Chevron Left
Data Science Math Skills(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Data Science Math Skills 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.5
2,130개의 평가
477개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

최상위 리뷰

AS

Jan 12, 2019

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

PS

Jul 23, 2017

This is neat little course to revise math fundamentals. I generally find learning probability a little tricky. This course helped me a lot in better understanding Bayes Theorem. Thank you professors.

필터링 기준:

Data Science Math Skills의 468개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Matthew W

Nov 15, 2018

nice course, thanks!

교육 기관: Aftab A

Mar 20, 2019

This course is really helpful to data science student.I was very weak in probability and statistics but this course really polish my skills.

교육 기관: Shawn T R

Aug 08, 2018

Overall the course was great. Shored up my knowledge on a number of subjects. Could have used better explanations of certain topics though. There were a couple of instances where the instructors simply show you how to use a particular equation to deal with a particular kind of problem without explaining why it works. For concepts to really sink in you need to get a deep intuition for how they operate. I think these intuitions were provided for the main concepts, but there were some sub-concepts, where they essentially just gave you the method without getting into how it works. It's fine to know how to use it, but without a deep intuition it's just memorization.

Overall I really liked this course though. The quizzes and tests were challenging and fun and I came away with a much better knowledge of the subject matter, especially probability. I'm not a scientist, so I can't really speak to whether this will be all I need, but it was certainly helpful in the data science concepts I'be been exposed to so far.

교육 기관: Rafael C

Sep 05, 2018

Perfect for beginners or as a review for those who have not used basic math skills for quite some time.

교육 기관: Caroline K

Sep 04, 2018

Great course, but the Bayes' Theorem bit could have been simplified a bit more and/or more examples could have been added in. Overall highly recommend.

교육 기관: Jinwuk K

Aug 26, 2018

This course is absolutely helpful for the beginner.

Really good to remind of my uni math class!

교육 기관: Maheswari.K

Sep 09, 2018

Very Effective Learning

교육 기관: Pooja A

Oct 12, 2018

Very well explained with real time examples

교육 기관: Amobi N

Oct 13, 2018

Great course. Simply presented in ways everyone can easily relate to material.

교육 기관: Daniel C

Oct 15, 2018

Great course! I would recommend this course to get familiar with data science basic terms and definitions.

교육 기관: manos g

Oct 17, 2018

Amazing lectures helped a lot !

교육 기관: Kelly C D

Aug 20, 2018

I haven't taken a formal math class in almost a decade, and this was a very "gentle" welcome-back to the quantitative realm :) thanks to the team behind the magic

교육 기관: Umar I A

Aug 18, 2018

Its awesome, I really enjoyed it

교육 기관: Raghu P M

Sep 18, 2018

super course

교육 기관: KARTHIKEYAN B

Sep 17, 2018

Very Good Course to kick start on probability.

교육 기관: Pankaj K D

Sep 18, 2018

Very nicely explained.

교육 기관: Amit R

Sep 20, 2018

very good lecture and easy so very easy to understand the course

교육 기관: Vi

Sep 11, 2018

The course is perfect for beginners.

교육 기관: SAUVIK J

Sep 28, 2018

A bit more information regarding Bayes theorem, Examples and how to tackle them would be better. Other than that it was good.

교육 기관: yernarkaz

Oct 01, 2018

Decent course to refresh the skills in probabilities for Data science cases

교육 기관: Lesly A F

Aug 14, 2017

Great course to refresh your Math Basics

교육 기관: Ainura

Nov 02, 2017

Thank you, this was a very helpful course.

교육 기관: Carlos M B B

Sep 20, 2017

It was a great oppotunity to get involved in math skills.

교육 기관: Felipe C

Jun 13, 2017

Cool, objective course!

교육 기관: liqiang

Feb 13, 2018

This should be my first most completed course on Coursera, although the last quiz overdue. Probability is hard to me, so I've learned a lot during this course, thanks!