Chevron Left
Data Wrangling, Analysis and AB Testing with SQL(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 대학교 데이비스 캠퍼스의 Data Wrangling, Analysis and AB Testing with SQL 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

3.5
별점
604개의 평가
231개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course allows you to apply the SQL skills taught in “SQL for Data Science” to four increasingly complex and authentic data science inquiry case studies. We'll learn how to convert timestamps of all types to common formats and perform date/time calculations. We'll select and perform the optimal JOIN for a data science inquiry and clean data within an analysis dataset by deduping, running quality checks, backfilling, and handling nulls. We'll learn how to segment and analyze data per segment using windowing functions and use case statements to execute conditional logic to address a data science inquiry. We'll also describe how to convert a query into a scheduled job and how to insert data into a date partition. Finally, given a predictive analysis need, we'll engineer a feature from raw data using the tools and skills we've built over the course. The real-world application of these skills will give you the framework for performing the analysis of an AB test....

최상위 리뷰

MF

2020년 9월 22일

A good course for learning and apply sql to conduct analysis on ab testing results. Would be better if the instructor could provide more info about how to design and apply AB Testing on the customers

SP

2019년 7월 29일

The instructor is very smart and her syllabus is very easy to follow. The real life examples are great and helps put ideas in perspective! I would definitely recommend this course and already have!

필터링 기준:

Data Wrangling, Analysis and AB Testing with SQL의 235개 리뷰 중 201~225

교육 기관: Georgios A

2020년 8월 10일

This course lacks some structure, overview and professionalism (like editing the videos). Nevertheless, it is a useful of this specialization, if ones has the extra time to invest.

교육 기관: Sahil G

2022년 7월 2일

The way instructor explained the concepts is not upto the mark. Assignments can really never be completed based on the explanation of the concept given by the instructor.

교육 기관: Manuel J J

2020년 4월 26일

The instructor knows SQL but she needs to take some classes on learning design and teaching. The course is somewhat messy and underprepared.

교육 기관: Kevin D

2021년 8월 30일

not very organized, and the labs were not as good as most I've taken in coursera. the tool is rather difficult to navigate.

교육 기관: William F

2020년 12월 1일

Course content is interesting. However, the projects and practice problems are poorly guided with inadequate instructions.

교육 기관: Ümid O

2020년 5월 14일

Poorly designed course. Not enough explanation to solve the exercises.

교육 기관: Dalvir B

2022년 6월 1일

Was presented overly complicated for the code used.

교육 기관: Yifeng W

2021년 9월 1일

This course is almost a waste of your time.

교육 기관: Mei H

2020년 5월 11일

It is really hard to follow.

교육 기관: Якухин В С

2020년 12월 18일

Did not like

교육 기관: Justin M

2021년 1월 16일

This course did deal with some useful ideas; things like research design, statistical testing, and what to do with data that isn't cleanly structured. A lot of times, it was like the instructor was taking a normal day on a data science job and walking you through it.

The issue is the lack of structure to the course. Because it was like a a day on a job, there weren't explicit learning goals. Things like "Today we're going to learn how to clean messy data" isn't a learning goal. Instead, you want something like "Here are some ways in which data are messy. I'll walk you through what I do with each one."

The assignments reflect this. I can't stress enough how poorly the assignments supported my learning. The assignments were usually very vague, with instructions that I had to parse through to understand what was even required of me. Questions that just asked open-ended "Does this look right?" kind of questions? I mean... looks fine to me, but I'm literally in a beginner SQL course so what do I know? Then we watch a solutions video where the instructor writes the code to answer it. It lacks any kind of student engagement and doesn't facilitate learning at all.

It's really indicative of the lack of structure of the course. Since there aren't learning goals, there isn't any framework from which to design assignments. The information lacks context, so it doesn't seem useful until the very final assignment, when you need to have learned the A/B testing stuff (but not really anything else). The course material doesn't build together in a logical fashion. I feel like you could take the 4 modules in any order and you'd get the same out of it. This suggests that there isn't a core skill that's being developed over time, but rather a mishmash of ideas that might be useful in a data science position.

In all, I can't recommend this course. The instructor is an excellent data scientist, I'm sure. But her teaching could use some work.

교육 기관: Domenic P

2022년 6월 14일

the platform we are instructed to use only includes a 14 days trial so make sure you finish the course before!!! Or else you might have to pay for it to finish the course!!

Sorry to say this but this because i firmly believe the instructor is a very nice and intelligent person but the course felt like a waste of time to me. I only finished it for the specialization.

The first two to three weeks were mostly irrelevant to the final project. And the module about AB testing felt taken out of context with no proper explanation how a test is set up etc. Even I as an experienced regression analysist felt very confused by her "explanations"

I felt lost during the exercises. The gap between the first course and this course is tremendous. Also, the instructor does not explain anything, rather she expects you to know everything in before or to google your problems. She does provide a solution but its hard to follow why she is doing what she is doing and more than 50% of the videos is her checking on her own mistakes. Furthermore codes during exercises are screenshots not actual lines of code which means you have to copy every starter code by hand which takes a lot of time in the later exercises....I feel sorry to say that because she really does seem a kind and nice person and I believe she has deep knowledge about the topic but the way of "try it for yourself and then I'll show you" is not what i expect from a PAID course. What is the point of paying for a course when I have to refer to external information, get unclear instructions such as "Look at the table and tell me about it".... The first SQL course was so great that I was really looking forward to this course but it turned out to be quite disappointing... :(

교육 기관: Joseph C

2020년 12월 20일

Very poor course. The information was very hard to interpret as the videos provided in the course did not give live output of the query being used or highlight the important sections that were being described. Additionally, the actions requested in the quizzes were incredibly vague and did not prompt the learner for what was actually being asked. This made it nigh impossible to complete the course as it was set up to accomplish. It did not ever even explicitly state which SQL language was being used (note it is different from the language used in the first course in the series). Finally, the crux of course was to teach AB Testing with SQL, however, it was explained in a fashion that was not clear or concise and did not demonstrate a real world sense of how it could be implemented in a work environment, how to set up an experiment, or even how it was accomplishing the task through SQL.

Hopefully it will make more sense as I go over the course from the beginning, but please be aware that this course was not well constructed and any insight that you might glean from it will require much more research on your part.

This course's concepts were not well explained, demonstrated, or executed.

Do not recommend...

교육 기관: Frank P

2021년 2월 16일

I'll start by saying that the subjects you are supposed to learn are important, and if you do a lot of separate study this course might be very good for you. However, the way it is taught is poor. The content is disorganized and not explained well, leaving you to have to do separate research. I'm not one to bash students needing to do their own research, however this class offers no guidance. The first course of this specialization was great, and I've heard great things of all of the courses that follow this one. However this course is a miss.

The concepts are good but the execution is terrible. Not enough time was spent on the lectures, the examples that are worked through aren't taught properly, you're just watching the instructor do the assignment with very little good explanation.

Personally, I'd recommend this course be reworked to be more descriptive in each section. An extra 2 weeks to allow the instructor to take her time teaching the concepts is a very good idea. The homework/assignments also need to have their instructions rewritten to be more clear.

교육 기관: Jannis

2022년 4월 25일

I​ have already completed a couple of courses on coursera and unfortunately I do not have lots of good things to say about this one. The videos did not prepare well for the practice exercises, the exercise sheets and solution videos seemed to have been set up quick and dirty and the quizzes were full of mistakes and misleading questions. But the setup and material was not the only problem. One of the main goals of the course was to show and get used to common problems you encounter when working with a new dataset. To reach this goal, an arbitrary dataset has been introduced and investigated in depth. Fair enough, but I do not think, that it is necessairy to do such an in depth investigation just to raise awareness that datasets might be messy and the use and distribution of such data must be done carefully. The methods themself will in most cases crucially depend on the dataset on the table and therefore will not generalize really well. I found it hard to believe that diving in an arbitrary dataset in depth for four weeks of my life was well spent time.

교육 기관: Nathen M

2022년 5월 29일

I know this course is rated as 'Intermediate', but unless you know window functions, how to already AB test, can magically do things with a lack on instructions, and fully understand the ins and outs of Mode don't waste your time. The final project they dump on you is nearly impossible without a full understanding of how to write reports in mode and use the graphing feature. The course does not build on itself and makes leaps and bounds in information. They throw work at you with poor instructions and simply show you the answers after. I'd stop for the day, shut down my pc, and then the next day start the next assignment. It asks to refer to a previous assignment and they don't tell you to save your previous work. This was a total nightmere and should be removed from Coursera or completely rewritten. Just youtube : 'AB testing sql' for a better understanding.

교육 기관: Thibaut C

2020년 6월 16일

This is a very practical course, with barely no theoretical aspect. You will get more experience of SQL with this course, that is for sure. The videos have very little actual content, they are more an introduction for the practical part that follows.

However, the instructor builds a sequence of strangely named metrics, and supposes you master it in a second. This is especially unhelpful for the project, where the questions are poorly presented and keep on using this vocabulary.

You will have to use another platform to test your code, which is not a bad thing per se. The problem is that this platform is far from intuitive…

This course seems to lack proper planning.

교육 기관: Anirudh

2020년 6월 18일

This course was not planned out well. I would be hard-pressed to believe that the people who created this specialization had any pedagogical training whatsoever.

Many of the exercises are only partially written and are littered with inconsistencies, typos, and poor instructions. I would suggest to the course creators that they should hire an editor, or at least someone to look over these courses prior to hitting publish.

I honestly would not recommend this specialization to anyone at any stage of learning SQL.

I did like that this course chose to use Mode to run the SQL queries. They seem to have many example datasets already loaded.

교육 기관: Alexander V

2022년 5월 31일

To much of a gap from the basic course. In addition some of the information was so old the course flow made no sense. Also there was no real instruction on a lot of the assignments, and no info on building off the querys until the next week way after you had moved on from them.

교육 기관: Andrés B

2021년 4월 17일

I don't like it, The metodology is a bit confusing; I realized at middle of the course that i need to save the SQL queries in order to use latter, so, should be mandatory and will be usefull to advertise it at the beginning of the course.

교육 기관: Ashlee R

2022년 2월 28일

I do not recommend this course. The dataset has been updated and does not match the instructors. I also feel that this course is a big jump from the first one. There really isn't much teaching. I will not be completeing this course.

교육 기관: Dev G

2020년 6월 27일

Code in lectures not explained properly. Discussion prompts with questions asked - these questions were not covered extensively beforehand. There are videos of solutions afterwards- but these discussion prompts seemed pointless.

교육 기관: Minal A

2021년 4월 8일

Poorly designed course. Exercise are not good, instructions are unclear.

Wasted so much time to figure out what to do next, how to do it with unclear instructions.

Covered important concepts but couldn't practice them through

교육 기관: Jeffrey C L

2021년 2월 2일

I am withdrawing from this course. The firs section was great with Sadie. The second, data wrangling, is very difficult to follow, feels very unorganized and without direction.

교육 기관: Yunjong G

2021년 7월 31일

I​ don't think materials provided, especially for the installation of mode were correct.

I​ had to search how to use it on my own which took a long time.