Chevron Left
The Data Scientist’s Toolbox(으)로 돌아가기

존스홉킨스대학교의 The Data Scientist’s Toolbox 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
29,887개의 평가
6,376개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
하이라이트
Foundational tools
(243개의 검토)
Introductory course
(1056개의 검토)

최상위 리뷰

LR
2017년 9월 7일

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

SF
2020년 4월 14일

As a business student from Bangladesh who is aspiring to be a data analyst in near future, I love this course very much. The quizzes and assessments were the places to check how much I exactly learnt.

필터링 기준:

The Data Scientist’s Toolbox의 6,235개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Anh T N

2020년 7월 24일

Very basic stuff and very dull, monotone computer-synthesized voice. The quizzes are also so easy you may as well not take them.

교육 기관: Francisco J O D

2020년 8월 9일

I'm a web developer who is interested in a career in the Data field. That means I know version control and I have more than basic computer knowledge.

I read 1 star reviews' and found people saying lots of things, for example:

1) "Having a course that teaches you how to install programs is very basic and lazy"

The Data Science field sounds challenging to me. Even though I know how to install programs, this easy approach makes the course seems achievable for me. I'm thankful for this, because I guarantee this course will suit people with different academic backgrounds and since it's not really complicated or difficult, it is in fact a very welcoming introduction for a field that might scare people.

Even though I thought this course was going to dig deeper into Data Science topics, the title of the course states it clearly: Data Scientist's Tool Box.

2) "The robotic voice is so boring and distracting I couldn't finish the course"

It wasn't for me. In fact, it was better. I found it less distracting than watching a human being talking.

Also, I think the way they explained why they make the course videos this way is genius. It makes you want to learn Data Science, which I think is one of the most important things a teacher should do: get you excited about the subject.

This course is intended to be completed in 4 week, I finished it in a week.

I do think it's a good starting point and I didn't find it "too basic" at all.

Give it a try if you've never been a tech dude or dudette.

교육 기관: Senthil K M

2016년 11월 11일

Impressive explanation on the subject., Freshers with no knowledge about the domain can easily understand the subject. Thank you so much for such a fantastic MOOC mode of learning possibility. Love it all.

교육 기관: Deleted A

2017년 11월 12일

Really impressed with the completeness of the learning environment. I would rate this more highly than a traditional classroom because of the interaction and opportunity to go over concepts repeadedly.

교육 기관: Zahscha G

2020년 5월 25일

I enjoyed the format of this course. It was a good quick introduction to some Data Science concepts, R, and Git. I liked that the same material was available in video/audio as well as reading material.

교육 기관: Clifton H

2018년 10월 16일

Straightforward and the tasks aligned well with the instruction. Examples were used to good effect. Highly recommend using the course forums if you're stuck on a problem (especially the final project).

교육 기관: Darky C

2018년 11월 27일

Pretty good in explaining the basics of data science

교육 기관: Adeyemi O A

2019년 1월 10일

Very good course for beginner in data science

교육 기관: JEFFERSON D S N

2018년 8월 31일

SIMPLESMENTE SENSACIONAL !

교육 기관: Maximiliano F M

2020년 8월 12일

Its a basic course to learn general terms of data science. It helps you to set up all the programs that you need to start in this discipline: RStudio, Github and some additional good practices. In general, its a good course. However, I missed coding and a person explaining the videos (i understand the idea behind this, but the concepts on this particular Mooc are so introductory that the argument is not valid for me)

교육 기관: Usenaliev N

2018년 12월 8일

Would be great to have more reading materials

교육 기관: Aman U

2019년 1월 5일

Good but need more explanations for topics.

교육 기관: PALAKOLLU S M

2018년 8월 10일

Teaching of lessons are simply amazing.

교육 기관: Jasmine P G

2018년 8월 16일

The course is clear and good to learn,

교육 기관: Md. Z M

2020년 5월 23일

The course is well structured with enough content provided on each topic. However, the steps to install softwares on Linux, or any instructions to complete the setup on a Linux machine, is missing. Also, I feel that the course is so basic, both in content and duration, that it could be accommodated easily in a few lectures in the next course in the Specialisation. In a nutshell, it doesn't deserve a price tag.

교육 기관: Lakmini R

2020년 6월 8일

It was basic but was very helpful. However, more things on actual data science should have been included in the course

교육 기관: Rahat R

2020년 6월 11일

Computer voice is not good to listen otherwise the course will be a great material to start data science.

교육 기관: Yujian B

2020년 6월 10일

Automated videos are difficult to focus.

교육 기관: S.M.Abid R

2020년 7월 19일

It seems very basic

교육 기관: ANURAG A

2020년 6월 10일

Robot voice should be replaced by the course instructor's face to face interaction.

교육 기관: Robert T

2020년 6월 9일

Good course content but I really disliked the robotic voice used in the lecture.

교육 기관: Adam C

2020년 7월 21일

I started the course but didn't like the computer based audio lectures.

교육 기관: SHENGNAN Y

2017년 11월 12일

I missed the entire course deadline just because I stuck in one of week 4 projects - pushing a file into GitHub. When I went to the forum, there are so many people in the same situation. The main reason is that the week 4 video did not cover the project content well. Overall, compared to other programming courses I took on Coursera, this course is not well organized at all! Instructors basically just read words in slides, no interesting examples and no hands-on practices, especially week 4 slides that look like a syntax reference document. So the entire instruction is very boring, making me wonder why I need to sit here and listen to word reading rather than buying a textbook. Also, people coming here to learn it are new learners. When the instruction skipped much and made the content not logical and complete, it is very difficult for us to understand what the video is talking about. That's why in forum there are so many people expressing their confusions. This entire specialization is the one that I've taken and feel the worst (I got lost in the R course too). I strongly recommend the instructors of this course watch and learn how the instructor of the specialization "Python for Everyone" organizes and teaches the content. He makes programming become very interesting and easy to understand. He also provides many hand-on practices to help learners understand abstract concepts. Unfortunately this specialization instruction is just about reading words in the boring slides.....

교육 기관: Christina P

2020년 8월 11일

Although they spend ample time explaining how the course was using technology in order to stay up to date, it was far from it. If you are using a Mac computer, be prepared to google every assignment because the Mac instructions are going to be for an older version. Then I expected to learn about Data Science as a career... not in this class. I feel like I know no more about Data Science than I did when I began. I am probably not going to continue through the entire certificate, and instead learn the languages it suggested were more common - SQL and Python, and pick up the "Data Science" somewhere along the way.

교육 기관: Diego V B P

2019년 3월 11일

"You passed this course! Your grade is 100.00%."

I feel like I have not learned much.

Even though I have taken 100%, as you can see above, the course tackles very little programming. And the final project, it asks to do some activities, but when looking at the forum, I saw that what was talked about, had a level of knowledge that the course had not taught. But worst of all, was receiving financial help from 1/9 courses. Would not it be for the whole course? They are complementary. What will I do with 1 certified course, which as you can see my complaint above, I have not learned anything?