Chevron Left
Data Science Math Skills(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Data Science Math Skills 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.5
별점
9,185개의 평가
2,084개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

최상위 리뷰

AS
2019년 1월 11일

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

VC
2020년 5월 16일

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

필터링 기준:

Data Science Math Skills의 2,064개 리뷰 중 101~125

교육 기관: Garth Z

2017년 3월 10일

If you are a right-brainer and/or rusty on math, I strongly recommend this course as a precursor to Duke's Intro to Probability and Data course. Some of the practice and final quiz questions really threw me (and that's good)... Most of them I was able to rethink and derive the correct answer and a few others remain a mystery... :-)

교육 기관: Deleted A

2017년 1월 22일

I loved this class, the only one of it's kind and much needed, unless you particularly want to re-do your long forgotten high school and college math. It was nice seeing a Venn diagram again. I did have to supplement some of the material that was covered quickly with google searches, but filling in the blanks was quick and easy.

교육 기관: Ramesh K

2020년 7월 18일

It is a thoughtful and well-designed course. I really enjoyed learning the core math skills related to data science. As a starter on data science as a field of study and career, the course refreshed my previous knowledge and helped me learn more about the mathematical skills needed for learning and practicing data science.

교육 기관: Ankur A

2018년 4월 18일

Hi. A very good refresher course that serves as a pre-requisite to Machine Learning and Data Science courses. Probability could have been a little better explained, specially the processes and event part. I would also like to see Vectors and Matrices added to this course, which is equally vital for Data Science.

교육 기관: Bernardino R

2020년 5월 20일

This course provided clear, expert teaching at a very good pace. The materials were very helpful & directly applicable. The videos were well portioned, and the professors are well spoken & highly competent. I highly recommend Coursera, these professors & this course. I plan on pursuing more in this subject.

교육 기관: Iain S

2021년 4월 4일

Everything was going fine for me until I got to the statistics portion. This is something I've struggled with before, so I can't blame the course for struggling again here, but I would have preferred more learning content for week 4, perhaps even splitting it into 2 weeks to make it a 5 week course in total.

교육 기관: Preeti A

2019년 1월 31일

Learning this course I have gain many new and interesting skills. I am very much glad to get the knowledge from two professors and they gives me more knowledge on those interesting courses. I was able to do the answers of the given courses.And I THANKS them to give me such opportunity to do these courses.

교육 기관: Armine

2018년 4월 4일

Everything was great except probability theory. The videos were hard to follow and understand because everything was a kind of mess. Reading materials would be much better for probability section. Overall it was very helpful for me and I am very grateful for this wonderful course!!!

교육 기관: Iman S

2020년 4월 16일

The course is completely related to prerequisite data science skills. There are lots of useful materials. However, the last module (probability) is kind of introduction and superficial, and do not discuss probabilities concepts and distributions in depth.

In general, the course is Great

교육 기관: Olga E F C

2021년 4월 14일

Fue un curso muy útil para retomar los temas de funciones y probabilidad, a mi me costó más comprender los temas de la semana 4, por lo que recomiendo busquen otros ejemplos para seguir practicando. La gran ventaja es que puedes consultar los materiales tantas veces como lo necesites.

교육 기관: Mahyar

2017년 8월 22일

Good course because it focuses on basic statistical science needed in Data Science. Only issue I had with this course was it was pretty short. Shorter than I thought by looking at the syllabus. Also the agenda is very simple in the first couple of weeks until it gets to the last week.

교육 기관: Subhadip D

2020년 7월 26일

Would have been better if real-time tool were used such as PTC Math-cad or Mathworks Matlab then the Simulation based learning approach could have been much better. Well this course has vas potential and can be be released as series with capstone simulation project. I loved it though

교육 기관: Rahul K

2020년 4월 29일

very nice, this course helps me a lot for a basic understanding of the different concept of math. The course is also design in very well manner for understanding each and every concept clearly.i also very thankful to the teacher association who created this course for helping me.

교육 기관: Muhammed B K

2020년 10월 5일

Great course for starters. For first three weeks there can be some advanced examples as extras and for the last week, it would be better if several complex examples solved by instructors since Bayes and Conditional probability can be confusing sometimes. Thanks for the course.

교육 기관: Rajat P T

2020년 7월 20일

The course explained all the basic mathematical concepts really well, especially Bayes' theorem and probability theory.The best thing that I liked about this course is that it also explained some simple real world test scenarios where these mathematical concepts can be used.

교육 기관: Priti B

2019년 5월 28일

I came for this course after working on data science for sometime. While initial 2 weeks were easy and known, last 2 weeks were really helpful. My probability concepts become much clearer after going through the lecture and tests. Very precise and clear course. Thanks a lot!

교육 기관: Adnaeva G S

2020년 10월 15일

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! Please include integration, algorithm analysis (big O, theta, omega), recursion and induction. Your course is helpful, thank you. If you add those things I've mentioned it would be absolute gold.

교육 기관: James T

2018년 4월 2일

Everything I've tried diving into in regards to data science after having been out of school for a while (I'm 34) has been stuff I haven't learned or forgot. This course was perfect. Nothing was too difficult for someone who still remembers basic math and I learned a lot.

교육 기관: Josué R G S M

2018년 1월 3일

Los contenidos son en inglés pero los profesores tienen una perfecta dicción y no hablan rápido de tal modo que los puedes entender perfectamente con sólo un poco de inglés. Los contenidos matemáticos están debidamente dosificados y muy interesantes. Recomiendo el curso

교육 기관: Aditi D

2020년 6월 15일

Even though I have learnt quite a bit of math in college, my basics weren't very clear. This course helped me clear up my basic doubts which were causing problems. The instructors explain the concepts quite comprehensively using easy-to-understand real-world examples.

교육 기관: Daryna S

2017년 8월 14일

This is a real good and inspirational start in data science education, especially for people, who have some fear of math (like me:)). This course is enough complicate to learn something new, but simultaneously not too hard, so you dont loose motivation for studying.

교육 기관: Jeni S

2020년 9월 17일

The course is helpful both as a refresher and a introduction. It made me understood all the basic math skills behind the data science Field. Very good explanation of probability part and so on. I found the week 4 content quite challenging, but got there in the end!

교육 기관: J. M I P S

2020년 12월 12일

I learned all the necessary basic mathematical skills for Data Science through this course. Good explanation from the lecturers. I highly recommend this course for new and intermediate students who are learning Data Science to improve their mathematical knowledge.

교육 기관: Matthew A D

2020년 5월 4일

I had a really easy time going through the first 3 weeks of the course, but then the 4 weeks were so hard. I got through it, but it was hard. The 1st-3rd weeks were just going through the same things I had learned again, but the 4th week was almost completely new.

교육 기관: Muhammad A

2021년 2월 5일

Great course, it gives me a brief review about the topic that might be needed as Data Scientist. Week 4 videos have room for improvement. It might need a longer time to explain the topics so learners could understand better the topics that is discussed in Week 4.