Chevron Left
Data Science Math Skills(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Data Science Math Skills 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.5
별점
9,329개의 평가
2,118개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

최상위 리뷰

VS
2020년 9월 22일

This course syllabus is great. It starts wonderfully. Week 1 to 4 is taught by Paul Bendich, and Daniel Egger the instruction is awesome. Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills!

RS
2020년 5월 5일

This was mostly review for me though probability especially Beyes Theorem derivation was new. The instructors provided clear often refreshing ways to look at material.\n\nThank you for a great class!!

필터링 기준:

Data Science Math Skills의 2,097개 리뷰 중 2026~2050

교육 기관: Vikas G

2020년 6월 17일

Fantastic teaching

교육 기관: PARDESHI R H

2020년 5월 17일

Very useful course

교육 기관: Shanmuga P

2018년 2월 23일

Good!!

교육 기관: MUTHU A P S

2020년 6월 7일

good

교육 기관: Carolin K S

2020년 7월 21일

This class fails to give a single explanation as to how the math skills will apply to data science. The first three weeks are a nice basic explanation of some of the math that will be needed. If you haven't done coding before or have some background in coding, you will have no idea where this class is going to be applied. The fourth week is the worst explanation of probability you can imagine -- opaque derivations and almost no explanations. I do not recommend this class as it fails to address the "why" of the title -- how does math apply to data science.

교육 기관: Dennis F

2021년 5월 15일

i passed all quizzes and exams at 100% most of them in one try.

presentations were a bit sloppy, and often i found i understood the concepts, but not how they were presented.

I did learn things from the course, but the experience could have been a lot better

especially week 4 was problematic, the bayesian probability and inverse probability was hard to understand from the videos or the notes alone, or in combination.

notes for one of the video had only notes for about the first half of the video, so no notes for the rest.

교육 기관: Mike S

2021년 3월 18일

The content is OK; the execution isn't quite ready. Most is fairly basic, but is necessary and potentially a good review. But the course comes across like a first draft. Mistakes in videos are not re-recorded, but called out with a disclaimer. I believe there are two errors in answers to practices and quizzes, but it's possibly my own mistake on one. I noticed one instance where the correct answer is in a different font than incorrect answers. Overall, OK content but not very polished. It could use a second revision.

교육 기관: Borja C

2020년 9월 10일

The first 3 weeks are quite good... but then it makes a gigantic leap on the 4th week. Please update the explanations on Bayes and the examples... they are not optimal. Judging from the comments I have seen, I am not the only one.

Thinking about it, I think maybe it would be worth to spend more time with probability and a bit less with the other stuff or even add another week... definitely probability in one week is a far shot... and it is key to understand data science correctly

교육 기관: Helene H

2020년 9월 25일

A pretty good course even if week 3 and 4 are very difficult for beginners.

A few improvements are urgently needed:

-There are mistakes in the quizzes, which mistakes have been pointed out by generations of students for months/years in the forums, but have never been corrected. Such a disgrace and waste of student time!

-Also using Chrome makes you unable to read the formulas, which should be said in the course outset.

교육 기관: Deepak R

2020년 12월 27일

At week 4 the course was covered in a rush. This course could have been much better if the instructor could have taken the time out and walked the extra mile to simplify the concepts for a larger audience. I already had previous rigorous treatment of Probability theory hence didn't face many challenges. But I have empathy with students enrolling in this course who don't have prior probability background.

교육 기관: Yury K

2020년 7월 14일

Course has misleading title. It has no strong connection to data science problems or examples from the field (except confussion matrix). First 3 weeks are simple math. Third one is very brief tour to probability with quite brief explanations which will not be enough for beginners to complete the assignment. There are also errors in the asssigments which I had reported.

I will not recommend it.

교육 기관: Joel L

2020년 9월 8일

Instructors were knowledgeable, but I found the lectures to be a theoretical example, followed by a very simple real-life example. Then when you take the quiz, the questions are SIGNIFICANTLY more complicated than what I was ever taught in the lessons. Some worksheets of sample problems that escalate up to the difficulties seen in the quiz would have been very helpful.

교육 기관: Utsav S

2020년 5월 6일

The course content was very basic. Especially the first part of the course.

The later part(probability) of the course was very theoretical in nature. Typical problems in quizzes and examples as you would find in any mathematics text book. Being Data Science Maths skills course, I was expecting some real life example or even the mention of data science during the course.

교육 기관: Esdras C

2020년 3월 6일

After the second week, explanations become too abstract without a concrete explanation of how relates with the real world. Also, the examples are too short compare to the problems that are included in the quizzes. It will be way more interesting to learn the explanation of the quizzes than the abstract examples during the presentations.

교육 기관: John

2020년 7월 22일

Some useful concepts, but several of them, especially in the last week of the course, were very vague and did not give examples on how to use them to solve problems, which is the point of the course. If i wanted definitions and formulas I can just google them. The whole point of a video is to teach me how to apply it

교육 기관: Shadman W

2020년 5월 21일

The initial modules are insightful and helpful. But I had a lot of problems going through the material in week 4. The instructor struggles to make the content engaging and the videos often end up sounding very monotone. There's a big gap between the material discussed and the questions asked in practice.

교육 기관: Jansen M A

2020년 12월 31일

The course is fairly easy and unchallenging. It's like an introduction in maths for high school students. I was expecting harder maths related to data science and/or machine learning, but this is just a review of high school maths. Not entirely a waste of time, but disappointing.

교육 기관: Tanmay A

2020년 5월 28일

baye's theorem and the binomial addition to it should have been explained broadly, this is a multi country based program , people from different country access it. hence each and every formulae and colocations should be explained better and write-in a better way.

교육 기관: Michael Q

2017년 4월 7일

Very rushed presentation. Blows right through a lot of fundamental concepts without a deep enough explanation or enough practice material (especially in the last two weeks). I feel like completing this class will require supplementation with better instruction.

교육 기관: Enrico L

2020년 5월 30일

I was attracted by the syllabus (substance) but I found the presentation of the teachers quite disturbing (form); bad calligraphy, some mistakes, poor explanations. Anyway I completed the course and it will be useful as a general introduction to the topics.

교육 기관: David S

2020년 5월 26일

The probability section left many serious gaps in information compared to the test. I had to take the exam multiple times, and even after restarting half of the class twice. I'm not usually one to have to do this for a class.

교육 기관: Hitesh D

2020년 6월 21일

Video lectures were not very clear. It looked like these lectures are for revision and not for learning it first time. Baye's Theorem is yet not clear to me... I just mugged up some formulas which i will eventually forget.

교육 기관: Sandeep M

2020년 5월 21일

The weeks 1-3 although elementary were explained well but the change of professor on the last one really did nothing. There were far better tutors on youtube teaching the same things he did more clearly.

교육 기관: Jayprakash C

2020년 9월 1일

Concepts not covered well enough, just for the sake of teaching. Pure time waste. Bayesian Theory was not taught up to the mark, I had to refer external resources to understand it well.