DS world. The quiz part is not well formed questions, more there to mislead than actuelly verify the knowledge