Chevron Left
Data Science Math Skills(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Data Science Math Skills 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.5
별점
9,311개의 평가
2,113개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

최상위 리뷰

RS
2020년 5월 5일

This was mostly review for me though probability especially Beyes Theorem derivation was new. The instructors provided clear often refreshing ways to look at material.\n\nThank you for a great class!!

VC
2020년 5월 16일

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

필터링 기준:

Data Science Math Skills의 2,094개 리뷰 중 1876~1900

교육 기관: William M

2020년 10월 11일

The positives first: Brought me up to speed on important statistics and probability information for my future career.

The not so good: The second instructor does not need to show his face. That was very distracting.

There was no working often provided in the course notes. Sometimes when I would work through a problem I would make one calculation error and couldn't easily figure out which one it was. I would prefer if they would show each calculation step by step. That would have made things a LOT faster and easier. Instead I relied to brainly, which is a great website.

교육 기관: Essa

2020년 11월 10일

I think the first two weeks were great but the probability explanations could be better. I'm sure Edgar is a great scientist but he's not very organized and the videos are very cluttered (not everyone is fit to teach just because they are in the industry). The topics covered in the probability portion of this course are better explained on free sites like Khan. I took this course to have a better understanding of the binary classification portion of the referenced specialization but don't think I gained a good understanding of the material from this course alone.

교육 기관: Lucia S

2018년 11월 12일

The course started nice and well explained, there are some useful info missing, e.g. what is Euler's constant and why is it defined as it is and then more practice examples would be also welcome. All that would be fine and I would have given the course full 5 stars, but I felt really discouraged with so many errors in the practice quizes and even in the last graded quiz. Additionally, it was a bit annoying that I could not finish the quiz on my phone as in one of the questions there was only the problem and the possible answers visible, not the question itself.

교육 기관: Benjamin D

2017년 9월 23일

If you are familiar with the concepts in this course, it will be fine. If, however, you happen to discover them for the first time here, the instructors go so quickly in their explanations that you'll end up with a high level of frustration.

When it comes to statistics, fewer concepts introduced per video, and more examples of each concepts would have been a better approach for real beginners.

Finally, don't believe you've acquired the "math skills" necessary for data science just by following this course. In this, the title can be seriously misleading.

교육 기관: Man D

2020년 4월 4일

The first Half of this course is wonderful. Well presented, interesting and something to look forward to. The second half is done by a different teacher, is confusing, disorganized and and time would be better spent elsewhere. I highly recommend the first half though, and then looking at the topics list for the second half and go elsewhere for those. There are some great recommendations of others videos and courses to cover the 2nd halves content in the course forum as it appears it was a common issue among students.

교육 기관: Jeremy E

2020년 10월 11일

About half of the concepts in the course were new, half a review of topics I studied in high school, about 15 years ago. For the review topics, this was a good refresher and the concepts came back quickly. For the topics I hadn't studied before, I felt like there wasn't enough explanation to fully understand the topics, and I had to seek out additional explanation outside the course. There could be more opportunities to practice and reinforce the concepts discussed in the lectures before moving onto the quizzes.

교육 기관: Michael B

2020년 12월 13일

Week 1 & 2 were done well. Week 3 & 4 lacked clear explanations. Too often the instructor jumped to the result without showing the work of how he reached the answer. I had to spend a lot of time looking elsewhere for explanations. The quizzes also asked questions on topics not covered in the coursework. For example, the course covered the probability of exactly x out n coin flips. The quiz asks the probability of at least x out n coin flips but the course work does not tell you how to calculate that anywhere.

교육 기관: Md A H A

2020년 12월 10일

The last portion is out of reach for the beginner 's level. but the first portion or i must say , 95% of the course is very good for a beginner to learn about hard topics. without the last portion of probability, i must the this could have been complete tutorial. the last portion is out or reach and no way its for beginner and even it seems the teacher didn't give any effort to teach beginner level students. he just tough what he teaches in his normal class to masters or phd level students/

교육 기관: Dave D

2018년 1월 26일

This course was a good refresher to some important math concepts needed for further study of statistics and data science. Most of the modules and videos were clear and easy to follow. However, I found the module on probability to be confusing and overly complex in its structure and explanations. For those with stronger math skills than me, it's probably a fairly easy course. I found it appropriately challenging, and for the most part it built my confidence in this important area.

교육 기관: Amber M

2020년 11월 18일

This course moves very quickly and you will need a scientific Calculator. I was never the best in math, and this gave me a solid view point of the maths I will need to learn better to focus on data science. If you are good with Maths, this might be a great refresher. I worked with a Tutor and got through it, But week 3 I think the videos are out of order, or could be ordered differently. Anyway, I was very challenged and now know exactly where to apply my energy.

교육 기관: Lucas L S

2018년 1월 31일

The course should be a guide text with very detail readings, with a lot of solved examples (complex ones) step by step. The readings should also explain very weel what I'm doing and why I'm doing each step, and in the end explain the exercise as a whole.

The practice quizzes should bring very real life examples (as thouse of VBS tests) and they have to match de guide text.

The videos should be made only from the most comum doubts and mistakes in the practice quizzes.

교육 기관: Maria S

2020년 2월 19일

I found the first two.5 modules very well done. However, the second half of week three and week four were very poorly done. I am still uncertain about the applications of Bayes' theorem and the combination/permutation concepts. I had a very difficult time with the last quiz and had to go elsewhere to actually learn what I needed to, and even so, I still do not understand the approach to solving some of the problems. Quite frustrating and not rewarding.

교육 기관: Donna C

2020년 11월 16일

While this was a good basic math, probability, and statistics refresher with good background material and reference documentation, it only scratches the surface of data science. I did like the problem solving style and the set theory this course encouraged, I did not find it sufficient to call a "data science" class. I understand this is may be a course prerequisite for other course, but alone I don't think it should refer to "data science".

교육 기관: christopher w

2018년 2월 25일

The first two weeks were well paced, in week 3 I think too much is covered too quickly and in week 4 there is a further acceleration. That said, the course was good in highlighting the areas that I feel I need to work on and motivated me to take University of Zurich's intro to probability which filled the gap for the content from week 4 here. I think this might be a good refresher course for someone whose knowledge is not too stale.

교육 기관: Anthony S

2021년 2월 10일

I would give it a 3.5. Good for introducing you to the concepts you might need, but very bad at explaining them. It is understandable since it is a short course. Just bear that in mind when you enroll, if you want to explore a concept in depth you will need to look elsewhere. My main concern lies in the fact that the test were slightly harder than the topics covered on the videos, but still in the realm of manageable.

교육 기관: Dan H

2019년 2월 18일

good subject matter choice; however, quality varied between the two professors. weeks 1-3 provided good clear lectures and enough practice questions; but week 4 had several confusing points in the lecture, then not enough practice. I really had to supplement my learning with outside videos and problems for week 4. but i passed the final test first time. thanks for narrowing down the maths needed for data science.

교육 기관: Patrycja J

2020년 5월 12일

Lessons 1-3 are ok. Everything is explained well and you can make the tests easily. 4 is very difficult and despite many trials, I was not able to make it. And because of chapter 4 I suggest you rather take another course.

There is also a technical problem, because the formulas are displayed in java script, so it is not easy to understand how the formula looks like, if you do not know the script :(

교육 기관: Phyllicia A M B

2020년 6월 19일

The lectures are very short and simple. Sometimes the explanations are not explained thoroughly. Students without background on the subject will find it difficult to apply the concepts in actual problems like in the quizzes. I hope you can improve your content, discussions, and quizzes so students without background in advance math can enjoy your course. Thank you!

교육 기관: Sina P

2021년 5월 18일

The course was useful and well designed. Trainees can achieve a noticeable background of data science and gain a good vision about what data science is. However, It would make the course more comprehensive if the trainers provide some real life example questions especially when talking about the mathematical rules and formulas during the course.

교육 기관: Brannon C

2020년 5월 11일

Helpful overview and review if it’s been a while since you taken stats and probability. But really needs more practice problems with explanations to practice through the workflow on the last two weeks. The formulas and calculations get pretty intense. They have printable handouts that go with all videos that were very helpful.

교육 기관: Raymond S

2019년 9월 21일

Keep in mind that this is meant to be an introduction to some of the math topics used in data science, it is not a comprehensive course. The course needs to include worksheets with practice problems for the students to practice. The instructors do not use enough real-world examples to demonstrate how the theory is applied.

교육 기관: ACHRAF T

2020년 4월 25일

je pense qu'il manque quelque définitions ,par exemple , pour dire que la probabilité d'un événement est égal à la somme de probabilités d'intersections de cet événement avec d'autres ,mais en fait on peut dire cela sauf si les autres événements forment un système complet d'événements. mais en général ça reste utile .

교육 기관: SAYAN B

2020년 4월 18일

The course videos for the topics for Week 3 and 4 are not well explained. Even some of the questions in the quiz are not written in proper format. Please look into this and make changes to the course. Otherwise the syllabus of the course is well designed and the probability questions are of quite high standard!

교육 기관: Jeffrey A B

2019년 6월 22일

Felt like the first 3 weeks were pretty good but the probability section needs a lot more detailed explanations and examples to make the information clear. For those that are already OK with this subject, it's probably fine but for those that haven't had much background in probability, this part was lacking.

교육 기관: Scott M

2020년 8월 16일

The first half was planned and organized. The second half seemed haphazard. Examples were a little hard to follow. Quizzes were fine and seemed to test the material presented. I have only taken three other courses (4 total) and this one seemed a little rushed and the second half was created on a whim.